Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

Winning leinster is the bonus. Thats how far we have fallen this year. Building a team is no1 with an identity. Div 1a and qualifying for AI series is next. I think if we go out in Leinster next season would be a massive disaster.

There isnt a miracle cure. Hard work which I am sure people are doing but we also need to be working smart with limited resources. CB need to involve everyone and take criticism positively instead of negatively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭jamesbond2022

I don’t think hurling is in good place in general never mind the Munster vs Leinster debate there have been so awful games in both provinces this year and two awful quarter finals throw in inconsistent refereeing over use of steps throwing the ball and no defined rules on the tackle

The gap between the bigger teams and lesser counties seems to be getting bigger all the time

Sellout games in Munster are great but there papering over the cracks of some of the hammerings that are happening and muck that we’re watching

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

plus… it’s 21 years since cork won Liam mc carthy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Glenomra

I apologise for wanting to see kilkenny fail to qualify in Leinster. Watching Offaly isn't easy. Please get yere house in order and start competing again. Just don't be greedy the next time ye are at the top 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,837 ✭✭✭MfMan

Really don't see it as a Munster / Leinster thing. Cork & Limerick are just that chasm ahead of everyone else, (though Galway will be a very good test of Cork in a fortnight I predict). Cork are just doing to Offaly what they did to a much lesser extent against Clare, Tipp and Waterford. It's probably no consolation but muscle-memory would prevent Kilkenny from taking what Offaly are getting at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭hogans heroes

Hard Stuff watching dublin last night and now offaly. No way vlare or vork do that to us.really brings home how much we fucked up this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭Alonzo Moseley

No, every county bar Cork and Limerick are fucked and the chasm between them and the pack wont be closed while rules of the game are ignored and counties are allowed spend millions on their senior teams unchecked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

We might not have shipped 6 goals but we have been way off the pace this year. But omething I have noticed is the massive difference in the attendance from last night vs today.

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭terracedgarden

To think that could be us out there today if the ref hadn't over ruled himself and his umpire when we played Offaly for that 65 at the end. You would like to think we would put in a better performance than just 7 points at half time as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Sir Chaz

Leinster is fucked you're right, and I don't think the GAA can ignore it anymore. This year's championship has been abysmal overall. Time to do what the football are doing and upend it completely. A terrible weekend for hurling and it's completely unsustainable.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭davidx40

All the talk about who gets the senior job to is missing the point . It's the coaching and coaches from 12 to 18 is where the real focus needs to be , that and a complete review of the county board structure from coaching and games structure . I think our Bord Na Nog is so far of the mark it's crazy . Year after year were told by the bord na Nog that grading will be done right , but year after year it's a farce , teams in lower Roinns than they should be dishing out beating after beating so they can win a handy title . Last year when the age changed back to U14 ,16&18 we were told that the grading would be fair and done right because they had the u13 results from the year previous......a joke .Just look at the results Roinn B and C for U14 this year on website the beatings teams are giving out is wrong in every way and off no benefit whatsoever to the county . There is 2 clubs in Roinn C U14 that should be 100% in Roinn B Erin's Own and Blacks and Whites dishing out huge beatings to everyone .

Why not review groups after the league and move clubs accordingly so everyone is getting decent games at there level .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Firstsub

Based on this year's championship, we are in 9th place. Behind 5 Munster teams and Galway, Dublin and Offaly. We would have been destroyed by Cork with their touch, goal scoring ability, fielding, workrate, skill and athleticism.

I am fairly sure they also had at least 3 legitimate handpasses. When Cork got penalised for an illegitimate handpass, Brendan Cummins wasn't sure whether it was a throw or not. He should learn the rules which state there should be a definite striking action which there clearly wasn't.

The new manager has to make sure that we throw every single ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Ye are better than Offaly but were out of sorts this year for whatever reason.

Tipp should come strong the next few years, Limerick are near the end of a cycle with a generational crop, expect Clare to rebuild after this season. Things can turn quickly both in your favour or against you as displayed with Tipp winning an All Ireland out of nowhere and then being off the pace this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭randd1

Everything needs to be looked at.

The throwball. The steps. The pulling/dragging. The barging/charging. The oversized hurl. The sliothar that goes 80 yards with a flick of the wrist. The tactical fouling. The head high tackles. The inconsistency of black card rule. The wrap tackle. The slapping of players elbows. The lack of respect for the rules and the refs that apply them.

And that’s not even having to look at the schools level in Leinster, competition structure, underage development and growing the game, respect for the lower tiers.

But hurling won’t. Hurling is too cowardly to acknowledge it’s a deeply flawed and broken sport. It’s never been better, sure the crowds in Munster (which saw a few hammerings too), isn’t that proof enough?

Not sure the character is there in the sport to make the changes or rise to the challenges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,586 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Jesus Christ, lads saying that the funding gap or "throwing the ball" are the problems we need to overcome are completely delusional. We drew with Offaly and got comprehensively beaten by the mighty Dublin who got their arse handed to them yesterday by, distantly, the third best team in Munster. We are miles and miles and miles away from being competitive. It's an embarrassment and coming up with excuses about refs and funding and the handpass is even more embarrassing. If that's our response to the current situation we should take up volleyball, hurling isn't going to work out in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭Alonzo Moseley

Yes, Tipp are probably best placed to bridge the gap but I would be far from certain. Anyone believing all we are witnessing is two exceptional crops of hurlers in Limerick and Cork who will come and go in a natural rotation and other counties will replace them, is fooling themselves.

