Clare GAA Discussion - 2024 All Ireland Hurling Champions

1276277278279280282»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Iecrawfc

Nobody seems to like being reffed by Owen's, main issue with him is his inconsistency, he winds up both teams, he sees a different game to most others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,061 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

his friend , dereck kent is looking after him , kent is the next presidant after jarleth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭Gael85

Hopefully that Owens last match. He due to retire this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭lmk123

any update on David Reidy? It was a really bad shoulder, they’ll have to bring in lengthy bans for that type of thing before something dreadful happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭letsseehere14

Ah now thats just not what happened. Literally 2 seconds after Reidy hit the ground Hetherton was aiding him and a physio was arriving to help.

There was a schamozzle Owens was trying to stop and when the camera panned back maybe 20 seconds after the hit there was already 3 non players kneeling at Reidy aiding him.

Do you think these guys just knelt there like idiots waiting for Owens to call more help in?

66:13 Reidy hits the ground.

66:15 Hetherton kneels to help

66:18 first medial staff arrives

66:36 when the camera pans back there are 3 staff helping him and 2 players. Hetherton and O'Donnell. Hetherton is a Garda who will have extensive 1st aid training.

67:00 more medical staff run in, 2 with a stretcher.

There is nothing on camera that shows Owens having to make any decisions regarding Reidys care from the moment the first physio arrives 5 seconds after he hits the ground. And absolutely zero evidence he delayed anything. Youve made a scenario up in your head because you don't like how he refs.

You might not like how he refs, some times I might not like him he refs but making up scenarios to call him an idiot for something that serious is not on. Plus Owens was absolutely fine yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭caddy16

Spot on, Hetherton deserves a lot of credit, he immediately realised the seriousness of the incident and went straight to Reidy and signalled for the medics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,319 ✭✭✭jackboy

Bans won't prevent it. A perfect shoulder to shoulder hit is very difficult to execute accurately with 2 players in motion. A lot hit the back or chest with hits to the head happening every now and again. The only way to significantly reduce the risk is a ban on shoulder to shoulder charges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭jamesbond2022

Some of the worst challenges in the last few years have been one player coming in in an upright position trying to shoulder a player going down over the ball there was a bad one with Conor Cooney in the league last year also not sure what the solution is as players are moving so quick now

Hopefully reidy is on the mend and it’s not as serious as it looked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Said on Sunday game that Reidy has been discharged from hospital and is recovering at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 eatandrun

Is there a return to play style protocol in GAA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭1373

don't forget the clare player who jumped over Reidy , to attack the Dublin player . Owens is a decent ref . I watched it back and it looked like a genuine effort to make a shoulder but Reidy went low and the Dublin player connected with shoulder +head . Time for lads to stop claiming it was a malicious play

Lad i was at the game , i couldnt care what the camera picked up , he went in to break up a fight instead of alerting the medical staff that a player was unconcioss on the ground , and anyway hes a dreadful refferee and shouldnt be anywhere near this level of the game

what the hell do you be watching , owens is the worst referee in the country at this level and has been for years , no one knows what hes going to do next he compleatly unpredictable

agreed but its not his job its ownes , every one knew in the ground that reidy was in trouble and owens was nowhere near him , it took shane o donnell to race over to him and get his attention to realise how serious the situation was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Nothing Like contradicting malicious lies and gossip with facts backed up by video evidence bud. Fair play to you.

That Was darragh lohan. Totally idiotic faux hard man rubbish. Hard to believe anything could have been worse than his performance last night but that was!!

So everyone in the ground knew a player was unconscious within 5 seconds of it happening?! The clare player's who went to attack Kenny musnt have, because they ran past reidy to start a fight

its not the players job to tell a referee that a player is out cold and needs medical attention , the players welfare comes first not some pushing and shoving ,

what lies ? i was at the game , owens turned his back to the injured player and had to be notified by a player how bad the injury was

the referee had to be notified that a player was on the ground out cold, the medical staff came on to the field with out ownes calling them on , owens turned his back to reidy and went breaking up players pushing and shoving , fair play to heatherton and o donnell but thats not their job ,it was ownes's job to look after the situation and he didnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,269 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Owens is a brutal referee, no argument from me.

