Football Championship 2026 (Mod Note in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭arrianalexander

Did Beggan pull his hamstring on last two pointer? Holding it since

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,203 ✭✭✭robbiezero

I think he played against Cork did he?

I think the feeling is that the other lad is better on the short and mid range kickouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Nah, not going to bother "trying harder". I'm satisfied enough that the dirtiest team in Ireland are not going to win AI this year. Enjoy the rest of the Championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,343 ✭✭✭overshoot

Cork was his first game all season, and tbh patton is just all around better though mulraney was much improved this year.

Ciaran Thompson with his first appearance since last yeard ACL final. We've carried injuries this year too and lost a lot of squad depth and it showed but talent is coming through.

Dublin the better team today, no complaints, we were lucky to get extra time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,018 ✭✭✭.Donegal.

I meant try harder as in stop lying regarding your last post. All your childish and bitchy comments throughout this thread and then you talk about others living rent free. And saying Donegal are not able to beat Kerry when it matters when they literally did in the last game they met.

We should have been out ages ago, we’re **** and don’t deserve it . Which doesn’t say much for Kerry when we thumped you(cue excuses) yet everyone else beat us. And yes I will enjoy the rest of the championship. I won’t be bitter and childish unlike some. Best of luck to Kerry and everyone else and may the best team win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭Westernview

Looks like it's going to be 2 teams from each province in the quarters.

Should be another weekend of great entertainment no matter what the draw brings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

For all the talk of how poor Leinster is, two teams in quarters , meath handicapped badly by a poor red given and Westmeath gave it a good go there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,203 ✭✭✭robbiezero

3 teams from R2B progress to the QFs and all home teams won.

Was always going to be hard for teams losing last weekend to face up to a team coming off a win and I dont think any of the R2A losers played to their mark even Mayo who won were very flat in parts especially first half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,235 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Surprise surprise my two favourites Dublin and Kerry are into the last 8 and can't play eachother in the next round. All remaining matches for Dublin will be at home now too.

Kerry are my favourites but outside of them can't see anyone beating Dublin. If Dublin get their confidence in front of goal back they'll be hard bet.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,450 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Dunno why people are complaining about the last free in the Dublin match, sounds like the ref applied the rules correctly - the fact that it resulted in a match levelling score in the last minute is irrelevant.

The red card for the Meath player last night was extremely harsh IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Treble double

How will the quarter finals weekend go ahead at all now without a character like McGuinness on the side line. This is the spew the pundits were coming out with after the halftime incident in Killarney, oh ya he probably deserves a ban but it would be a lesser championship if he wasnt on the side line. This kind of scutter is what Gaa punditry needs to get away from, putting certain lads up on pedestals. Same with Jack o Connor, Jack this and Jack that. Looking on from the outside it looks like Cian O'Neill is the main man on that Kerry sideline.

Stupid rules for both but player's to blame. Especially meath player. Throws himself at mayo lad who dives but all the linesman knows is he made contact. You give the ref no choice.

I do agree you should be allowed place the ball on the ground.

Can Kerry draw cork again? Louth are lucky they can't draw Dublin so it'll be Louth Vs Kerry/Monaghan/Mayo.

I'd love a Louth Vs Mayo/Monaghan. You'd give them a great chance of an historic victory.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,024 ✭✭✭✭irishgeo

Anyone else think the 2pt scoring arc is hard to see in white on some pitches and we should maybe paint it blue like the Aussie rules pitches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,933 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

So all 4 home teams won this weekend. It's a massive advantage playing at home, the games should have been at a neutral venue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

I think provincial winners should get home draws first two games and 3rd is neutral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,450 ✭✭✭MacDanger

I think Galway & Monaghan are the only 2 teams who can draw anyone from the other side. I'd say every team will fancy their chances of making a SF except for whoever draws Kerry

Kerry 4/6

Galway 9/2

Tyrone 10/1

Mayo & Dublin 12/1

Cork 16/1

Monaghan 20/1

Louth 25/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,645 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Three of the teans that won last weekend won again this weekend. Mayo was the only team that lost last week end that won. The wekend before Cork, Meath, Kerry, Dublin, won away. You could say Louth v Armagh was a neutral venue. In the first Round there was five out of 8 away victories

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,650 ✭✭✭✭km79

• Using threatening, abusive, or provocative language/gestures to an opponent or teammate.

Possibly this ?

This was meant to be a reply to Coillteboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,762 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Dublin weren't at home. Home for Dublin is Parnell Park.

• Subscribers Posts: 17,214 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭rrs

Tyrone are probably the toughest match up for them but they'll fancy anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,110 ✭✭✭✭threeball

If any team with serious aspirations on the all ireland are to win it, next weekend is the week to get Kerry. Not everyone fully fit yet, 7 day turnaround even though their game wasn't competitive. The odds only get worse the longer it goes. They'll iron out a few more kinks as the games progress and then theres the psychology of tradition and history in finals in their favour over any of the remaining teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,251 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Draw I'd like to see:

Mayo vs Galway

Tyrone vs Kerry

Cork vs Dublin

Louth vs Monaghan

Plenty of spice in those games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,925 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

This week was the week to beat kerry,it's done now -stick a fork in it,they are not getting beaten in Croke Park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,925 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Harsh,but not wrong.

Lets not criticize refs for getting decisions correct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,645 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Any team is beatable any day. Yes from a Kerry perspective we would be disappointed not to win it, however Galways are potentially as good as us on any given day if they click right. An red card could influence the game against any other opposition.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaa/we-didnt-have-enough-in-the-tank.-we-have-to-look-at-absolutely-everything-again-donegal-manager-jim-mcguinness/a/157563262.html?utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=share

I think Jim has not adapted to this new system. He is still talking about energy levels. He is complaining about the new rules and system asking too much of players. Is the reality that its his gameplan asks too much of players. Expecting them to do too much. He has not deviated much from the blanket and drift defence. After last year he had to accept he had to a higher level of of man marking than last year but an acceptance of the new rules mean that a higher amount of man marking is needed which is anemina to his football instints.

Even today Micheal Murphy must have been out on his feet from the 55-60 minute on. His believe that more substitute's are needed is a hint that he refuses to believe in a football ethos.

The proof of this was the way Dublin get on top when it was 13V13 with three back it left open spaces which Dublin used better than Donegal.

I still cannot understand the reluctance of teams to kick pass around the arc rather than handpassing. 2-3 kickpass allows players to move the ball where it takes 5-6 handpasses.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Id love to see Louth mayo. Apart from that don't mind. Maybe monaghan cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Thorny Queen

I'm sad that Donegal is out and we didn't get a trip to Croke Park as a family. There is not a hope that Dublin can win an AI with a performance like this. No pace and so many wides. They are definitely not the powerhouse they once were or a team to be feared.

Sad to see all the Murphy and McGuinness hating…I guess ultimately people are jealous of them and have nothing else of interest to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭Westernview

I don't think he has adapted either but it's also a culture thing in Donegal to carry the ball with support runners. Could have taken its toll in a condensed season. In contrast, a team like Westmeath with less quality have prospered this year. Simple, direct football is very effective now.

Here in Mayo we have been obsessed for years with soloing all the way up the field which is very taxing on fitness levels. Gradually we are becoming more direct but its been against the grain.