Dublin GAA Discussion Thread: Mod Note - No 'Dublin Dominance' chat allowed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭rolling boh

What a great win ,lads really stood up and answered some questions today,I didn't fancy us to win at all was just hoping for a good performance and see what happened. A lot of things to work on obviously but that's for another day and hopefully we have the bodies for the next match .A great day indeed .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,928 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

The punishment doesn't fit the crime.

Needs tweaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,155 ✭✭✭bren2001

you should be allowed place the ball on the ground, it's an obvious rule tweak.

I think the LFGA are going with that version of the rule next year. I believe they're bringing in similar changes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,304 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Seelective enforcement of the rule IMO. He didn't do anything different that didn't happen a half dozen times today but the refs decides to call it at the most important part of the game.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

I didn't see what the 2 Dublin lads were doing to get the black cards. Were they a bit unlucky ? Murphy was going to be picked out anyway for starting the melee. And Jason McGee was acting the maggot right in front of the linesman. Other than that, it was hard to pick out anything other than handbags stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,650 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

The first Sunday game highlights I’ve been looking forward to for a long long time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

Really ?? I didn't take any notice of any other obvious infringement of that rule in the game. It's a new rule. The players know that the refs are making a point to enforce it. It was a silly thing to do. Even at basic club level, we practice this to make sure that it becomes second nature in games.

I consider the rule to be silly and over the top in terms of trying to make sure teams don't spoil the game by kicking the ball away. But for now, it is there, and teams need to be able to adapt to it without doing what the Dublin player did today.

Not specifically for placing the ball on the ground but there were a few occasions where Donegal players stopped the quick free by running in front of the taker while "tracking back". It's a daft rule, I agree, and should only be for players throwing the ball.away in an obvious manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,155 ✭✭✭bren2001

donegal player threw it to a Dublin player a few minutes earlier. The rule is hand it back, not throw it back. That should have been moved as well but it wasn't .

It's a stupid rule but it was only implemented once.

• Subscribers Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

it wasn’t a free to begin with and there was no actual delay to the game. Leaving the ball was actually quicker than finding a player to hand it to from his position. Ref basically gave two quick knee jerk decisions to bring Donegal back into the game which doesn’t look good to most people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭GHendrix

It was obviously a great win and a very good performance. After the season we’ve had, to beat Donegal is huge.

A few negatives as well and things to work on.

Comerford did quite bad on the kick outs. We conceded way too many soft points. Felt at times like we were working for 3 - 5 mins to get a point and then they’d run up and get one cheaply.

The decision making in the final third wasn’t great at times. Not shooting when the chance was on. Or shooting when it wasn’t.

Having said that, huge win and great character shown to do. Especially after moving the free forward and the late equaliser. Could have easily collapsed.

Thought Comerford was excellent except for the error that led to the goal.

He made a great save in ET also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,434 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

It is the type of win that the panel badly needed, now they can use it as a reference point. But at the same time plenty of things to fix as you say. Badly need a solid mature keeper who is at least calm.

To go from probably the best keeper in the history of the game, nevermind Dublin football. To two shaky panicky inconsistent keepers, is some drop off.

Any keeper in the club game that even looks "solid" will surely have a chance of call up next season?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,771 ✭✭✭dobman88

Comerford did very well today imo. One bad kick for the goal, fair enough. Apart from that he was solid and came up with a massive save in extra time

He got heaps of short kick outs away that have to hit their target dead or the opposition are in on goal.

It's the nature of the position that keepers get a rough ride but today he was excellent.

Comerford was really solid today and a huge improvement on O'Sullivan, who had a mare in the last couple of games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,212 ✭✭✭Patser

I was a bit hard on Comerford earlier, as I felt for both Donegal goals he was weak.in his efforts to save them (not including the kick out for 1st one) - but he did pull off a huge save in ET when game was back in balance. And stats wise his kick out accuracy was way above the Donegal keepers, he did hit a few beautiful long kicks that sent us straight into attack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,434 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Overall though now (based on the last year league and championship) if you were a defender in that Dublin team would you trust either keeper option?

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Goodigal

Absolutely thrilled to get past Donegal today. But really don't know why the fluidity has gone. Why so many capable players are almost freezing in front of the posts, or passing off instead of going for scores. When we got going in ET, it was so nice to see!

I guarantee you the players trust him. Because that's what team mates do. He's also come in to replace the greatest keeper we've ever seen who, by all accounts, was a workaholic with his training regime. Comerford is fine. We're in a similar situation with Shane Murphy, he has some mad moments like Comerford does but overall he's fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭Gael85

Didn't see that win coming. Delighted for Ger. Basquel, Scully, Con and Kilkenny were brilliant. Basquel very poor in first half but played to his potential after that, himself and McGarry stood up again. Sean Guiden brilliant off the bench too. A first championahip win in Croke Park for a lot of that group.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Surprised at the win, have to admit I didn't see it coming at all. Was a bit bizarre to be much the better team in the second half, but not being able to reel them in until the goal.

While great to get the win, I couldn't believe how passive Donegal were after half time. Our keep ball play is still excellent, but doesn't normally get this reward since the rules have changed, but doing so well on kick outs meant that we held possession for so much longer.

Won't get that same joy out of the kick outs against a better team, but that's for another day, today we get to enjoy being in a slightly unexpected quarter final.

Davy Byrne also magnificent.

Comerford made a brilliant save in ET I think. Wasn't really highlighted.

The CB McMorrow I think also excellent. Only a young fellow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,247 ✭✭✭MFPM

Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,247 ✭✭✭MFPM

Arguably the worst draw for Dublin but perhaps it's the game for Dublin, they will be big underdogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Tough draw ,hope the lads are fit after tough game yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,762 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭ledwithhedwith

Probably the worst draw, but I will never be afraid of playing Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

I assume a double header next Sunday with Monaghan v Louth.

Dublin are always on a Saturday of a double header weekend. But I'd say you're right about being with Louth Monaghan

The other 2 games will be on Sunday imo.