Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,635 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I would give Andy a little bit of a pass on that, young lads need to be minded a bit as well between Seigerson, U20 etc. He got there in the end.

Kobe has gotten much of the attention but I was most impressed with Beirne yesterday, love seeing a forward wanting to get on the ball and take responsibility. All at just 19, let's hope we don't beat that out of him. He showed great skill and leadership yesterday.

My expectations for this year are low, I thought yesterday was a decent performance. Plenty to pick away at, but I do think the key points were not going for that goal to win it and the poor shooter selection at the end. That confidence / lack of killer instinct / inability to put away a match at key times, has been an issue for a long long time.

The shooter selection is the big thing that I would be critical of Andy for. Those type of scenarios should be played out in training. You just have to have one of your shooters on the end of that move, there is no excuse for not having that play played out.

(The were plenty of other issues but those were the main 2. Followed closely by RO'D giving the ball away carelessly at key moments, AO'S bringing the ball into contact needlessly, letting McCurry have a field day).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

Because there has been a bit of discussion about the home record for Mayo over the last few weeks here I decided to look at it.

First off this is championship only.

Secondly, what is the time frame?

You could start anywhere just to prove the point you want to prove.

I decided to start at 2011 the year of fresh young management and Mayo really becoming competitive.

Their record is 14 and 11 in that period, which is 58.3%

I don't think that's great to be honest, you don't have much home advantage if you are only winning just over 50% of the games.

If you take a more recent sample e.g since the 2021 disaster, the record 4 and 6, which is a shocking 40%

But then again if you expand it out to 2001 when there was the first major structural change in the Championship it's 22 and 13, which is a 62.8% success rate.

So in the near term they are poor at home, in the medium term they are ok, and in the long term they are better.

And since we live in the present I think it's fair to say playing in Castlebar is far from a guaranteed advantage for Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭The Supporter

Lack of composure cost us yesterday. Jordan had two goal chances and Sam should have passed to Tommy, this problem has to dealt with. We have a chance against Meath but we have to be at our best form to beat them. Rod given the ball away with bad hand passes has to dealt with also. Meath have a very good Manager in Robbie Brennan, remember Meath knocked Galway out of the Championship last year in Croker. Jack Coyne being Captain is not working. Meath got promoted from Division two,won seven games,lost to Cork away, they beat Tyrone and Louth,they wont be easy. Cassidy yesterday ran riot in first half,McCurry in second half not dealt with by management which is a big worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,188 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

The near term form is far more instructive. I wouldn't see much point in going back to the early 2000s to be honest.

Last season we had that shocking performance at home to Cavan, which deservedly saw us beaten. We also just scraped past Sligo at home in the Connaught championship and didn't play well that day either.

And Roscommon ran riot against us in Castlebar this year.

It wouldn't appear to be an advantage of any kind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Euphoriasean

3 points from frees out of the 1-18 and I don't believe we missed any either. Tyrone had 5 points from frees including the last 2 pointer but missed a few also. Although, I can't remember any scorable frees that the ref missed for us, and with only 6 wides, it shows how economical we were. On the other hand, I did think Tyrone got a couple of soft scorable frees including the last one. Could have, and probably should have, added another goal which would have got us over the line.

Is 6 blocked attempts right? I knew it was at least 3 or 4 but 6 is a mad stat. There was also a couple of crazy turnovers yesterday, particularly from Ryan.

Full forward line managed 1-7 from play with limited ball and still have more potential there. Its just such a pity they won't get another year together. The 2-pointer threat just wasn't there at all. Hession controlled play for us and also had that attacking edge adding the couple of scores. Livingstone was excellent, I thought. Midfield did ok, Tyrone definitely edged it but we weren't cleaned by any means. Bar McCurry, I thought we defended quite well.

Yeah there were a couple of of poor calls from the sideline, but like another poster said, he seems to learn from his mistakes. Overall, far more positives that negatives compared to where we were last year.

A good draw but Meath will be saying the same. Glad to get home advantage, but in my opinion this should be in a neutral venue, as neither team have earned the advantage of playing at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

When talking about our home record I do think you need to separate Galway/Roscommon from other sides. Galway and Roscommon know MacHale park inside out between senior and underage games.

I think we played Meath at home behind closed doors in the 2021 league.. but not in ages apart from that.

There's no doubt in my mind we'd rather play them at home than travelling away two weeks in a row.

When talking about our home record I do think you need to separate Galway/Roscommon from other sides. Galway and Roscommon know MacHale park inside out between senior and underage games.

But that's where it gets confusing and people can start to cherry pick stats that suit a narrative.

There is no right or wrong answer here, but I think the team would be happier with a home game.

Saturday at 6pm according to John Fogarty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭eastie17

midfield looked worse because we actually broke 3 or 4 of their kickouts but broke them straight to a Tyrone player. But it was a lot better than other games so far and Tyrone midfield is pretty good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Pat734

Played them a few weeks ago in a good competitive match, we were well beaten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Round tower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭HBC08

None of the current Meath team have ever played a game at MacHale Park at any level.

Id say most of them have never even been in the stadium.

This is an advantage.

Off the top of my head we bet Fermanagh,Kildare,Derry and Donegal in knockout games in MacHale park.

Im open to correction here but thats everybody weve ever played in that format.

