Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,559 ✭✭✭naughto

Where am i complaining.Hennelly should never have being brought back if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭maximus15

If Andy was ruthless he wouldn't have brought back lads at start of reign and persisted as long as he did with o shea . He is a people pleaser and that wins nothing . Still saying that we are in a quarter final with gud chance of winning it , but he has stumbled on what is closer to the team that should have started championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭PressRun

Would have to agree there. Definitely in this position more by accident than design. Andy's hand was forced in a certain way and you do get a bit of a sense that things have been made up as we went along since Connacht. I do not think the current team is what he had in mind at the beginning of the year. That said, I will be trying to enjoy the rest of the journey for as long as it lasts and hopefully some lessons will have been learned for next year and players will have come on from the experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

Mayo have a celling and a floor.

IMO the ceiling has been reached.

Playing O'Loughlin and Livingston from the start of the league would have at best got them to the ceiling, which they are now at.

They also have a floor, actually multiple floors.

Their floor is now a quarter final, but it could have been an awful lot lower if the change were not made.

Overall it could have been an awful lot worse if he didn't make the changes, but making the changes didn't make them significantly better.

I look forward to what is left of the season at next year, I think they are on a good path.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Pat734

Of the teams remaining to win Sam Mayo have beaten Monahan, should and could have beaten Tyrone. Tomorrow will see us up against one from Cork, Galway or Louth. I don't believe we've enough in the armoury to defeat Kerry going forward but against one of the 3 teams mentioned we can possibly beat any of them if we show up. Have no idea why the GAA can't have the draw on tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭spakman

Id have Galway strong favourites against Mayo, but it would be pretty even between Mayo and the other two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭SeanJ09

Galway haven't beat Mayo in a knockout championship game since 1998.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,895 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Galway & Louth 36%, Cork 27%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

I think we've a 36.3% chance of drawing louth or cork, while it's 27.4% for Galway.. the reason being louth cannot draw Dublin, Cork cannot draw Kerry, while Galway can get any of the 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,650 ✭✭✭✭km79

Hotel booked ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

In defense of Andy Moran I had a look back at our first league game this year vs Galway..

Eoin McGreal, Enda Hession, Sam Callinan, Bob Tuohy, David McBrien, Jack Carney, Ryan O’Donoghue, Jordan Flynn and Darragh Beirne started then and also against Meath.

Tommy Conroy started back then and played a huge part yesterday.

Paddy Durcan came on early in the Galway game and is starting now.

Cian McHale came off the bench and scored both times.

So there is quite a bit of continuity when you consider Coyne and McHugh were injured for that league game, Loftus was only back on the panel and Kobe was playing schools football/being eased into senior football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,695 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Cork 😎

So Louth or Monaghan await one of the winners in the semi final . A path has opened up for some team. Let’s hope it’s us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

We will not beat Kerry in a final so our only chance would be in a semi final vs Kerry if we get through. Cork have always been sticky for us so this is a difficult game to get over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭eastie17

complaining about the bullshit Andy came out with in the interview yesterday, basically saying JL wasn’t in coz he wasn’t ready but they got him ready “lifting weights” and working with Rob Hennelly.

Lucky he just happened to be ready after the Roscommon debacle.
    fine you made a call with Hennelly, it didn’t work out and you then made the right call. But why come out with this bullshit, it’s like the 3 year project nonsense after Roscommon. It’s concerning because he’s losing credibility with it.

Anyway Cork, for some bizarre reasons we might be favourites, this is the kind of game Cork win, they are not very good but when they are half expected not to win they will

Who gives a fck about interviews, it's about football on the pitch. We're in the last 8 with a good chance of making last 4, enjoy it.

Repeat pairings to be avoided in semi as well FYI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,635 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Dublin it is so when Tyrone beat Kerry and Monaghan beat Louth :) might as well book the hotel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Euphoriasean

This, the majority of intercounty managers just trot out nonsense and would prefer not to do an interview if they had the option.

The Roscommon game, the 2nd half against Monaghan and the first half on Saturday, is what would concern you playing a Kerry or even a Galway. We could get another trimming before the season is out, but on the other hand we could also end up in an AI final. It's a strange season.

Any news on Darragh and Paddy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭muddle84

I was delighted to see it! Lets hope he does the same thing again next week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,516 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

The one team I didn't want. I fear their FF line if they get on a roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,175 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Is it definitely Saturday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,452 ✭✭✭MacDanger

No, will be confirmed later in the day

Logic would say that the Saturday teams will play Saturday but Dublin are typically scheduled for a Saturday so there's some chat on the Dublin thread that they might be slotted in there along with Monaghan/Louth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,559 ✭✭✭naughto

Any word on the injuries to Durcan,O Brien

Jordan ?

Andy suggested Durcan will be out for a couple of weeks at least, the others should be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭crusd

I coach underage exiled in a Galway club and one of our other coaches is good friends with one of the Galway back room team. Word is that one is Sunday at 4.
    Mayo Cork and Tyrone Kerry Saturday followed by Louth Monaghan and Galway Dublin Sunday makes sense. The CCCC are involved though so sense may not come in to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭snowgal

hey all, just to say fair play to Mayo on sat, win was deserved, could feel the momentum changing in the 2nd half and the home crowd behind yee, knew then yee would win. Meath have failings we need to address, losing these big leads over and over…anyway, thats for another year! thanks to all for knowledge heading up. we got there early and got a great spot facing back towards Dublin on Moneen Road. went to Hogs Heaven, which was absolutely jammers! but had great craic there and handy to the pitch. Only thing that feckin ruined it (apart from the result!) was some a$$hole keyed the car, the whole length of it. not mine, my friend, who drove the whole way there for me…. what a ****$Y thing to do….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,635 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

What a horrible impression to get on your visit! Hope the scumbags have absolutely no luck for that.

Was it a MH reg? I wouldn't be as quick to recommend parking there to away supporters again if that was the case.

Jesus that's shocking, terrible thing for some wanker to do.

I was in hogs beforehand as well, wedged!

Hard luck in the game, ye tore us asunder in the first half, could/should have been further ahead at HT.

I don't think it was a sending off either although I think the tide had turned by then, but it certainly helped get us over the line.