Metallica aviva June 2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,103 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Excellent gig. Seated in 324, crowd were excellent I thought. Kids loved it, youngest only 9.

Roll on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭Count Hairyfoot

miserable feckers in hear - it was great and am really looking forward to Sunday. The in the round is a bit of a pain but thankfully the 2nd stop when they played the newer stuff was the furthest point from where I was standing so the place kind of went dead for a few minutes but it picked up straight away once they moved on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,131 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Really feels odd not hearing 'One' or 'Enter Sandman' but ye lucky baxtards will hear it Sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,131 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Nothing else matters

Your kids off to a great life of concertsl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭blue_blue

What time did they finish at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭innuendo141

Just before 10.30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,195 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

No encore, played straight through. I really enjoyed it. Sound was terrible. I had no idea what Pantera were playing, all I could hear were Zakk's guitar squeals every two seconds. Was in Block 303.

Was a little better for Metallica, but still just a mush of sound of a lot of it.

First half, I get what they do to pace it and where they drop in new songs; I quite like the two new ones they played, but two Death Magnetic songs in a row could've been rethought. Loved hearing Harvester. It kicked into gear with Orion which was great and then it didn't really let up from there. Last half hour was amazing. When Lars held the band for an extended pause after Seek and Destroy and then they kicked into Puppets, that was a really great moment.

I liked the in the round purely because it got the band playing close to each other, instead of spread out over a massive wide stage. I like seeing musicians interact that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,305 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

Spent all of Avatar's set trying to track down a Phil Lynott tee but it didn't sound great. Got to my seat in section 107 for Pantera and the sound was atrocious. Sound for Metallica started off iffy but definitely improved as they went along.

I really hope they do something for Sunday so we won't have sound issues.

Had one guy in the row behind me, two or three seats over, launch into a screaming session so that his friend could hear him. Killing thing was that he was quiet for the support acts and stage setups, he only decided to have a conversation once Metallica came on (and I had ear plugs in but could hear him loud and clear over Metallica). The guy to my right fcuked him out of it twice to get him to shut up thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,195 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Three from Master of Puppets you mean. Only one from Justice.

I've have liked a song from St Anger; Frantic or Some kind of Monster. But I guess those songs are quite long (and they probably figured no one wants to hear them). If they'd played Helpless I'd have been in heaven. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,717 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Saucy!

1000142356.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭sp00k

Anyone know if that Phil Lynott poster will be sold online? I see it on some 'stores' but they look sketchy as

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Capra

the sound was phenomenal where we were for Metallica. It was very poor at the start of Pantera but got better. The crowd was also excellent with a nice little pit going for the whole thing. We will probably try to stand in the same place for the next one. I liked the in the round because they do get so close to you but at times they are miles away but the trade off is worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,305 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

Went to the convention centre this morning and managed to get the Irish tshirt, so happy out

We moved 3-4 times. Easy enough to walk around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,303 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Great gig, we were in the middle of the pitch just were they walk out the tunnel. Very easy to go straight up to the barrier. The mic was right in front of us, had loads of kirk solos and Hetfield singing within touching distance.

Sound was absolute garbage though had to keep asking the lads what song they were playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Duffy98

Could only buy it at the Aviva, anything online now would just be reprints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 574 ✭✭✭TenPicnics

Maybe just me, but I don't get how a gig can still be described as great while the sound was awful. The sound, surely, is a massive element in how good a concert (or any live performance) is? The reason my heart sinks when a band I like are announced for Croke Park or Lansdowne Road is precisely because every gig I've been to in those venues (usually but not always pitch tickets) had the worst sound I've ever experienced. Should add that I'm not a Coldplay or Oasis fan, so wasn't in those venues for their gigs, which I understand were free of the usual atrocious sound problems. Not knocking folk for enjoying last night's concert, just don't get how bad sound can be dismissed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,158 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Great gig overall, agreed on the sound for Pantera, it was terrible up until ‘Walk’ but seemed to improve then.

No sound complaints for Metallica. Great start with Creep, Harvester and Leper although it did dip with the 72 and DM songs although i still enjoyed them, especially TDTNC which i thought sounded great. I went for drink during the doodle but it didn’t sound great, no interest in it anyway.

