Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,270 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Typical aircraft has 189 seats, but space needed for Gardai, etc.

Recent deportation flights have had around this number, I believe.

Although I did see a case where the deportees were not ordinary bogus AS, but were EU citizens who were prisoners in jails here. That flight had 34 prisoners on board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭Resplendent Moose

Yes, exactly that. What if there are fewer than 100 people to be deported? Is this an upper aspiration for you, or is it some kind of quota? You might want to think a little about how things would actually work, rather than firing out buzzwords and arbitrary numbers.

A personal invitation to dance, as Nero plays for the last time
    Tonight you will mix with the prophets without honour...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Just two things, quickly, we control visas too, this is not an inevitability either. Student visas particularly seem to be a joke and visas to work in takeaways and centras.

And, I don't believe anything is down to lefty liberals really, they are just useful idiots. If it was in the interests of MM, SH and their cronies to turn off the tap they would, regardless of anyones feelings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

OK but the point made was about cost right? Daily flights (to where?) with 100 failed AS — which seems like a fairly optimistic number to be honest — still requires that money is incurred and someone gets paid for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,936 ✭✭✭enricoh

Poster responds with figures that seem perfectly workable - 100 getting deported and 90 guards, medics etc accompanying them.

Your response - firing out buzzwords.

Do you work in the refugee industry?

No they wouldn't — and this idea that it's just a tap that can be turned on and off is a recurring theme in Right wing discussion which is great at winning votes but not so great at achieving sustainable policy. If this is the belief you are basing your views on, then (in my own humble opinion) you are going to spend the rest of your life being let down.

The post comes across as having a desire to seem tough and hardline, but without actually thinking things through. Hence my dismissal of it as something of an arse-pull.

I am suggesting that we actually remove the 80% of AS that are bogus.

I am suggesting to massively speed up processing, towards the 24hrs that Switz achieves for four countries.

Even getting towards the 12 weeks in the new EU scheme would help, as we are at 68-81 weeks now.

I am suggesting that we should not award leave-to-remain.

Given 30,000 applicants in the system now, we need to remove thousands.

That means we should probably acquire an aircraft. I am assuming here that owning an aircraft would be cheaper, if doing daily flights.

Removing the existing stock of 30,000 would take hundreds of flights, that's why we need daily flights.

Also bear in mind the inflows of 200-250 per week, of which 80% are bogus.

So just to match the inflow, we need to remove 200 per week (not including dealing with existing stock).

Could we aim for removal by +7 days from arrival? And would that in itself reduce the flow of bogus AS? Hopefully.

The overall objective is to reduce costs on taxpayers, down from €122,000 per claim.

To where?

USA

Albania

Georgia

India

South Africa

etc.

back to the origin of the bogus AS.

And where does the "80% are bogus" claim come from? Another arse-pull? Another Gript/Youth Defence article? Can this claim be defended?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭plodder

Why can't the tap be turned on and off as needed? Could it be turned down 50% even?

I'm not so sure it's a great vote winner either, because it's never been tried afaict.

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,792 ✭✭✭creedp

Arse-pull being today’s selected see no evil, hear no evil evil immigration bullshit bingo favourite.

The problem with the there’s no other way but accept everyone crying asylum is that it’s a classic of shove the head up the proverbial and pray everything will be beautiful in the world… if only we could get dissenters to stfu for a few years yet it’ll be grand.

Rather than constantly blather with stupid retorts maybe actually be prepared to have an open discussion around what level of immigration is sustainable long term and at what point immigration numbers will put an unacceptable strain on the capacity of the taxpayer to support it.

In the real world there is no bottomless pit that can be relied on by the hear no evil, see no evil people to protect their open borders above all else ideology. Of course I accept people need to engage in a real world context and not standing on the soap box in TCD

The answer to your question is hinted in the second line of your post. The fact that it has never been done / tried tells you something about the difficulty of the nature of doing it. With all the best intentions in the world, and even with all the democratic mandate, the longevity and sustainability of any truly radical policy to drive down IPA numbers relies heavily on luck (ie, no wars or other disaster break out), geography, the co-operation of other countries perpetually and without any disruption to that co-operation, and somehow creating a situation where other countries will accept our stance that they should get more IPAs than us forevermore.

You can toy around with policies — do a little Switzerland here, do a little Denmark there — but ultimately an all-out cessation (or close to that) involves the alignment of other factors that in many cases we have little control over.

I see the old switcheroo going on here. The post you replied to was about visas, ie legal immigration, not IP. So, why can't we turn off the legal immigration tap, was the question I was asking, or why can't it be reduced by 50% for some period of years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Choochtown

So you've got your state aircraft loaded with 100 asylum seekers and 89 Irish citizens (Gardai, medical staff etc).

What happens now?

"Hello is that the President of Afghanistan? We'd like permission to fly into your airspace and land to deposit 100 people. Names? Eh ... I'm not sure, as they've no identifying papers. In fact some of them are claiming not to be from your country at all but … hello, hello are you still there?"

