All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2026 (Munster & Leinster Championships, Liam McCarthy Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,322 ✭✭✭endainoz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,235 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Yeah they'll be big underdogs but don't be shocked if Clare perform!

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,829 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Fair play Neil McManus …. Well said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,434 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Some good points but he went into the hurling hype mode “best game in the world etc” .
    if it was the best game in the world why don’t more counties play it successfully? How come it hasn’t been exported worldwide ? The reality is in hurling it one team is a lot better than another team in hurling they get walloped. It is not like other sporting codes where weaker sides can play defensive and nullify better sides tactically.

Hurling fellas need to get their heads out of their arse with this “best game in the world” stuff. Cop on.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Can't disagree with that. One that still hurts to lose thst against Tip. One we still regret as that was not a great Tip team as this year has proven...hopefully we can rectify it this season but am worried about Limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,050 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,021 ✭✭✭almostover

There is always one big game in this Clare team even when they're not going well. I expect them to give Limerick a rattle in 2 weeks time.

Corks championship streak of sellouts finally comes to an end. Over 40k in thurles which was an incredible attendance all the same. Cork Vs Galway will sellout fast.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

The problem with Clare isn't finding one big performance , they always seem to have one of those in them. The problem is the defence. They've spent the whole year treating it like a mystery nobody can solve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Willie Power

As a Laois person in a small dual county, that's tough to watch. Hurling is a cruel game in that if a team is a good bit better than you the score board will show you no mercy.

We watched the skilful young Offaly team from over the border winning an U20 hurling and football All Ireland and they give us hope. Give Offaly 3 years and they'll be good. But the numbers game will always be a challenge.

"He might be an eejit, but he's our eejit"
    Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,414 ✭✭✭914

Serious questions need to asked as to how we get weaker counties more competitive.

The result today does more harm than good.

The Gulf between Munster and Leinster seems to be widening, and it looks like it's harder to win a Munster title than to win an All Ireland title which shouldn't be the case.

Both quarter finals this year were poor and similar to previous years where 3rd place played the job Mc finalists.

Attendance for Clare and Dublin was also very poor.

All Ireland series should be the pinnacle of hurling yet it seems it only gets going for both Semi finals and final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Well that sort of game between Cork and Offaly does nobody any good. We needed a good test and challenge from Offaly but we failed to get it. Hurling is in serious trouble folks and this years championship has been a bullshit one imo. To salvage the championship to some degree we need one of Clare or Galway to cause an upset in the semi finals, but hopefully it will be Clare causing the upset not Galway!

In fairness i was impressed with the way Cork wasted no time in dispatching Offaly, but Galway will be a much tougher test and challenge in the semi final for us. Offaly to be fair have made a lot of progress this year, but that sort of result today is a sobering reminder of the state of the Leinster Championship, as well the gap Offaly still have to bridge between themselves and the elite teams.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,033 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I dont think the will or want is there from the gaa to make hurling more competitive for counties.

Got no satisfaction out of beating offaly today.

Offaly a fantastic dual county. Have huge respect for them. Always like see them do well. Always get behind their team through good but more importantly bad times. They will improve but by how much its hard see them being competive on more consistent basis long term. I hope im wrong.

EVENFLOW

I believe as a Cork man in celebrating our history, while also realising that doesn't mean that we are entitled to future success and to embrace the challenges of the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,915 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Well that survey they released was full of leading questions showing that they want people to be thinking about rule changes. It will still be the same few teams with new rules.

Whats needed is a national network of professional underage coaches organised and paid for by HQ. It can't be left to county boards. The football counties will never change and why should they but you could surely have a competitive tip 10.

You should definitely be worrying about Galway first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭Appletart Upsetter

Fair play and for what it's worth I'd love to see this Cork team go all the way.

Jesus enough with the sh1ting on about attendance, nobody cares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,762 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

I can understand now why Waterford folk are so pissed off now after those displays from both Dublin and Offaly this weekend. Waterford would wipe the floor with both those teams and Wexford as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,762 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Up to Waterford and Wexford to get their acts together.

I was highlighting the flaws with the current structure. Waterford have trouble getting out of Munster but they're still a much better team than the likes Dublin, Offaly and Wexford etc.

I think it's unlikely but they definitely have a point to prove. Both teams are ageing at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,358 ✭✭✭eigrod

It’s an old adage, but you have to start in the schools. The Harty Cup is providing Tipp, Cork, Clare & Limerick with seriously competitive hurling for 18 & 19 year olds. Makes the job of the U20 management teams so much easier to identify players who are up to it. I’m not familiar with Leinster schools hurling, but are St Kieran’s, for example, getting the same level of competitive competition?

Well the thing is Galway aren't even in double digit totals for senior all Ireland wins in both senior codes in the mens and womens football, hurling and camogie. Although only Kerry and Dublin have more all Irelands in senior mens football and obviously Galway suffered a lot over the years as well being the only serious hurling county in Connacht.

Post edited by Straight Talker on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,915 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

But would still lose the All Ireland and Munster so really why give a fuk. I don't understand this obsession with getting more time in a championship you are way off winning.

Well it's nice to go on bit of a run isn't it, instead of your summer being over by the end of June every year! They have something to work with though with that all Ireland winning minor team from last year.

It would definitely have been better this year to have Waterford in a quarter than Dublin or Offaly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭Vinnie222

Imagine telling Dublin and Offaly, who actually won championship matches, that they should step aside for a team that couldn't win one. That's some logic.