feel trapped,anti social behaviour,59,personal insolvency arrangement,midland town.

• 20-06-2026 10:33PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11

Hi not sure where to post. Hope this is a good place.If not mods feel free to move it. Right Im 59 ,single man.Living in a semi detatched house. very average place.Lot of trouble juvenile antisocial behaviour.vandalism,trespass,noise.I got some cctv cameras in.They have a fair bit of footage at this stage. But when i get the guards in theirs no going back.I suppose im a little bit different from the other families on my road in the estate,perhaps thats all it takes.NO children,no links through the school scene. Im not in great health ,overweight , diabetic, slipped disc in the back,lot of pain , hobbling about i probably look like easy pickings for some of the local youth.

I bought my house in 2005.It was a quiet area then.open at the front ,small area to park,little strip of grass to mark boundarys.fenced back gardens. 26 houses 0n the street.Lot of the houses are now rented out or council houses.There are a few problem families on the road and seemingly more kids. A lot of them are from the " howya boss " tribe and carry knives. one of them dropped a stanley knife earlier jumping my fence. Ages roughly 12 to 17.

my house is semi detatched,ajoining house is a council house. Its been empty about a year. Ive talked to councilors went into the office asking them to get tenants in. Its a magnet for trouble now . front ,back and windows boarded up.The local scrotes have the front door cover ripped off. Nice new pvc door vandalised. They kick balls of the front of the house regularly,surely theyll end up damaging my place or my car. i give out to them and move them on .But always they return.

Ive tried talking to the parents,one said hell have a word with his kids.But no visible difference. Another wont answer the door to me. On the other side of me lives an indian woman works nights. understandably wants to stay out of it in case they turn on her.Many like that on the street.Their getting bolder,the semi detached house beside me has been destroyed.This evening they were jumpling the back fence and in 3 gardens.

Ive been away from my house a lot the last 2 years, that has not helped. My parents were very sick,mid 80s.Dad died,mam looks like shes going to have to go into a care home.I was living in the homeplace on carers allowance, helping them.Im sick of going out to visit mam in hospital,coming home to find 8 or 9 of them sitting on my doorstep smirking at me,smoking vapes.crazy situation.The temptation to launch kicks is extreme, but id be the one to end in bother.

The question now is to turn my house into a fort or move away. write of 21 years of mortgage payments as wasted.I have about 100 000 in cash in a pension scheme.I could build a substancial wall or fence around my front yard. But the money was being put aside for my old age. i hate to use before im even 60. Part of me thinks it would be in vain anyway theyd only take it as a challenge.

I could move into the homeplace of my parents out the country.But it will probably have to be used as security for the fair deal scheme. Will i be allowed to stay there till my mum dies.Doubtful id have thought.Also what happens to my empty house in town.probably be destroyed.Part of me wonders are they trying to drive me out.some of the local trouble makers bought empty houses as cheap as 20000 euro in cash during the crash in 2009.Even now the houses on the street are some of the cheapest anywhere.If i was to try and sell my house, wouldnt get a great price for it. when people see its vandalised and the ruined house beside me.

im feeling stressed. The problem will get worse as the nights get darker.Ran them theother day they were looking at my oil tank. they have damaged my boiler.Is it worth getting fixed if it will be damaged again.I was under financial pressure back in 2016 and had to enter a personal insolvency arrangment.A lot of my mortgage was written off, on conditton i pay the outstanding 55 000. i pay 460 a month to pepper . I have doubts my place would sell for even 55000 and would pepper let me. Then where would i live ? my mother has 53 000 in savings but thats her money not mine. In any case the hse will want it for care home fees. I have a brother, but he has troubles of his own and cardiac issues.we might get some money from our mothers estate one day.But no telling when.

Right now i dont know what to do,felling trapped.Any advice welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,876 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

I could move into the homeplace of my parents out the country.But it will probably have to be used as security for the fair deal scheme. Will i be allowed to stay there till my mum dies.

Yes.

I suppose if you ran the kids as you put it, any scope for making friends with them has vanished.

Also what happens to my empty house in town

Rent it out, have it help pay back what you owe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 horstwessels arsehole

Could be an option I guess. Although when people see the bombsite next door, they won't be keen . Did have the place rented out before. A lot of hassle and problems getting the rent.still I may have to try it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Have you considered leasing to the local authority. I think all local authorities offer these schemes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,701 ✭✭✭Ginger83

You will never have any peace where you are now. I would sell or rent through your local council and move in to your home place.

