GENERAL World Cup Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭jacool

Opta have been busy working on the permutations

image.png

The typical GD of -1 brings the 3 point team's chances down to 84%, meaning that Sweden really shot themselves in the foot by not digging in and keeping the score down. Scotland need to keep it tight against Brazil, knowing that a 1-0 loss would not be the end of the world. A 2-0 defeat pushes their chances back to 64%.

As it stands, with eight of the 12 groups completing "Day 2", those two sides occupy the top "third team" positions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

Ah yes , you are correct. I read it wrong.

I thought the runners up in Irans group would play the winners of the US group.

It's actually the runners up in both their groups will play each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,853 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

That confuses me. If you have 3 points you have 66% chance but 2 points only has 4%?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

It would be very unusual to go through as a best third-place team with only 2 points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,436 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

But not impossible as some are claiming. If it was like GAA where draws weren't possible and every game has to have a winner then yes 3 points would be a minimum but when draws are possible if enough draws happen of course 2pts would be enough when only 4/12 3rd place teams get eliminated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭jacool

That's what the 4.86% implies - not impossible.

Is anyone claiming it's impossible? I see a few people saying it's very unlikely (which it is), while acknowledging that it is of course possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,435 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I see RTE have the Young Offenders lads doing a football / world cup type of casual late night games review. It is on the player. Called "Up all night" it shows highlights of the matches.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,932 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

What GAA are you watching ?

Its awful and it's not the Young Offenders lads it's two of the recurring support cast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

even at this early stage I’m beginning to think this World Cup might be the best advertisement for the game in decades..

The stadiums

So many fans looking like they are having a party in the stand (probably isn’t like this in reality but looks like it on TV)

High scoring games

The underdog stories

The star players mostly performing

The host nations winning

The rule changes which are leading to a lot less needless physio involvement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

The advertisement breaks during games are making a mess of it.

The Americans love it no doubt. 45 mins is too long to concentrate it seems.

Fifa drowning in money also. These breaks are worth $250m in the US alone, 1 billion globally.

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/articles/cp3xqn9zxdgo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,445 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

30084.png

….

I'd agree - ignoring the well-documented stuff like players not getting let into the countries and how the stadia were built in the first place.

The only criticism you'd have is that the games can feel a bit sterile at times. It's just modern football I guess - the sliding tackle is gone, as is the flying winger and even the cross from out wide onto the head of the target man. Heck, it feels like the 25-yard piledriver is an endangered species lately. Sometimes you need a good hefty challenge in midfield or a thunderfuck of a shot onto the bar (Uzbekistan had one but has there been many others?) to liven things up a bit. Instead it's a lot of probing and letting the ball do the work, and there's no real difference in style across most of the countries. I'm not sure there's been any end-to-end classic, and I'm not sure a Goal of the Tournament stands out, but there's been plenty of very good games, few enough poor ones, and plenty of twists and turns.

The rule changes are a complete breath of fresh air, the refereeing in general has been excellent and VAR involvement has been minimal, which is great. Overall I'm enjoying it more than most recent competitions alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,647 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

To mitigate the 'momentum loss' of the hydration break, in the second half at least they could merge it in with one of the substitution 'windows'. Most games have had delay for subs either side of the second half slot.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,445 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

One thing we have seen plenty of imo is the thunderbastard shot from 30 yards.

Have we? Or maybe it's just they've rarely troubled the keeper (which would disqualify them from being thunderfucks in my book)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,209 ✭✭✭Manc-Red_

Today/Tomorrow

IMG_9636.jpeg IMG_0037.jpeg IMG_0038.jpeg IMG_0040.jpeg

Better Born Lucky Than Rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Norway v Senegal on at 1am as well

Might be a bit controversial, but I think Messi might have looked after himself a bit better than Maradona… 🙄

Can’t help looking at Messi wondering where Maradona would have taken football if he had the same mindset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

I do think aswell though that maradonna didn’t have the same protection as modern footballers. He was literally kicked out of the 1982 World Cup so badly they changed the rules of the game. I’d say alot of the modern footballers couldn’t handle the physicality and they’d come out of games black and blue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,925 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Even in 86 he was hacked up and down the field, the English team on that game with the 2 goals was an absolute disgrace. The only thing that prevented him from getting hurt was because the likes of Butcher,Reid,Fenwick et al were as slow as cart horses and couldn't catch him properly.

It's hard to compare across different eras, the game is completely different -both the game and how we consume it. From what we saw of Diego on Serie A highlights and stuff he was a great player,but we didn't typically see him having quiet games of repeated live games in league and champions League like we did with Messi. We didn't see him getting a chasing at anfield like Messi did,or Robertson kicking his shins and rubbing his head😉, or Messi didn't have to face the Butcher of Bilbao.

I was 14 watching Diego in 86,and that world cup campaign IMHO was the greatest by any one player, he was out of this world amazing. We can appreciate both though, we've been lucky to live through some great players and great world Cup campaigns; for others younger than I the Ronaldo Nosario campaign of 2002 of some of Zidane's performances in 98 or indeed 2006 will mean as much to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭Jeff2

Norway kick off is at 1am I wonder how this delay is going to go with what's on TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭wazzzledazzle

Good game between Norway and Senegal and nice to hear Drury and Smith on the comms. Any side with Haaland and Odegaard will be a threat going forward. Can't dismiss a good run from them.

There is a high probability of them facing Ivory Coast in the KO

I remember Maradona was asked what he thought about the modern game. He mentioned how easy it was to get a free compared to his day. No argument there.

One thing Maradona was wrong about was Messi.

He once said to Pele that Messi had “no personality, and didn’t know how to be a leader”

But Messi has definitely proven himself that he is a leader in the years since , for sure.

There was a great bit I just saw at the end of the Norway v Senegal game Drum on pitch players hitting it and Norwegian fans doing hand clap in time with it.
    Will be interesting to see how far Haaland can carry them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,702 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Messi, just wow! That 2nd goal, the absolute desire was incredible. He's 39 years old, the greatest player to draw breath, nothing to prove or accomplish and he performs like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭Cake Man

The sensible thing for Argentina/Scaloni to do would be to put out the B team for the last group game against Jordan, leave Messi and Co have a good rest before the Ro32. Nothing game for either side with Argentina guaranteed top spot and Jordan unsurprisingly eliminated.

However, it’s too good of an opportunity for Messi to fill his boots again and nudge closer to the golden boot and increase his WC goals count. Given Mbappe is breathing down his neck and the fact that this is surely Messi’s last WC (Mbappe would have at least one more in him you’d imagine, maybe two - he’s currently 27), Messi would need to give himself as big a buffer as he can and you’d put the mortgage on him getting at least one or two against Jordan so he’ll have to play.

Maybe I dreaming watching a bit of the France game but I thought the commentary duo was Martin Tyler and Andy Townsend. Guess it's the world feed?

I think you're right. Messi already has a golden boot doesn't he?

Mind you he doesn't do much off the ball and looks after himself so as long as he doesn't get injured I don't think playing the game will have any impact on the games after

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭wazzzledazzle

No, he doesn't, he has a golden ball, not boot. Not sure he'd be arsed about that anyway. That's more a Ronaldo thing