Tesla Talk 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭John arse

No that's wrong,a Tesla robot will get it done!🤖

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 6,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭liamog

The middle aged man remains stuck in his vehicle

Man > Grok, unlock the doors I need to get out and sort out this situation
    Car > I'm sorry Dave, I can't do that

The screen switches to sentry mode, your compliance will be recorded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭evftw

I reckon FSD remembers past recent safe places to pull into. I have seen videos online where the FSD car has reversed to unfuse a sticky situation.

What a great system all the same,much safer - real progress being made!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭jlang

For the country lane situation, I don't really have a problem with the car pulling over as safely as possible and communicating the equivalent of "Beyond my pay grade. I've got us into this pickle and you'll have to compose yourself and then drive manually or coordinate to get us on the way. I'll stand by ready to take over again." Basically this is what a learner driver might do in the situation. I accept this couldn't be acceptable for a robotaxi implementation, but I think OK for a super high end driver aid. (The robotaxi would step up to needing a bat signal to a remote control driver in a call centre.)

It's the thought of the car's self driving possibly giving up while at speed that has me more worried, with mention of the "driver" needing to always be alert and ready to take over at a moment's notice. What's the point? That and stories from the US of Teslas crashing on the freeway with the FSD having been disabled seconds before the collision, so the stats show the driver was technically in control at the time of the accident. Not judging whether these are true stories - just that they do scare me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Morpork

Regarding FSD, blind junctions and convex mirrors. Are there any countries where FSD is activated that has a lot of blind junctions and convex mirrors?

I live in Japan an in sub-urban areas convex mirrors are everywhere and I'm wondering how FSD would handle them.
    Here's a random example:

https://maps.app.goo.gl/WaqdWeqjzuqyCGfU9

The red sign (止まれ) is a stop sign and the junction is completely blind to traffic on both sides due to the high wall on the right and the angle of the road on the left along with the house. The mirrors are on the opposite side of the junction. In this example how would FSD cope? I'd assume it will edge forward until the front camera can see past the wall to the right, and then the left-side B pillar camera would look left? But by then if there was a car coming I feel like it would be too late. Unless FSD can see traffic in the mirrors I'm worried it will take a long time to be approved here and if it does, how useful will it be in these areas.

Incidentally, there was a job posting a couple of days ago for an FSD test driver in my prefecture:

https://www.daijob.com/jobs/detail/1530065

The job responsibilities look fine, but the applicant requirements are so crazy I'm wondering if it's a mistake. It's asking for 6+ years in the power or energy industry, have business development experience and be fluent in English and Japanese.

I think I'm actually going to apply for the job and see what happens!

There's nothing on that Standard that I would miss, actually prefer the seats over the leather, there's the front camera as well and of course the infamous indicator stalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,823 ✭✭✭✭893bet

My young lad will miss the screen on the back. But in a few years he will have his own device and that will be a non issue. The saving in Ireland is pretty poor though. Bit I guess given inflation this weather not increasing is a price reduction.

I will prob trade my highland in 18 months. There will be 150k on it at 3 years old: will be interesting to see value. Will it still be worth 20k?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,616 ✭✭✭wassie

Can always get an aftermarket screen for a couple hundred quid. Its effectively and Android screen - never as good as OEM but its still very functional and not hard to fit if you are comfortable pulling a couple of panels off. Its plug and play - but there is a few cables to plug into underneath the vents. I've put one in my 202 M3.

I purchased off this store - they are Irish based also and were great to deal with also and would happily recommend them.

Post edited by wassie on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,069 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

A very good reason to get the standard is for the seats - they are excellent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,573 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

Had a lovely day out at the beach ruined to come back to a scrap on my right rear corner. Obviously someone reversing in or out of the spot beside me.

Had sentry on and it recorded 25 events. All just people walking past. No recording of the car hitting me.

Mad that it records a person 6 feet away but not a car 0 feet away.

No major damage but it comes just a week after the wife's front left side was badly scraped in a car park situation.

No note, just drove off.

Absolute ballache.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭boosabum

That particular model may not be but contact them - lads are sound enough. If not there are plenty of alternatives available. Other Telsa UK forums are generally your best best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭Guy1ncognito

I have a question about used model 3s. Units advertised on the Tesla website for under 30k, are they to be stirred clear of. What condition would they be in?

https://www.tesla.com/en_IE/inventory/used/m3?PaymentType=cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭JOL1

Buying used from Tesla usually carries an additional 1 year manufacturer warranty which has a value.

