No quitten we're whelan onto chitchat 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,634 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

A bag of what 18-6-12, pasture sward, urea. Get it out ASAP as we could have a long dryy spell

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭limo_100

pasture sward. I won’t be able to get it out until tomorrow with work today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,405 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Toronto is a great town. Spent a few days there 10 years ago. Big underground city there too for the winter. We had grub in the tower beside the stadium in a revolving restaurant. That was cool. Few nice islands there too where you get a little ferry across to. Lots of good spots for pints. Niagara falls is only 90 minutes outside the city too if ya were interested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,203 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

The caveat is the lone rider wearing black and no lights on their bike. Then they become a liability to themselves and every other road user on the road. These were in that group too. 75% had lights and bright luminous clothing.

The black lone riders would be better off staying at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,730 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Ah, there's always one.

It reminds me of getting a taxi at 5am to Busáras to catch a bus to Donegal to pick up a car. The driver was the usual anti cyclist, anti foreigner type, so Deliveroo riders were a red rag to a bull. He spent the whole journey obsessing about them not having lights or high vis.

Eventually he spotted one and triumphantly shouted, "Look at him! You can't see him!"

More like twenty yesterday and these were the slow one's.

It's not just black clothes wearing cyclists. It's black clothes wearing walkers too.

A farmer walking wearing black on the road was killed by a motorist. His boots were found on the road. His body thrown 30 ft away into a field over a ditch.

The judge acquited the motorist of any fault in the death saying the motorist couldn't have seen him. No penalty points.

The farmer was an elderly bachelor farmer checking his cattle. The motorist was a quantity surveyor or such.

There's no fashion statements or points to make going out that way. If the other humans in the ton moving vehicles can't see you then you are suicidal.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 13,140 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Worst case of an invisible cyclist I ever seen was one dressed in camo, he looked exactly like the hedge, I was nearly on top of him before I saw him.

Hope Mrs. wrangler is ok too.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

I used to be of that opinion too, but if the rest of their life is the misery of prison as a child killer/pedo then death is mercy for them. I'd prefer them to have a long and tortorous life.

Plus the death penalty is much more expensive than life in prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,730 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Sorry, I didn't realise you were saying you came across 20 cyclists all dressed in black with no lights. That would certainly be unusual, the club might want to reconsider their club colours.

That said, the majority of cyclist fatalities and serious collisions occur in daylight and in good visibility, when cyclists are often wearing high visibility clothing so the problem is usually the driver of the car or vehicle that hits them.

There were every sort of colours going in this group. Well over 100 people all strung out like I described. Most didn't act the prat though.

Cars crash into other cars too. Cars drive with daytime lights too as standard in modern cars.

I see some of the black wearing lone riders yesterday with cameras on their heads. If one went to the trouble of putting a camera on your helmet then one is well able afford a rear and forward light and bright coloured clothing too. Like the other cyclists had. The other cyclists were worse for letting those join the outing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭Aravo

The thing is that they won't be in there for life. My big issue is that life imprisonment does not mean life imprisonment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,543 ✭✭✭visatorro

For anyone that thinks there having bad day theres an interview with ciara mageean on indo sports youtube channel. An absolutely wonderful woman who is fighting cancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

Are we not talking about the bollox in England? He got a full life sentence.

The amount of time and money it takes to go through with the death penalty would be better spent on building a few more prisons. There are so many crimes through the ranges that are getting non custodial or limited sentences because of lack of spaces in the prisons.

It fuels an ambivalence to law by the perpetrators, which in turn fuels more crimes and the problem snowballs. With an increasing population comes the need for expanding all facilities, including prisons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

In the UK they have minimum tarrifs before someone is eligible for parole decided by the judge.

The judge can give a whole life tarrif which means someone will never be eligible for parole.

Here life can mean life but the average is around 20 years and prisoners can apply for parole after 12 years. There's a few who will do longer and may never be released (at least until they are at deaths door).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

Worst I seen was one dressed in dark clothing as it got dark on a country road. I only saw them because of the reflector in the pedal glinted with my lights as it came around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭enricoh

Talking to a fella last night who's in one of the housing charities. They are buying up all the apartments that landlords are flogging.

One fella they put in didn't pay his drug dealer so his car was torched. Only problem was it was in an underground car park n spread and now all the tenants have been moved out due to smoke damage. Reckons 5 million ish might cover it.

Another fella hacked into the ESB to grow weed n the apartment went up, same craic, smoke damage, residents into hotels.

Apartment life ain't for me , my next door neighbour is 200m away - perfect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,165 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

It's like the story I heard about fellas bringing some food for St. Vincent De Paul to a house a few years back. When they were leaving, they met a Chinese takeaway delivery on the way in. The house also had a huge flat screen TV ….. and this was back when nobody had them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Sergeant Bilco

We've a lad like that around here, he got vouchers off St Vincent de Paul one Christmas, the next December he knocks on door of chairman of St V de Paul's home address. No one can figure out how he got it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Asked a butcher today but may as well get a second opinion here too. Is a 300l freezer enough for half a cow? Anyone any previous experience the butcher said it should be good enough but to buy a bigger one if im only buying it now. Chat GPT reckons it will just about do and the biggest ons in stock locally is a 308l

Better living everyone

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 13,140 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Make sure the meat is blast frozen before you bring it home. At least this way you could find a home for some of it in someone else's freezer if you're stuck for space.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

I'm impressed at how many hard to see cyclists you're seeing. Where do you live?

And you're 100% right about the lights. They're so cheap, light and powerful, they strap to the bike with rubber clips. I remember the days of dynamos and massive lights with heavy batteries that clamped to the bike. When they fell off they smashed to pieces. One of my kids has a back light that senses braking and flashes like a brake light. He got it in Lidl for under €12.

Overall, cyclists don't cause problems or hold ups on the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭50HX

Cant advise on size.

What did he quote to kill & butcher?

+1 on the blast freeze

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭Base price

"Overall, cyclists don't cause problems or hold ups on the roads."

I grew up in NCD and every Sunday morning was a nightmare when driving. Groups of cyclists, cycling three or four abreast and they couldn't give a fiddlers feck who or what was behind them. People give out about us farmers slowing traffic when we are on the roads with tractors but most will pull in when they can/safe to do so and allow traffic to pass - IMO cyclists don't afford other road users the same opportunity.

Don't get me started if you came across the same cyclists when out hacking - fooking townies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Jb1989

I'm not a cyclist myself, I used to commute but now I'm freelancing so back in the car. Cyclists, of all road users, probably cause the least congestion. I've never been held up for more than a few minutes by cyclists, but I've spent hours sitting in motor traffic. A bicycle doesn't create a traffic jam, cars do.

What sector of society do you think held up more traffic on the nations roads this year more than any other?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭davidk1394

We're staying near the CN tower and planning to go to Niagra Falls and the islands too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭Base price

TBH, I don't know but your asking the question so I suppose the three/four abreast cyclist that I used to come across ain't in the parameters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭Austinbrick

Said to my brother yesterday Will we put that cow in the freezer? He said I should kill her first!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,870 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

she's fine, she's more worried about the bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,885 ✭✭✭straight

Fair play to you for getting away from the cows. Enjoy it. Nice tractors earlier. We've a soft spot for the davie browns and case here.