I went through something similar then moved and it was the best decision I ever made

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,876 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Actually yeah, sell this place and move to the family home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Timeofyourlife

I would rent to the local council. Lifes to short for this. Also this is affecting your health. Dont spent a cent on a wall or other options

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭SupaCat95

I would pay for a proper financial advice or go to mabs. I would say sell up. Reddit and boards accomodation is full of Landlords tales of woe. Move home and do a deal with the parents. Nothing like stress to run your health into the ground. Council will buy your home in the morning and estate agent will sell it faster. Spent what time you have left with your mam. These days are precious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Cole train

That's rough, agree with other posters, sell up or get council to long term lease it. Feral kids won't get any less feral, they're just going to impact on your own well-being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭byrne249

This reads exactly as I'd have described my own situation 4 years ago. Slightly different in that I was late 20s thinking I was clever buying 'cheap'.

I was willing to give the house away after 2 years. Final straw was the neighbour throwing plastic bottles into my garden as a fetch toy and finally he starts hitting my living room window. Emailed the council, out in 3 months.

I was spiralling with all the things i could do to 'make it better', remove the piers so the kids would stop using as goalposts etc. Concrete the garden, cameras etc etc, It's not worth it, do not put an extra penny into it!!! At the end of the day, their intention is to drive you out so their own family can move in.... It's not exactly personal but it is insidious

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 9,037 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

That sounds awful, OP. I'm really sorry that you're in such a stressful situation.

Like others, I would say cut your losses and get out of there if you can. Sell up or rent, talk to your local council, find out what your options are.

Mind yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,831 ✭✭✭✭893bet

life too short. Get out. Even if you solved the issue with the 3 or 4 oroblwm kids, like rats more will appear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

Stress in your own home is gut wrenching.

If you sell you're not writing off previous mortgage payments or anything of the sort.

The house will have appreciated slightly or at least be worth the same. There is a shortage of housing everywhere.

Sell to the council if possible.

Then move to parents and breath.

Thanks everyone for your advice I don't feel so alone now. Leasing it to the council if they'll take it seems the best Advice. I hope my mortgage holder pepper will play ball. Perhaps I should try one last time talking with the parents, ask them to discipline their children or it's the guards . Perhaps that will make the place even more of a target, hard to know what to do for the best. In any case I'll be taking your advice and get out of the place, the stress is not good.

Went round all the houses talked to everyone that would open the door. Tonight should be interesting. Have visions of my car getting kicked in as retaliation. Crazy situation. One of the neighbors said he's in the same situation. Calls the guards, but they never come. What bliss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭steinbock123

Don’t bother talking to any parents - it’s the parents that have the little fuppers the way they are!

Just get out ASAP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭GalwayBmw

Sorry to hear your story. Sell & Leave. Buy 1 bed in dublin like this: https://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/apt-20-arranmore-13-17-pembroke-road-ballsbridge-dublin-4/3942020?utm_source=chatgpt.com if you can, enjoy your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,739 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I'm guessing Longford? If you can stick it for a few more months, sell up in November. Halloween is over, the kids are back in school and the weather is cold enough to keep them indoors. If they're brazenly sitting on your doorstep it's gone to far and will only get worse.

You're going through the mill and you don't seem to have any real connection to the house or the community. Use a local estate agent. One who's sold houses in the area. They'll know the lie of the land, may know potential landlords and could have contacts in the council's housing section. If the property is suitable, they may be aware of schemes or opportunities where the council could be interested in purchasing it.

Best of luck & don't ignore your mental health.

Post edited by John_Rambo on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Sallythecat

Just sell it to the council OP.

Get it off your hands. Go live a less stressful life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,086 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

I agree with getting out while you can.

But if you sell, then where will you live once your parents die and the Fair Deal has to be paid? Possibly council housing will be an option for you then, but getting timings right could be tricky. And worst case, they could put you back in the old neighbourhood but as a tenant.

Talk to MABS before doing anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,967 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

My mother went through much the same as yourself in a Dublin council estate for years.

The parents will do nothing and may be as bad or worse themselves. The Gardai similarly will do nothing I'm afraid despite having lots of cctv footage of the incidents. They don't have the resources and the kids are under age.

Your only real option as others have said is to get out I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,905 ✭✭✭✭elperello

An adult child living in parent's house may be eligible to defer FD payment subject to certain conditions.

For the op two very relevant conditions are -

1 you must be living in the house at least 3 years.

2 you cannot own another house.

As @Mrs OBumble said it's important to get good advice.

Nursing home loan https://share.google/Stbmv9bXzxQ5wtJyD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

OP I’d suggest contacting MABs and citizens information. You’d be surprised at supports that might be available to you.

Not sure fair deal takes the entire house so you might find you can make that work. Also, if you are able to mind your folks (and they actually need support) you may be able to get some carers allowance.

I moved from an apartment complex when we just had noisy ignorant neighbours. They weren’t rough dubs and I tried polite notes in door , asking them and they just kept doing their thing, even parking in our private assigned parking spot.

Took it to useless PRTB and they threw out the race card making unsubstantiated accusations. I was able to get proof they lied but it didn’t matter , as my solicitor said “mud sticks” and the PRTB from the very start weren’t going to side with a young Irish single couple over a foreign family piling multiple families into a 3 bed house.

I digress, point is it was so stressful until we decided to move. After that we didn’t mind their ignorant behavior as much as we knew our torture would be over soon.

Like others have said, I’d personally find a way to get away from what sounds horrible rather than put another penny into where you live. You shouldn’t have to move but unfortunately these sort of things can be better served with triage , better to be happy then unhappy but standing your ground.

Again thank you everyone for your advice its appreciated and has giving me renewed hope. I was talking to mabs today and found them very helpful. Im getting my paperwork together and have a meeting again with them friday. checked my house today, no vandalism for once. maybe my going door to door helped a bit. was in chatting to the guards too, also the enviromental section of the council, massive litter in the back yard of the council house. Made a written complaint in the housing section about the neglect of their property was having on my property and health. Going to keep pushing,form a plan.sell it if pepper allow. otherwise its rent it. for now im back in my parents home.Its quiet now with my parents gone. so quiet you can walk out and hear nature, stand under the stars. Crazy at 19 i couldnt wait to get away, now it feels like a bit of heaven. Anyway once again, thanks to all off you who offered advie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 DisgustedTunbridgeWells

I can offer some knowledge re the fair deal scheme - you are allowed to live there until your Mum has died at which point the fair deal loan has to be paid. This does not mean you have to sell though, remember the loan is capped at 3 years (and is relatively small ) and you may be able to pay from savings and not sell the house. Also in the recent past the law was changed to allow houses in fair deal to be rented out and the rental income is not relevant / counted as income. Good luck - my advice for what its worth would be to try and get your own house on a long term council letting (10 years) which would pay off your mortgage and the council would be looking after everything and you live in peace in your family home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

Don't sell and don't rent to the council until you've had proper advice.

If you sell and your mum goes into a home and were to die in a year, you'd be looking at selling in a year to split it with your brother. You run the risk of been made homeless. This is why it's important to get advice.

If you rent to the council, one of their family / fiends move in. You need the place back; you'd be making them homeless - and yourself a target.

Look the kids will grow up and move on. Chances are things will quieten down in a couple of years. Best thing you can do, get advice and push the council to get the housen next door fixed and rented.
    Less reason for them to try to force you out and it gives you options to sell too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭dubrov

Why not sell and buy another similar house elsewhere?

I wouldn't rent it out either. It would just be a load of hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭De Bhál

do not spend one penny of your savings on trying to build a wall or whatever. Absolute waste of money. Move out, you will never be happy there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭mykrodot

Sell. Move to your parents house. Breathe

I have worked in MABS and I'm glad you went to them, I also worked in Citizens Information, they are brilliant for all sorts of advice. Get it and get moving.

Do not take the advice to stay, the local kids will grow up and move. NOT A CHANCE! They are there for generations, you will face issues with drugs as they get older.

My brother is living in my mother's house as she is in a nursing home for the last 6 years. He has already paid off the loan for the Fair Deal loan as he is inheriting it. I think it was about 70K.

Good luck, just do it. I moved house 6 times in my life, now I live in blissful peace in Kerry and I've never been happier. No congestion, no anti social behaviour, just peace. You only have one life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭SupaCat95

Close enough to what I was going to say. I was going to say sell to the council and hopefully the council in their wisdom will put in worse tenants than your neighbours are, OP.

Best thing to do is to go home and have this discussion with your Brother, Mother and Solicitor/financial advisor and get it sorted before a nursing home becomes necessary. Treat everyone at the table as your peer and the taxman as your enemy. If everyone works together and nobody gets greedy or becomes entrenched, there will be plenty for everyone. If ye fight over it, by the time the solicitors carve it up and the nursing home gets paid there will only be crumbs.

See if you can make a deal where you can buy into the family home, get rid of Pepper and still come out with a bit for you and your brother.

Life is too short to be living in a estate of scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭purplefields

Regarding the fair deal - it's only a 'fair deal' if your mother has no assets.

If it looks like that she will go into a nursing home within the next 5 years, I would suggest getting all the assets out of her name. There will be nothing left otherwise after the 'fair deal'.

I would see this as the most pressing issue.