But also be aware that buying a new Mod 3 may not be the biggest stretch as currently if you are trading in you get a 2K trade in bonus or subsidised finance 0.99% APR which is worth throusands. They are also the refreshed model 3 which are likely to hold value much better. Make sure you do the numbers (particularly if availing of finance)

Tesla only directly resell good examples as CPO sales, so have no fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭Vudgie

Have people here fitted screen protectors on their Teslas. I see mixed reports that they can reduce the sensitivety of the screen as theyre generally matte finish. Spigen seems to be the one that people reccommend most.

Had one for 5 years not a bother. But only got it to reduce glare on my cross country motorway commutes when the sun is reflecting off my screen. Cant say its been much use this month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,108 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

Spigen is what I have on my MYJ, but I had some other brand on my M3. No sensitivity issues, but there is glare from the sun.

Considering one of those adjustable mounts, but not sure because I have installed a cubby that’s handy and sits behind the lower part of the screen.

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Foreign Sports

I have a Spigen (matte finish) no issues at all.

Takes the glare out of the screen without losing clarity or touch sensitivity.

Would recommend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭Vudgie

Thanks guys, I think I will get one.

So just a generic note: My former and current Tesla never had any random error messages with exception to the when there was an actual fault with charging port wiring loom on my Model 3 when it was just under 4 years old. The user experience is just perfect and the car is well rounded and integrates well with the charging networks when you are on the move around Europe and feels like a total mature product like a modern mobile phone. That previous car never showed any signs of wear and tear apart from the steering wheel cover and the rest still looked and felt brand new both inside and out after 100k.

When you hear a VW owner comparing their day to day life like the pioneering days of ICE in 1920's with random breakdowns and generic error messages even when the car apparently works normally you just have to give the credit where the credit is due. There is a stark contrast with what the media says about the quality issues of Tesla vs. the actual user experience.

It's mad how the EV forums are full of threads where potential car purchases are discussed and "I have no interest in Tesla" usually is mentioned at some stage. "I'm ready to move to an EV but it can be any other sbox as long as it's not Tesla". And then almost in the same thread a workaround for some basic issues are discussed which just work with Tesla and the Superchargers.

If you don't mind the somewhat bland looks and like good value for money and a reliable and well designed cars with great performance I can't see any reason not to at least go for a test drive.

100%. Tesla is (still) the front-runner for a pefectly balanced user-oriented ecosystem, where the car, the software, and the infrastructure are perfectly aligned.

Happy to say, values holding up really well also - but hardly surprising I suppose.

It very much depends what model you bought and when. I got bitten quite hard by buying my former car back in 2021 when the prices were almost at their peak. The only saving grace was that I got the full VRT and grant which still applied at the time of my purchase. A few unlucky buyers may have paid additional 6k on top of the 58k I paid at the time.

When selling, the Irish market didn't seem to care that the Model 3 LR AWD was a very different animal from the identical looking SR+ that has dramatically less range and performance. And both of them are, in the end, a 211 reg white Model 3 and that is what matters in the market. I hope the current owner is enjoying the amazing deal they got when buying it 8 months ago. I also reckon it's now in 2026 worth a few thousands of more than when I sold it so totally depreciation free driving with another 90k+ of Tesla's excellent drivetrain warranty left when sold until 2029.

If you bought a 3 premium LFP late last year for about 38k, congratulations, you'll get to enjoy a very low depreciation over the next few years. Same with the current Standard models of both 3 and Y. For me, this time, the plan is to hold on the Y for a very long time and drive (and hopefully let it drive itself) to the ground. Will it reach 500k under my ownership remains to be seen and with what repairs? But I have a full confidence it will be with minimum headaches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

27649.jpg

Scrape on the corner you say.

Me..."hold my beer"

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,580 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Shite!

Please say they stopped or you have their details….

Old lady in a Merc pulled out of a junction and hit a fiat 500 who used my car as her personal stopper!!

Old lady admitted all responsibility at the scene to the Garda. Car was parked up and I was at work!!

Ah shite.

You were hoping to sell it prior to this too?

Yep. Praying that the insurance tell me it's a write off. Would suit me better.