Meath GAA discussion thread

1274275276277278280»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,235 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Personally I'd give Robbie another year but can understand calls for his resignation after a disastrous championship. Could be a long year next year if div 1 doesn't go well.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭yew_tree

Hard Luck….i didn’t see us coming back from that to be honest. Sending off was a killer for ye. Thought ye played the better football to be honest. We won’t be going any further based on what I’ve seen.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,938 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Sickened by that second half. And it was obvious that it was coming yet again, even when we tagged on the couple of points at the start of the second half. I'm genuinely at a loss as to the cause of the second half capitulations. It seems like we just freeze when we get well ahead so perhaps it's a psychological issue. However, when Dónal Keogan is the man that stands out as the player that's going from defence to attack well into the second half, maybe it's a fitness issue as well.

While Jones was stupid to react, it was never a red card. And if we had semi competent officials, the Mayo player would have seen the line too as Jones was hit off the ball. As it happens, the same official that failed to see the Michael Murphy punch in the league final from 2 yards away, fell for the dive.

Undoubtedly a disappointing championship. But seeing people say that we're not in a better place than two years ago is laughable. In two years under Brennan, we've reached an All Ireland semi final, beaten Dublin, Kerry and Galway and won division 2. This time two years ago, we had lost in Leinster to Dublin by 16 and been hammered in all three group stage games. In the league, we were fifth having come sixth the previous year. So it's utterly ridiculous for anyone to be questioning Robbie's position. I do have doubts over the backroom team, particularly Kernan as defensive coach given how terrible we've been in that department. But if we get rid of Brennan after winning division 2 and one disappointing championship season, then we deserve everything that comes to us next season. Even when you think about the championship season, when you compare it to previous managers, being in the last 12 is better than any season (if you exclude the covid seasons) under any other manager since 2019.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

your obviously having a dig at me and my comments about Brennan.. i think its plain and obvious to everyone that Meath have seriously regressed..

Meath over achieved last year getting to a semifinal.. thats not Robbie's fault… this thing they beat Dublin and Kerry is laughable as they werent knock out games.. fair enough they beat galway but sure galway are better than Mayo when it comes to finding a way to lose.. look at all-ireland final 2024.. Galway threw it away..

Meath were beaten in 2024 by Dublin who were All-Ireland champions and still had lads playing with numerous all-ireland medals..

won Div 2.. and lucky to get a refereeing decision in the final moments which they needed to get them across the line.. had that game gone on for another couple mins.. prob would have lost..

lost to a Cork team couple weeks ago that played majority of 2nd half with 14… every analyst says its impossible to win with 14 v 15 under new rules yet Cork managed it.. what does that say about Meath…?

Kinsella was a loss but injuries are part and parcel of the game and every team has to do without players due to injury.. look at Kerry.. numerous players out injured all along now thankfully nearly all are back in action…

the 2nd half collapses have been happening all year and he has failed to deal with it.. it appears from the outside looking in that no attempt has been made to rectify it… surely thats not acceptable…

i think at most Robbie Brennan should get 1 more year.. btw what happened to him last night after game was a disgrace.. why anyone would want to do that is beyond me.. thankfully he wasnt hurt by the incident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,947 ✭✭✭enricoh

Are u colm o rourke by any chance?

Main aim for me this year was get to Division 1 n we upset the bookies odds to do it ahead of Derry n Tyrone. Main aim for next year is staying there I reckon.

Thee was a wide open Leinster there for the taking n we didn't which is disappointing. More than half the lads playing yesterday would be long gone if I rourke was still managing

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,938 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Exactly what refereeing decision was lucky in the league final? "Had that game gone on for another couple of minutes"? Do you not see how ridiculous that statement is? A game is 70 minutes. If the game against Westmeath went on for another couple of minutes, we probably would have won. See how ridiculous it sounds?

By what metrics have we seriously regressed? I've literally pointed to our league and championship record prior to Brennan. In 2027, we'll be facing into division 1 football for just the second time in 20 years. In the last two seasons, we won 10 out of 14 league games. In the two seasons under O'Rourke, we won 4 out of 14. In two championship seasons under O'Rourke, we won one game (against Longford). Hammered against Dublin, Kerry, Louth, Monaghan and beaten by Offaly as well. So, again, by what metrics do you make the statement that Meath have "seriously regressed"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭HBC08

Mayo man here,

The red card wasn't a red card but you win some you lose some with ref decisions. Home crowd influenced the ref and linemen but thats one of the advantages of playing at home.

The wind was a massive factor in the game,i felt Meath didnt go for enough 2 pointers in the 1st half.The mini Mayo fight back before ht was crucial.

Had good craic with Meath fans before and after the game. Aside from the result i hope ye all enoyed yer time in Cbar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭Qprmeath

Robbie must stay. Where we were when he arrived and where we are now are light years apart. And that’s without a huge turnover of players. Bring on Division One!

My first time at a game in Mayo, so it was nice to cross that off the list (only Kerry, Sligo and Waterford to go). It's a lovely stadium and surprisingly quick getting out of it after full time. Though I realised too late after taking my seat in the stand opposite the main stand that I wasn't going to be able to see the clock. Was like being back in the 90s when "stewards to end of match positions" caused a ripple of excitement.

Think you're right about the two pointers. There were a couple of longer range one-pointers that we got in the first half that I was confused as to why they didn't take the two point option. Saturday was only the second game in league or championship that we have failed to score a two-pointer. The only other game was against Cork in the championship last year which was played in monsoon conditions so there was no excuse for us on Saturday. Yourselves and Cork will definitely be eyeing a semi final. Though if ye play like ye did in the first half, I don't think Cork will let ye back into it like we did.

Just to put some context we beat un understrength Kerry side who were already qualified through the group. It was a rare victory where we were up a lot of didn't capitulate but Kerry weren't at the races.

I agree we are in a better place but the second half collapses I think that's on management. They need to change the gameplan to deal with those periods not the predictable all out attack they've been doing for the previous 40 mins.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,947 ✭✭✭enricoh

I thought taking Jack Flynn n McBride off were odd enough decisions. Costello looked off it , dunno if he's fully recovered from that knock in the league.

Scores had totally dried up, I thought we needed Curtis or Jamie Murphy on try get something.

I would have left both midfielders on but subbed off Costello.