FORM FCA1 SUITABLE CHARACTER REFEREES

• 18-06-2026 07:16AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20

hi lads sending in my license application this week, just wondering in regards to suitable character referees, I have read and have been told mixed information, some say no can’t use family members, others say you can.

anyone have solid info or is it just luck of the draw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 274 ✭✭TheEngineer1

You absolutely can use family members (so as long as your family isn't the Kinehans or the Hutches).

In many cases the guards want to know that the family feel safe and comfortable with you having a firearm in the house so having family referees is a good way for them to verify that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭sealgaire

I used close family members, no issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 2=smoking barrels

Defo not the hutches or kinnahans anyway, nearly wish I was mite have few pound then 😂😂

sound lads will give that a try so and sure if the not happy with that I worry bout it then.

Was gonna use my boss but he’s an awkward Pr*ck.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,045 Mod ✭✭✭✭otmmyboy2

Personally I'd never use someone at my workplace, could get a tad messy.

It varies by Garda district regarding relations, originally I was asked to only have people who are no relation to me, then a few years back that changed to one unrelated and one closely related(ie spouse, partner, parent, etc).

Never forget, the end goal is zero firearms of any type.

S.I. No. 187/1972 - Firearms (Temporary Custody) Order - Firearms seized

S.I. No. 21/2008 - Firearms (Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 - Firearm types restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009 - Firearms banned & grandfathered

S.I. No. 420/2019 - Magazine ban, ammo storage & transport restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2023 - 2023 Firearm Ban (retroactive to 8 years prior)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Gorgeousgeorge

Never use anyone you work with. I use my brother and the chairman of the local club.

brilliant lads thanks

So what I’m planning is chairman of local and county club, and also my partner/mother to my kids. Would that be a fair approach?

I have heard multiple different things from people saying no don’t use fam, some even said use your employer, even tho I would have zero concerns about my character at work as it has been next to perfect in every job I have been in, but current employer I’m under is the type to like making everyone’s life difficult so I intend on avoiding the employer option. F that.

another thing I would love you’re advice on is in regards to farmers permission to shot vermin on there land, how does that work exactly and what do I tick?
    I will definitely be 90% shooting clay target, but would like the odd opportunity to head out and take a crack at vermin.

I Have land owners who will defo allow me, just it’s all new to me so would like to be sure.

Thanks lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 113 ✭✭Gman2021

depends on your area, our local sergeant doesn’t have an issue with family. Friend of mine his sergeant won’t let it. I just stick down two farmers I shoot for

cheers, that’s my concern one awkward super or firearm officer and cause a delay,

met personally would like to speak to a family member or a spouse/partner.

On the other hand I can see how some supers/FA may not want family member as some are biased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,452 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

I use my local TDs as references.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

that’s getting very fancy 🥴, I can’t say I be well affiliated with the local tds. So defo can’t use them anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,452 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Scuttlebutt& rumour.So treat as such!

Apprently a well known Irish shooter, after having an audience with the current his Holiness, got a Papal reference as to their good chacter for their application.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "