Worst/Best Radio Ads rerun edition!

1596061626365»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭pjordan

The Bord Gais Theatre ad's tend to be really annoying and also tend to be saturation coverage on whatever show is upcoming. Thankfully Les Mis is running there soon so we won't have to listen to that much longer (Edit: Just heard it again there now and it's actually in the 3 Arena, not the Bord Gais! but my point remains), but Oklahoma is still running and possibly the most irritating of the moment is the "John Cleese's Fawlty Towers show" which, I expect doesn't actually feature John Cleese (Open to correction if I'm wrong!) but does name check two actors I don't know (probably from soaps) as the major and Polly, not exactly prime characters as opposed to Basil and Manuel.

Again, advertisers would say the fact that it has established itself so firmly and irritating in my pyche (like all the others notable for their annoyingness) is proof of it's effectiveness but it would actually put me off even considering attending such a show.

My other bugbear of late is adverts for musicals or music acts, some well past their sell by date (or even a mismash assembly of session musicians/performers trading on a name) which feature original music of the band in their prime (or in the case of a musical, feature clips from the original cast soundtrack). Therefore I think it smacks of false advertising in that the advertised performance is unlikely to sound anything like the music/singing featured in the advert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,155 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Had to look up those actors. She was on Strictly, and yes, he was in soaps - but has been around the musicals world for decades before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭Hippodrome Song Owl

In general the ads for musicals and concerts don't bother me, but "Oh-oo-kla-ho-ooma" really is a pox.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

That GAA minor championship ad is back.. “Being driven to the biggest game of your life… by your mam”. Feck iff. Let the little bollix walk if he’s that much of a knob. “This is major!” No it’s not. Go away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭statto25

Amazon Prime singing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭rino87

Sweet baby jaysus this weekend cant come quick enough til we hear the end of that Zach Bryan ad....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭Murdoc90