Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,988 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

I think its reasonable to expect him to be better.

Two Considerable factors 1.He's not playing 10 at Leinster 2. He's going to be playing 10 & getting better coaching at Connacht.

He'll definitely be in a RWC squad 1. Farrell loves him. 2. He also sees him as a 10.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,959 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

He was coached by Lancaster at Leisnter, it didn't make him anymore of a 10.

I fully expect him to be in the Ireland squad at the world cup too, but it will still be as an emergency 10. It would take an almighty season to get ahead of either of the two incumbents.

Will he get more consistent gametime at 10? Probably. Will it make him better? I am fairly doubtful, but I am very sure even if he improves he is a mile off the other two.

"it didnt make him anymore of a 10" Thats actually not true.

Dont I know it that he was coached by Lancaster!

And sure dont we all know who he was behind in his 1st and 2nd seasons as a pro?

1st and 2nd season he was 3rd choice behind Sexton & Ross. 90%+ of his mins were at 10.
    3rd season Harry arrived on the scene. They had a choice - "The chosen one" or move Frawley to 12.
    4th season the same. He's No.23 for Final v LaR. Ross No.22.
    5th season 1 start at 10 early season and back to the centre.

Cullen was the selector. So to say it was Lancaster fault that he didn't make it as a 10 at the time is not accurate and a little more than unfair.

btw Im not saying Frawley is going to dislodge JC or SP. Just that he is more than likely going to improve.

And "Events, my dear boy, events" and Cullen had the bigger part in him not playing more at 10 during Lancaster's time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,466 ✭✭✭FtD v2

There’s no grand conspiracy around Cullen not selecting Frawley at 10 though; he very obviously doesn’t rate him as a 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭ersatz

it will be a really interesting test study to see why if Frawley settles and becomes a better ten in Connacht. The question of which Leinster players are improving w the coaching there year on year is a good one. Anyway, as far as Ireland goes we are in an ok position at ten. Crowley plus 2.5 or 3 is fine. Bigger problem is centre and back 3, very poor luck to have so many of our centre options on the injury list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,600 ✭✭✭OldRio

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,418 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

I didn't think we're fine at all.

I don't think any of our 10s are starters for any of the top 10 test teams in the world currently.

However we can't magic up a top level out half out of nowhere unfortunately.

We're fine at 12, we have real issues at 13.

We always have decent back three options, the biggest issue is just keeping them kit and healthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

I don't think any of our 10s are starters for any of the top 10 test teams in the world currently.

I don't get what you'r esaying here syd?

Crowley has become a very solid test ten. He’s not an all black or French but he’d be in the English 23, and he’s the best we have. Back 3 wise, for me Keenan hasn’t been the player he was since his injury. Great for the Lions but he’s gone from one of the best 15s in the world to another solid operator and I think we’ll eye the loss of Lowe. At centre Aki and Henshaw are getting on, for me neither of them will be better come the World Cup.

For the record - I didn't say it was a conspiracy. Or even a grand one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,466 ✭✭✭FtD v2

It’s impossible to know for sure, but there have been a lot of different attack coaches there in Frawley’s time too, and not one of them has been convinced this is the guy to grab that shirt.

We have the same discussion all the time, but I still don’t think anyone can point to even a single game where he controlled a game and ran it well from 10. He’s grand as a helter skelter change of pace 10, but his fundamentals just look completely lacking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,600 ✭✭✭OldRio

It's going to be very interesting watching his development next year under Lancaster.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,418 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

I don't think any of our options at ten are better than any of the first choice tens at the other top world rugby sides.

NZ: barrett, DMAC, Mounga

SA: SFM Pollard

Aus: Gordon, Donaldson

France: jalibert

Arg: albornoz

England: Smith x2

Scotland: Russell

Fiji: muntz

Italy: garbisi.

In my opinion currently none of Crowley, prendergast, byrne or frawley would be an automatic starter ousting any of the above players.

Andy Farrell clearly thinks not.

"Then the landscape changed further when Andy Farrell brought Ciarán Frawley and Sam Prendergast on the Irish tour to South Africa ahead of Ross and Harry Byrne. Next came Frawley’s heroics in the second Test in Durban with those two match-winning drop goals and the manner in which he piloted Ireland to a famous win."

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/2024/09/24/gerry-thornley-outhalf-conundrum-likely-to-rumble-on-and-on-for-leo-cullen/

Last Friday, for the second time, Leo Cullen said “now that he [Frawley] wants to play at outhalf”, perhaps betraying a hint of weariness, or not. But Frawley’s versatility is a very handy commodity and there’s been plenty of investment in the Byrnes, Ross and Harry, who are fine outhalves. And then there’s also Sam Prendergast, shooting up on the rails. Cullen could have done without the pressure from Frawley and, one suspects, Andy Farrell.

Top outhalf debate rolls on despite Leinster vs Munster Croke Park clash – The Irish Times

And Its not the first time Farrell picked a player ahead of where Cullen was playing them - see JGP

Having seen the 10 situation completley mishandled again by Leo this season, I unequivocally now trust that Farrell is the better judge of a players ability and potential.

No doubt Frawley will benefit from playing under Lancaster at Connacht.

Its also going to be very interesting watching his development over the summer.