Final 4 songs were unbelievably good! Overall great night with a fantastic production. They could break the pyro out s bit more seeing as they have it, especially during the likes of Battery though.

Got a bit wet while waiting for the dart but hey ho!

We mainly hung back a bit and the sound was fantastic all night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,066 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Amazing to be so close to the bad .... its has its down sides , (why isnt there more of the band been shown on the screen when people on the floor cant see the band for a lot of the gig??).

Amazing to see Orion - right in front of me.

1000027956.jpg 1000027969.jpg 1000027938.jpg 1000027927.jpg 1000027920.jpg 1000027873.jpg 1000027843.jpg
    247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,303 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Just depends were you were i think. all the speakers on the towers were behind you if you were standing close to the stage. They had a few floaters in between but anyone i know that was seating said the sound was grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,205 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

This gig brought back fond memories. Loved every minute of it.

Sunday should be great as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,158 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Actually did anyone notice that some of the camera shots at points were totally bizarre? At one point we got a shot of the black backdrop in the tiny stand for about 5 seconds, others focusing on the floor of the stage etc. Was like one cameraman was pissed or something!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,103 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Had the 12 yr old at Rammstein.

Start em young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

I enjoyed the gig, but the sound issues were noticeable and I was sitting in Block 325 which is one of the lower blocks on west stand. Great view and really comfortable part of the stadium to be in.

The sound was very poor for Pantera which was disappointing. It did seem to improve from Walk onwards. From the start of Metallica's set I found it poor too, but improved greatly after Kirk & Rob's jam. From TDTNC onwards I found no issues with the sound.

I found the stage set up to be great and really enjoyable though I'd a really good overview of the stage. Lars' drumkits emerging from the stage was excellent to see.

Overall, despite some sound issues for some portions of the set, it was a good show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

Went last night and really enjoyed it, I was in 305 lower and sound was great where I was tbh. Will be back Sunday too

I’ve seen this tour format previously (in 2024) and Metallica numerous times and while I wouldn’t say last night was their best gig ever it certainly wasn’t by any means bad.

The review in The Irish Times is hilarious as you’d think the writer would at least do some basic research on the format before writing this:

IMG_7177.jpeg

It literally says “no repeat weekender” (or words to that effect) on the posters and all promotional material. 🤷‍♂️

Yes, the salary is enormous, I understand that, but that doesn't affect my soul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Duffy98

1000038797.jpg 1000038796.jpg 1000038800.jpg

Sound was good where I was I aimed for the dip in the stage l, thought they handled the in the round well each "corner" got a set of songs,

I think the sound for the support acts was fucked at times because with the heavy rain they hadn't a proper opportunity to set everything up avatar anyway I could see that was a huge issue,

I actually thought the downpour of rain added to Pantera set

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭dasdog

I made the mistake of putting a bud in to a coffee around 13:00 yesterday which melted and then I ate it and the space time continuum ensued. I don't know how people enjoy rock gigs seated I felt like a trapped animal - hoping to do the two account thing and swap for standing tomorrow. Black Rose though, Lizzy are the pinnacle of rock bands do it properly if you are going to play one of their songs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,854 ✭✭✭COH

Just crawling out of my cave after that - what an incredible night. Sound was fantastic where we were on the pitch. I think hanging a little further back for this stage set up is better tbh.

Also have to say that I have never experienced a gig with such ease of effort to get a drink or go to the loo. Literally zero queues all night I couldnt believe it!

Cant feckin wait for tomorrow now 🤘

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭KawaKris

Any moments you get to see Metallica live are good moments. Fecking can't wait for Sunday. I'm glad of the respite today after some savage pints, ye are lucky sods in Dublin for nice Guinness. Reading some of the posts on here and you wouldn't get the impression ye were supposed to be at a metal gig, wheres all the mad metal heads at. Agree with the sound issues, missed the opening band, Pantera's sound wasn't great but great to see them again nonetheless. Fair dues to the young lad near me - offered him up to €120 for the poster but he wasn't for selling - great banter. Got drenched with Rockshore cider from above, how does anyone drink that shite.