Economical 4x4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,897 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

A neighbour has a volkswagen touareg, It's fairly old, I presume it's 330 tax, 3 litre engine and 3.5 ton towing. They can be got 4 wheel drive but dont know about his, Probably can be bought cheaply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,998 ✭✭✭emaherx

Nothing cheap about driving a 3 litre, especially given rising fuel prices .

Did you ask about the 2WD Musso? As there is a lot of different tow capacities being advertised.

Some of the e-Vitaras are 750kg and some not rated for towing at all in both 2 and 4wd, I think the battery size has the deciding factor there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,749 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

If doing a small bit of towing and a nice bit of commuting say 20k km in totally fuel costs alone would be about 4k. Throw in another 1k in maintenances costs aside from tyres. Not really an option if doing high personnel milage

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,749 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Ya supposed to be 2.3Ton. Leather seats and a good few extra come as standard or so he told me.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,897 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

I think he only paid 6000 for it, you'd be a long time spending 10000 on fuel, It'll tow 3ton legally. he drives about 3 miles to work. I see it as a great idea for a farm car

Low mileage on a modern big diesel is not without issues either. I've no requirement to tow 3T with a jeep, I've a tractor for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

😅 Complete Miscommunication.

Yea same here and it definitely won't be any harm especially when towing and dogging it at times.

Not if you have a daily commute. He is driving miles a day and if he is married there is probably another car in the yard. That jeep could be doing less than 5k a year including towing.

My young lad is 20 miles from work 200 miles, that is 16000km a year to and from work. Add in another 10k km for farming and you are looking at 5.5k in diesel alone. For to get one for 6k you would be back to a 2012 one with the high car tax. I am not sure if you can transfer them back to crewcab. The crewcab ones are 15k plus for a ten year old one. Spec is fairly high on most of them.

Slava Ukrainii

Not to mention service costs or wear and tear costs of an older vehicle. An engine or gearbox issue would destroy that 'economy' fairly quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Jimbo789

I was considering a VW Touareg or Audi Q7. The ones I have seen advertised seem to be available in 2016-2019 with 5 seats and windows as a commercial. Compared to the ordinary version they just seem to have the back 2 seats removed and maybe a flat floor added in the boot.

Originally would these need to have had a bulkhead added so that the passenger and boot sections were separate in order to be classified as N1 commercial? Would this cause any problem doing the CVRT?

Some of these had enough load area behinf the back seats to get classified as a crewcab so if you were a sole trader you could tax as commercial

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭Jimbo789

yes I think that was the case with Landrover Discovery. The Toyota Land Cruiser Business was commercial from factory. I just wasn’t sure about Touareg and Q7. And the Discovery would be too unreliable and the Land Cruiser too expensive.

There must have been a change in law around 2019.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭Sergeant Bilco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Zimmerframe

Yes the Touareg and I presume the Q7 were available between 2016 and 2018 as commercials. It was a loophole, which got closed up in 2018. They were identical in every way to the passenger version, nothing added or taken away, apart from costing a lot less and 333 to tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 329 ✭✭queueeye

I was warned off anything with the VAG 3 litre engine by both a VW mechanic and a former salesman.
    Run away was the advice. I still have a soft spot for them though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭Jim Simmental

what do you think of the pick up ‘s @Bass Reeves

if replacing the RAV4 again would you go for something like a L200 again or will you stick with the SUV’s?

Very hard to get an SUV to replace the RAV. The kast if the RAV are 2014. A Mutibuishi Oitlander but you are looking at 16-18k.

I am doing the numbers on the KGM Musso. If is what the dealer says is the actual specification its an option.

If I can restructure my tax to write it off over12 months its net cost is less than 25k. The difference in running costs I am calcating is around 3.5-4k a year. That is like another depreciation. 3-4 years eould make up the difference on an Outlander or any other petrol crew cab

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

Electric jeeps haven’t really been put to the test here yet. If your buying new the basic DMax would cost you around the same in the long run and you’d know what they are capable of.

But can you fuel the diesel D-max at home for little to nothing? I had a DMax, loved it except the fuel bill and to be honest it was a lot more powerful than I needed but I miss having the pickup bed around the farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

For anyone doing real work, it's a more important question of how capable will it be in action. Do 40k km in Hilux here for approx €3.5k plus vat on diesel. About €1200 on servicing.

Not going to massively change the profits here if that could be reduced but if real range with trailer was significantly reduced over advertised range, it wouldn't actually be possible to run bar charging during the day at fast chargers

Real work, what's that? For me the new 18ft tractor cattle trailer has reduced the need for a powerful jeep, before that we've had Land Cruisers, a Defender and a D-max. It wasn't really efficient way of moving cattle compared to the tractor yet that was the only job justifying such a big machine, so not efficient for day to day driving either.

@Bass Reeves drives a Rav 4 and I'm currently driving a Duster so it's not like we are looking to replace heavy duty jeeps.

Real work is subjective and there is definitely room for vehicles to cover the middle ground. Heavy duty EV pickups are on the way too along with PHEV's for those who need the range

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Barnsley

How do you find the duster? Looking for a 4x4 one myself but hard enough to find a good one.

We've 2 here at the moment but both are 2WD. The older one is mine a 2017 that we kept when she was upgrading to the 2022 model. The 2017 is grand, but a very basic car, the 2022 has a lot more mod cons and is just more refined. We also had a 2014 Logan and put over 300kms on it before it left, the 2017 is coming up on 200kms.

We really had no major issues with any of them.

The only thing to test in them is the engine to see if its capable of doing the work. 20 years ago many lads were drawing two cow boxes with 1.6 petrol cars. The structure of the vehicle should be ok, the extra weight of an ECV should add stability and braking should be ok

Battery technology is well tested at this stage. The KGM Has a 10 year 1 milllion KHM battery warranty. I think they also have a 5 year 150km warranty. Yes range will be limited but I think the furdest we will be hauling from is 80-90km

The DMax would have to be depreciated over 8 years, the KGM works for me if I can deprecate over one and has a high specification with.loads of extras. The choice is the KGM.or an 7-8 year old outlander.

Runnings costs are probably 25-30% of a diesel.

Slava Ukrainii

3.5k+ vat is 4.3k servicing brings it to 5.5k. 2k a year should do a lot for the Musso

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭straight

That's 2 or 3k vs 1k after tax relief. Hardly worth taking the risk on new tech and unknown brands like kgm. That yoke could be rotten in 4 or 5 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

For the part time lad on the weekend who has enough range it might be more attractive but if it costs money by not being able to do the job exactly like a diesel then it gets expensive fast. How much will a fully loaded trailer kill range is the big question.

Not sure would a phev necessarily save a whole pile over it's lifetime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭Thesmallfarmer

Range is the thing that is most important .

What is the range with towing 1- 2tonne driving busy road . I think if you drove a steady 50km /hour with load on level road summer time v 65km /hour with load on a hilly road in winter time would have a massive impact on range.

Could you get one for test drive even for a day would tell you all you need to know.

Massive gamble for a large amount of money buying blind ,you also need at least 8- 10% in reserve in battery or you will end up in limp mode ,battery will also degrade a few % annually.

I bought Kangoo ev and it is econimically impressive with night rate electric but have not towed .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

Have you panels for charging an EV yourself. How well do they work in the winter months.