But Clare do need to cut out on needless fouling. Some frees were soft but many were legitimate fouls, and it's silly to do this with Donal Burke (or Diarmuid Byrnes or Aidan O'Connor) around.

Youre making out that Owens deliberately ignored what happened. If players start fighting its natural for the ref to intervene. Again, most if the players didn't notice either as I said.

Owens is not a medical professional. As the other poster said, the medics were out quickly to reidy. That's their job. Refs job is to officiate the match and keep control

Player welfere is his first job not some pushing and shoving in the middle of the field

And the only initial medical people on the field were the clare doctors, they had to notify the ground medical staff themselves while ownes had his back to a player lying unconscious on the ground

Stop talking **** , you came on here yesterday saying I was stirring **** when I was giving an actual account of what happened

Now you are telling me that Owens was right to turn away from an unconscious player on the ground because it's not his job to alert the medical people, go away and have a good sleep for yourself

Will ya p*ss off ! The medical people were on the field straight away . You said everyone in the stadium knew reidy was unconscious when that's impossible but yet you ran with it.

You make it sound like everything is totally logical and not an aggressive, noisy, chaotic situation where things are happening at 100mph and yes people might do things that on reflection ,they would say they could have done differently. Brendan Kenny would agree im sure

You have obviously have a big problem with owens and now you're making it personal.

What I have a problem with is a fella on here telling me I was wrong when I was only describing what happened

Then that fella changes the goalposts 3 times, first what I reported was lies and bullshit , then when that was proven otherwise you claimed it wasn't the referees job to alert the medical team or look out for the players welfere, but ok in the meantime to break up some pushing and shoving

Then you defend Owens because he can't be everywhere at once , well maybe tending to an injury would be better than some pushing, it's embarrassing that a player had to pull him away from that

And finally, I was between the 45 and 65 and everyone knew within seconds he was in trouble because he was lying motionless on his side , as I said earlier Owens turned his back to him after the challenge and left the medical team to fend for themselves, that is brutal refereeing regardless of who the referee is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭letsseehere14

So disregard verifiable evidence caught and recorded on camera just because you don't agree with what it shows? What a ridiculous take. Something you'd expect to hear from a Catholic priest in the 1990s. "Dont trust the evidence, you must believe me". Your username ironically references a Fr Ted character. A priest from the 1990s.

What did you want Owens to do? Administer first aid himself? Tell the medical people get out of my way im in charge here.

Did he stop play as soon as it happened. Yes.

Did he prevent medical personnel from entering the field of play for any amount of time? No. Youre giving out he didnt call medics on when one had already reached him in 5 seconds. That person covered 25 to 30m in 5 seconds meaning he was on the way in the moment Reidy hit the ground and Owens allowed it to happen. So that person has responsibility over Reidy from there on, not Owens. Its up to him to make the calls not Owens.

Did he regain control of the teams when players from both sides kicked off? Yes.

Did he punish the offending player? Yes.

So given all this. Especially the fact medical personnel were on the way to help Reidy as soon as he hit the ground, meaning Ownes didnt even have to call help on to the field, what more may I ask did you want him to have done? Maybe he could have waved his arms around a little to satisfy you? Ridiculous.

Youve repeated the fact O'Donnell with helmet off had to alert him to Reidys condition. How do you know Owens wasn't aware of the situation? He has eyes like O'Donnell but unlike O'Donnell, Ownes did the right thing and stayed out of the way, let the trained people do their thing while he got control of both sets of players. O'Donnell wasn't the first player to arrive to help. And he wasn't even there before the first medical staff arrived either. He had no business there. And given the fact that, as recorded on camera, there was 3 medical staff at Reidy with, by my count, 5 more on the way to him, before O'Donnell left Reidy to go to Owens, what would you think O'Donnell thought he had to tell Owens? Honestly what a ridiculous argument to have to be having, youre so far off the mark.

So if like you I was to make an assumption, id posit that O'Donnell made things worse, potentially getting in the way of trained staff responsible for the care of the player and Owens was correct in staying clear, keeping player clear and letting them do their job.

Owens behaviour here was perfectly fine.