Kilkenny spent about 400K on the senior team the last time we won an All Ireland. Tipp spent 1.3m last year, and Id be odds on assuming Cork or Limerick win this year, it will be well over 1.5m. And let's be honest, that 1.5m probably excludes significcent unreported "expenses"

Ignoring the vast differences in funding across counties (most especially unreported expenses) or shrugging that it isn't a significant factor, is going to ensure far more frequent mismatches like today. It is also betraying the history and ethos of the GAA.

RTE lazily called today's mismatch "men versus boys", for me it was amateurs versus professionals.

We are witnessing an exceptional crop with Limerick they've proven themselves since 2018, I never said we were with Cork and they still have to prove themselves on the biggest days in Croke Park. No point comparing 2015 and 2026 when it comes to cost, the costs of pretty much everything sport and non sport related has sky rocked the last 5 or 10 years.

I think in all fairness you need to self reflect rather than playing the victim, if you can't beat Offaly and Dublin while losing to Galway by 15 points in championship maybe look closer to home 1st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭lob it in

There's big problems coming down the line for hurling the sport is getting more and more confined to the deep south of the country ie Munster, there should be an open draw for the All Ireland similar to the football but it wont happen because the Munster council will fight tooth and nail to keep the Munster championship as is because its a cash cow, they care more about money than the game there supposed to look after.

There's a simple solution I think ,have pre season in January,get rid of the leagues then straight into the provincials which should be straight knockout and then into an All Ireland series.They do it in Football,Ladies Football and Camoige why not hurling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭Marrooned

well we are the architects of our own downfall. We have actually fallen into the abyss there is only one way out dear the decks we now know what the problems are. The next next senior manager isn’t the problem but one of many that we all face as I said earlier at the Boro meeting the questionnaire highlighted our inadequacies at underage like the fall in skills level and I’m sure it’s the same in all clubs. Solving the problem should begin today even the CB has at last acknowledged there is a problem.

Ye some of that sounds plausible but you wouldn’t want to think that way or say out loud in Cork or Limerick or you would be laughed at not to say it’s not true

Just thinking on alonzos post. Our lads wouldn’t employ a full time director of the accademies for a drop in the ocean at what other counties are spending and I think it’s vital that we install a director immediately.our C B thinking on spending is so out dated it’s unbelievable we certainly need at least one savvy business man in charge of which I could name a half dozen off my head all highly involved in the KK gaa scene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭jonniegoogle

To be fair maybe the vast differences in funding might be a case of the top county boards seeing whats needed to be done, putting a plan in place and going out and doing it. It might be a case of our county board being stuck in a time where they still believe what they are doing with regard to financing is good enough.

Limerick have spent big on facilities and so have Cork while we haven't. Look around at neighboring counties and see what money is being invested. I've heard of at least 3 companies who have been rejected in favor of sticking with our current sponsor. You can call it loyalty or whatever you want but currently it's hurting KKs ability to invest money where it needs to be invested.

In terms of the history and ethos of the GAA can you please name the counties (apart from KK) that are rigidly sticking to this. That kind of thinking is what has us where we are…..going backwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭nippy corner foward

Anyone know what kind of money does glanbia give?its the county board that are at fault not glanbia. Letting them dictate how much they give and who can and cant give sponsorship. The county board are the ones who has put inept people in very important roles.

Well Nippy it shouldn’t be a state secret anyway the trouble is the sponsors got lock stock and barrel which was wrong to begin with, they must be there thirty years.Cluane tech was clever enough to sponsor the accademies with different jerseys so the main sponsor couldn’t complain. We are selling ourselves short and so we are coming up short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭The_Tank

I hope Galway are very competitive/win vs Cork otherwise it will be very concerning for Leinster going forward. Galway have good young players with a bit of cut about them. If they prove below the bar significantly then we will have nothing to calibrate our goals against in the coming year or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭FazyLucker

Funny I read the lengthy post above re "What do Cork and Limerick have that the rest don't" and my first and only answer was "cash, and lots of it".

On the topic of championship structures, it'll be a cold day in hell before the Munster council give up the round robin. Once they are alright, that's all that matters.

But then, its up to all of us in Leinster to get our s**t together. We're all a mile off the pace at minor/u20/senior and the gap is getting bigger. We need to come together as a province and find out why we are all so far behind. And no disrespect, its not up to us to extend Leinster to 8 teams if there's no effort from the rest of the hurling world to support hurling development. We can't continue to dilute our championship if its hurting us in when we meet the Munster counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,255 ✭✭✭I says

Don’t be so down on Leinster hurling, it’s all about the Munster this that and other at the minute. Limerick are a once in a generation talent. Cork are bottlers until they win something. Clare seized their chance when cork spat the dummy. Tipp are tipp ferocious will to win and won’t worry about this yrs early exit. Waterford need to get out of Munster for me to offer an opinion. All those counties bar cork haven’t a hope of winning a tailteann cup not to mind a senior football all Ireland.
    Leinster, Kilkenny and maybe Wexford are the only two what I would consider hurling hotbeds. Every other county is dual and doesn’t have the big cities or towns to have numbers to compete for all Irelands at the highest level be it hurling or football except Dublin which is football first no matter what, hurling has rose up and down in Dublin seriously in the last 15/20yrs. Galway is hurling in the south and east of the county bar one or two clubs. Football west and north of the county bar one or two hurling clubs. Galway will give a good account of themselves in the semi final.
    I predict that hurling will go down the new football structure.The wheel will turn.

Wexford wouldn't have the same hurling culture as Kilkenny but far more is put into it than football and there's way more of an interest in it.