Best place to sell scrap cars.

• 17-06-2026 03:04PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭

Have a couple of scrap cars lying about the place,

00 Golf 5 dr 1.4 petrol,

01 Suzuki 3dr Vitara 2.0 petrol,

06 Seat Ibiza 5dr 1.2 petrol

All complete cars but non runners as not economical to put them back on the road. No NCT, Tax etc. but have the tax books for them all.

What's the best option to get rid of them and possibly get a few quid in the deal?

I have contacted a local scrap yard, but he seems uninterested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,274 ✭✭✭✭User1998

Car Take Back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Thanks @User1998 👍

They do online quotes, with a reg and an Eircode... fairly decent prices too.

Have you dealt with them yourself? How did you find them etc.?

I presume they cover the whole country?

How do they value scrap cars is it by manufacturers listed weight?

Yeah I dealt with them over the phone but I think I ended up selling the car instead. They were good to deal with regardless and well recommended on here. Not sure of the areas they cover or how they calculate the scrap value to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,938 ✭✭✭enricoh

That 00 golf might be worth a few quid more than scrap value. I'd throw it up on Facebook marketplace if it was mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭greenbin2

The Dominican Republic of Congo according to the viral video

What about that e8,500 scrappage scheme can they be sold to someone to trade against a new yoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,069 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

The good news is scrap value is a bit higher than it was 10 years ago. Should be able to get 250 per non-runner I would have throught? Maybe slightly less if they have to come and lift from your residence of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,032 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Those Golfs back then with the 1.4 petrol were shocking back so definitely scrap now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,922 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

They're not parked in the underground car park of your apartment complex, by any chance? 👀

😆

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Heard back from the local scrap yard, yer man said he will basically come and collect the cars for free, but will not be paying me anything.

Might contact 'Car take back' as recommended by @User1998 or maybe the metal recycling company here in Galway... 'Galway Metals'. But not sure if they will take a car that hasn't been stripped down to just its metal bits.

To answer @enricoh , no all three would be past economical repair....and I'm a bangernomics kinda guy soo wouldn't even dream of scrappage scheme and buyind a new EV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Anois_

No they need to own the car for a year or more and have a valid NCT, tax and insurance to qualify for the scheme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Lofidelity

Put an ad on donedeal before you get the scrapper. Somebody out there might be looking for parts. If the vitara is 4x4 it may find a buyer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,938 ✭✭✭enricoh

Yeah, f@ck that - collect 3 cars at one address n wants them for free. Try a few more crowds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭rsole1

Ca take back offered me 250 euro for Skoda Roomster, I agreed and they arranged Hammond Lane scrapyard in Athlone to collect it. They did and paid me there and then.