He said last year 14,000 applications were processed and over 65% were rejected in the first instance. He added that, in January, over 80% of applications were rejected at the first instance decision.

You do understand that this is not the same thing as making a flat "80% are bogus" claim?

At this stage you should also be giving some serious thought as to how 4900 accepted applications squares with the typical far-right claim of huge numbers.

Well, the irony in my view has always been that the Right tends to favour economic policies that make migration inevitable. That stems of course from the traditionally Right-leaning ideology of free market capitalism (i.e. capital, goods, and services should move freely across borders in search of their most efficient use). With that, you get the movement of labour. The very things which uphold the capitalist system have become part of the bedrock of modern migration, aided hugely by technological developments in communication and long distance travel.

One thing the Right has been hugely successful in is hooking anti-migration sentiment on security / cultural concerns but carefully avoiding any examination of this ideological economic contradiction. And the evidence of the contradiction is all around us. Brexit saw a decline in EU migration to the UK which was then simply replaced by non-EU migration, Meloni in Italy had to row back on her policies, Trump's policies do not look built to last - because all of their policies clash with how their economies work.

To answer your question then, "turning the tap off" requires fundamental adjustments in our economic model that would require us to almost entirely home-grow our labour force in such a way that maintains our economy and which somehow prevents or offsets the loss of labour to emigration. You then have the "problem" of democracy, where frustration with those adjustments can end up with reversals of those policies by a new incoming government.

Who are you referring to here? Who is refusing to have an open discussion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭slay55

what a racist - he can’t say that

say it loud say it clear , refugees are welcome here !!

89 staff is too many, we are trying to reduce costs on taxpayers.

Fly to USA, Albania, Georgia, etc.

Land.

100 AS walk down steps off aircraft.

Depart.

Will it ever end?

https://x.com/courtsnewsIRL/status/2066946138524070143

https://x.com/courtsnewsIRL/status/2066846556859301912

A Ghanian man who raped an intoxicated woman he approached at a nightclub has been jailed for six and a half years.

Arthur Bradford (37), who is now subject to a deportation order, was convicted by a Central Criminal Court jury last month of raping the woman in Dublin on February 8, 2022. He has 21 previous convictions.

Under my policies, he would have spent a max of seven days here, so these 21 crimes would not have happened.

Refugees are welcome in every country that implements the refugee convention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,037 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Regardless of any irony, it's basically a year since Dan O'Brien posted this. The housing crisis cannot be solved if the state issues more work permits and visas than it can build houses. I'm not saying end all work permits. I'm saying demonstrate that they have some control over the system and can increase or decrease the numbers of permits issued as needs change.

I just can't fathom the idea that you could argue against this principle. Obviously, it needs finer tuning. There might be a greater need in some sectors than others etc and a need in some (like healthcare) when the quota for other sectors is reduced.

Incidentally, the topic was discussed on Brendan O'Connor's newspaper panel last Sunday. Cormac Lucey tried to make basically the same point as above, and there was some amount of disapproving clucking and hot air from (some of) the other panelists. Even Brendan O'Connor had to step in at one point and suggest that the responses wouldn't quite satisfy people with genuine concerns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭_Quilombero_

Yep but ironically they're building a mega IPAS centre in place of a much needed major prison at Thornton Hall.

The government has no interest in restricting movement. Citywest could have been a detention centre but this aspect of the EU Migration Pact is not being implemented in Ireland. Saggart village is seeing some serious anti-social and criminal behaviour as a result of this soft-touch approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Choochtown

But seriously, in the real world how do you return asylum seekers?

I'm assuming you're old enough to realise that you can't just fly and land a plane wherever you want?

Here is another one.

I thought nearly 50% profit margin was high!!

Trabolgan makes 58% net profit margins.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/business/companies/arid-41762753.html

Pre-tax profits at the Cork based company that operates Trabolgan Holiday Village last year increased 12% to €8.4m on the back of record revenues.

Trabolgan Holiday Centre Ltd enjoyed best ever revenues of €14.41m in the 12 months to the end of December 26th last. Revenues increased by 11% from €12.59m to €14.4m on the back of the firm providing accommodation to Ukrainians.

The pre-tax profits of €8.4m last year follow pre-tax profits of €7.49m in 2023. The company recorded post tax profits of €7.33m after incurring a corporation tax charge of €1.06m.

Why bother with innovation, research, developing a new idea? Why bother taking risk?

Just sign a contract with some of the weakest, stupidest civil servants in the world, who overpay for everything, and earn 58% net (not gross) margin by selling beds and food.

If you wonder why there is so much wealth in the country, think of the billions transferred from workers pockets over the last two decades to pay for this.

And worse, it's cheered on by left-wing parties!!!

The Dutch pay €13.50 to accomodate an AS per night, we spend €99.

Post edited by Geuze on

How do you get the tweet to appear large in the middle, as distinct from just a URL?