Will he be the back-up to Sam and start v Japan? Looks like it.

He would be nowhere near the English 23. His own coach ranked the two available english Flyhalves ahead of him - never mind Ford and his own son.

…Last year.

Since then, Crowley has won the 10 jersey back and put in some statement performances.

If the Lions was this summer, and Crowley was fit, I think Farrell would have him in the 22 jersey.

TBH, “nowhere near the English 23” seems like a mad statement to me…

I don't. For the same reason he didn't have the guy ahead of him last year on the tour either. I'm not sure what he has done to place himself so strongly ahead of Marcus Smith.

I don't know why it is mad. I think England have 4 10s better today than either of our options (albeit I doubt Farrell is coming back into the fold) - it is clearly one of the weakest points in the Ireland team.

I'm not sure what he has done to place himself so strongly ahead of Marcus Smith.

…be a better 10 than him (and Ford) in the 6 Nations?

Marcus Smith didn't play at 10 in the 6N so that's not really possible. The question is was he a better 10 than Smith has been in the past. It depends what you want in your 22 also.

I - obviously - don't agree with the contention that Crowley was somehow excellent in this 6N. I thought he was very good in 2 games and poor in 1. I do not think that is shifting the basis of why his own coach ranked the two Smiths ahead of him less than a year ago.

I do not think it would be unreasonable that he would be in the 22 position in a Lions team to be clear, but it is also incredibly far from obvious and I suspect you would get long odds on it. The idea he would obviously be in an English 23 is a bit weird but I feel Irish fans have a habit of under-rating English 10s.

I'm a big Ford fan incidentally, though I know a lot of people (clearly including Borthwick) are not.

I also like Ford and don't understand why he seems under rated by England. He is an excellent tactical thinker and general, also a really good territorial kicker. But, like Crowley, he is a nuts and bolts player whose value is in his brain rather than being most skilful guy on then field. Both are comparable to me, with Ford edging the organisational ability and Crowley a better defender and carrier. Bottom line though is that England, like Ireland, don't have a generational or outstanding candidate at ten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,709 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

You could make a strong argument for Ioane being the best 10 in the country, goal kicking aside. Something the Frawleyinistas seem to overlook when projecting him as a starting 10 next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,327 ✭✭✭TRC10

Was thinking the same thing myself. Ioane is a better 10 than Frawley. Lancaster loves a playmaking 15 so I wouldn’t be surprised if he plays most of his rugby there and also takes the kicking duties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

Did Lancaster on a podcast recently say he saw frawley as a 10? And Frawley said something similar recently too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Maybe but yer man Gilbert was very good at full back and a particularly good goal kicker. Is he staying at Connacht next year?

In the interview I heard, he said something like, Frawley is coming to “add depth to the 10 position”. I don’t think one can extrapolate from that, that he sees Frawley as solely a 10 and won’t be used in other positions, or that Frawley is automatically going to be Connachts starting 10. Maybe he said those things in another interview that I haven’t heard.

Yeah Gilbert is good. Young Naughton looks very handy too. They have Ioane at 10, and Aki and Forde at 12. He’s going to have tough competition to start, be it at 10, 12 or 15.

I haven't said it would be obvious, but I think he would edge it. And it does indeed depend what you want in you 22, but in that regard Crowley is arguably more versatile than Marcus Smith, so I'm not sure that's a point in Smith's favour.

For me, I think Crowley was absolutely excellent against Scotland, and very good against England. The best 10 on the pitch in those 2 games. He was decent/good against Wales, imo, but his place kicking was admittedly an issue.

And, while we can't forgot his kick out on the full in the Italy game, he along with JGP, made game winning cameo's off the bench before that. Some people want to credit JGP exclusively with that but the reality is it was both. (But at least "very good" is an advancement on "pretty good").

For me, while not without the occasional issue, it's the best and most consistent set of games we've had from a 10 since Sexton retired. And I think it'd be enough to claim the Lions 22 jersey.

And fwiw, I haven't said it would be obvious. It could be close, but I think Crowley would get the nod. At a minimum he'd be a strong contender, imo. That's a damn sight more nuanced than claiming he'd be "nowhere near the England 23", imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭ShineyShiney

It's a pretty well planned out backline for next season at Connacht, cover and depth across all positions.

10. Frawley, Ioane, Naughton, Forde and West

11. Mack, Tracey, Ralston, West

12. Aki, Frawley, Forde, Devine, Gavin, Gilbert

13, Forde, West, Devine, Ralston, Gavin

14. Bolton, Jennings, Ralston

15. Gilbert, Frawley, Naughton, Hansen, West

Ioane has been really super all season with ball in hand and defensively while Naughton look really mature and confident, great competition for Frawley he won't have it all his own way. Really looking forward to seeing how West develops at 13, he was excellent there this season and if injuries don't hamper his career he could be a bolter in a different green. I would also suggest that we saw a huge change in how Aki played the last 5/6 games of the season, his main character vibe seemed to be much more in check and he started facilitating those around him to a far greater extent than I had seen previously. A change that could extend his career in both greens.

It's a good depth chart. Fingers crossed for Gavin.

I wonder will we see Hansen a bit more at FB next season? Bolton could also force his way into the Ireland squad at 11.