The split season

167891012»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Personally, I think the split season solved a genuine problem, but it may have over-corrected. The old system was unfair to club players, yet the current calendar can make the inter-county season feel rushed. If there were a way to preserve fixture certainty for clubs while extending the inter-county championships by a few weeks into late July or early August, that might strike a better balance.

A lot of supporters seem to share this view: they appreciate the fairness and clarity for clubs but miss having major championship days throughout the height of the Irish summer. The atmosphere of a packed Croke Park in August is something many people feel has been lost a little under the current arrangement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Pre or post split season the Leinster hurling round robin for example would be 5 games over 6 weeks, it's just 3 or 4 weeks earlier with the April club month gone. Intercounty hurling isn't any more rushed now than it was in 2018&19 the pre covid runs of the round robin, the answer was given categorically at Congress on extending the intercounty season, basically in counties where there are a high portion of dual club players it could be a disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭almostover

Read my post properly, I play junior B now. That specific delay incident was in relation to Junior A club championship, which at the time in Cork was a big deal. The year was 2013. Many club's first team at the time were Junior A as there were only 3 grades. Hence why a county player held up the championship.

What difference does it make to the atmosphere if Croke Park is packed in July or in August? What's so special about August vs. July?

No different obviously but I meant I just think it’s all over too early in the summer was my point, it’s just my opinion. One thing I’ve noticed in these discussions is some people assume any criticism of the split season is a desire to return to the chaos of the old days which is not the case. As a former player I know what fixture uncertainty feels like but I also understand the cultural importance of the championship season to some people. Thats a more nuanced position than either extreme.

These forums can sometimes push people into camps …. Pro club versus pro county , where as in reality most lifelong Gaa people are both . Of course they want club players treated fairly but they also want the intercounty championship to remain a major summer event. I understand it’s difficult but those goals don’t necessarily have to be mutually exclusive.

I get you, there is a tradionalism and nostalgia about playing the finals in August / September. But the championship structure at IC level is very different now with far more games being played. It would be workable to move the finals back to Aug / Sep but it would also probably mean a return to straight knockout competitions and the 4 provinical winners going into the AI semi finals. And maybe the 2 provincial finalists going to the semis for the hurling.

We can't have it all and the split season appears to be the best compromise we have come up with so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,634 ✭✭✭Gael85

Martin Breheny and Colm Keys. The Independent makes very little effort with coverage of club game. Wouldn't be fan of John Fogarty but at least the Examiner gives excellent coverage of the club championships.

Regarding pundits Donal Og Cusack and Pat Spillane are constantly speaking out about the split season. Spillane has weekly article on the cons of current format. He laughingly once suggested splitting football and hurling championships and play inter county football and hurling club championship for first 6 months of year and inter county hurling and club football for second half of year. What about duals counties?

Yeah it’s definitely a difficult one to make everyone happy. I’m just saying I can see both sides of the argument and plenty of people fall somewhere in between . A person can have played club hurling or football , understand the frustrations of fixture uncertainty and still feel that the current championship structure has lost something .

I suppose the key question for some isn’t whether club players deserve certainty… of course they do. The question is whether the current version of the split season is the only way to achieve that certainty.

You can acknowledge the benefits… club championship is more predictable, club players aren’t left waiting months for fixtures, County boards can plan more effectively…. etc … and still argue that ….. the intercounty season is too compressed, championship can feel over before summer has really begun or that the GAA’s biggest showcase games no longer occupy the traditional summer sporting calendar.

Like I said, I don’t have the answers but those positions aren’t contradictory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Fair enough. but junior b ,with respect is not taken as seriously as junior intermediate or senior. Its a good way of blooding younger players coming up from minor, or lads not quite good enough for the first team.

But its not seen as a win at all costs competition.

Pat spillane and donal og are very much involved in the club scene. Im surprised you don't know that.

Brehony and Curtis i don't know, but probably not.

That poster has admitted himself he has little interest in gaa at all, club or county. Just brings his kids to the field and watches an odd game on TV. I wouldn't even call him/her a fan at all.

That's like me saying im a horse racing fan cos I watch Cheltenham every march and maybe the grand national.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Spillane's suggestion which he's threw out more than once of running intercounty hurling alongside club football and vice versa shows he hasn't a clue on the dynamics of running a GAA calendar. Donal Og wants a drawn out intercounty season for his own interests as a pundit on RTE.

Very sensible and well made arguments Charlie . You're right, some people just think any criticism of the split season means you're anti club or have never been at a club game ever. Its not about taking sides .

Most people are nor asking for all Irelands to go back to September, that's not going to happen. Just a way of giving a bit more leeway to stretch the championship by a few weeks and having teams playing 3 weeks in a row.

Games behind paywalls are counter productive also. Kerry Armagh, probably the biggest game of the year so far on gaa go while tailteann cup on rte is bananas stuff . That kind of stuff doesn't do anything for promotion of hurling or football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭Uncle Pierre

Just to return to this after a couple of days away.

I entered this discussion last week in direct response to a poster who worried "you're going to see a big fall off of interest with the casual GAA fan" if the current split season calendar remains in place. My point remains that I wouldn't go changing things for the sake of such people when there are many other far more important stakeholders instead.

Since then, the discussion has gradually morphed into whether or not the inter-county portion of the split season could be extended somewhat. That's a whole other matter. My view that the split season shouldn't be abandoned for the sake of the 'casual fan' doesn't imply that I wouldn't be open to exploring the possibility of if the split season could be tweaked somehow.

Finally, and this is possibly somewhat flippant, but it occurs to me it could be argued that the current split season calendar is actually for the benefit of the 'casual fan', by having all the biggest games of the year (All-Ireland semi-finals and finals in both codes) during July.

If a 'casual fan' sits down in front of the TV some Sunday in July and starts browsing through channels, they'll land upon the hurling or football and likely stay there, because there's little else on.

But if they sit down from about middle of August onwards, they could land upon something like Liverpool v Arsenal or Manchester United v Chelsea, and choose to watch that instead….