Mayo have never lost a knock out All Ireland championship game at home (unless you count the drawn game than was decided on penalties against Derry in 2024)

Edit,

Red Devil is correct,played Meath behind closed doors in May 2021 at MacHale park and won handy enough by 8 points.

Not in MacHale park though which was the point I was making..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Boyles have us as 4/6 favourites which is about right I'd say - I'd slightly favour us but wouldn't be surprised with a Meath win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Westernview

Based on incremental improvements in recent games I slightly fancy Mayo as well. But Meath are hard to quantify.

To win on Saturday our energy levels will have to be top notch (workrate) and be composed, complacency in McHale Park has been our achillies heel down the years,surely it will not be a factor on Saturday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭snowgal

hey all, any advice/tips for saturday game for us meath folk?! Hoping to get down early and get in to a pub early enough to see the Kerry Armagh game before hand, somewhere close enough if thats possible? Also whats general traffic like after game in Castlebar, is it tough to get out of? thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,557 ✭✭✭naughto

Th clubhouse is the closest has a full bar,Hogs is very close aswell 2min walk to the pitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭MacDanger

I'm not from Castlebar but Mick Byrne's or Johnny Mchale's might be the best GAA pubs I'd say - the walk to the pitch could be a bit on the long side though. The Mitchells clubhouse is closest or the Hogs Heaven next closest

It should be fairly easy to get out of Castlebar once you're parked on the Dublin side - if possible, we'll have ye hammered with 10 to go so you can get on the road in good time 😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,024 ✭✭✭✭irishgeo

Traffic is not bad. Just ensure you don't have a right hand turn to make.Plenty of exits to the dual carriageway way. If you want grub the barrel and castle is a good shout and then head out to hogs or the club house at half time in the Armagh game.

Ground is no more than 15-20min walk from town.

Mick Byrnes is the best football pub in Town.

So if you want a bit of craic and football talk thats the place to go.Its on main street so about 15 min walk to stadium.

If i was you Id go to Hogs Heaven (arcross the road from the ground) They will have seats outside if the weather is good,will be a great atmosphere there or at the clubhouse overlooking the stadium.

All 3 places will be showing Kerry v Armagh.

Traffic can be tricky if youre in the wrong spot.Just make sure youre pointed the right direction for the N5 and youll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭snowgal

cheers all, esp for note on facing right way outta town! I love the local insider knowledge before a game. But sorry macdanger, we do not plan on leaving early at all at all 😅😜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,008 ✭✭✭✭kippy

The reason you bring on lads like O Shea is their experience in those types of situations.

Situational football is about decision making.

O Shea gave away a sloppy and needless free for the 2 pointer (which in fairness was some score) but nonetheless it was him who gave it away.

While it was him who got the ball (and you suggest it was someone else who should have been there) it was up to O Shea to make the decision to recycle/pass or take the shot on, ultimately it was him who decided what to do. Two very very poor decisions to close out a match.

The earlier goal opportunity was also a questionable decision but the goal wouldn't have been needed had OShea himself made two better decisions.

He's been agreat servant and in fairness against weaker opposition can do a job but in this game and the one against Monaghan, I'd argue he hasn't shown great decision making that you'd expect from a player with his experience and if he isn't making great decisions you need to ask yourself why have him on the panel.

It wasn't the only batch of poor decisions but they were the most obvious.

Meath at home isn't going to be easy and if we keep making poor decisions we will be going out.

That said I generally think it's been a positive year so far. Some good young lads coming through - hopefully there are more in the pipeline.

Not convinced about Andy but first year in the gig so will give him a pass on that.

If you are looking for a nice place to eat between town and MacHale park I recommend Kennedys.

https://maps.app.goo.gl/Y4fgaWG5MEZaFCsDA

Alternatively Mulroys have a good deli and seated area nearer the pitch.

https://maps.app.goo.gl/GYxD2YgpMckCSEMf8

Try Ray Prendergast's on Castle Street.

Again about 15 minutes from the ground and in this posters opinion a more authentic football pub than the one on Main Street mentioned a few posts back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭muddle84

I'm sick talking about O'Shea, his time has come. A great servant and all that, but i don't understand how he is still getting game time!

I'm not sure on Andy yet, I like how he has course corrected with Livingston in the last 2 games. I'm hopeful we will have a good game on Saturday and we make better decisions off the bench.

What changes if any should happen for Saturday? Id probably go with the following even though I dont see them making these changes as it leaves the bench weak.

1. Livingstone

2. Coyne/F Kelly

3. McHugh

4. McGreal

5. Paddy D

6. McBrien

7. Hession

8. Coen

9. Carney

10. Jordan

11. Loftus

12. Kobe

13. Beirne

14. ROD

15. McHale

Hession back in HB line. Coyne lucky to start but with McGreal and Paddy D back we may have enough.

An all Crossmolina HF line might combine well even though Jordan and Loftus didnt set the world alight last day. Kobe was starved of possession in Omagh so he should come out and get on the ball more.

If McHale isnt injured surely he's worth a shot if he gets early ball?

Proper Mental Preparation is key to success against Meath, belief has to be restored and a lot work needs to be done on improving composure, Meath will present a big challenge,we have to be ready for that challenge.

Team and panel named

https://www.mft.ie/panel-named-for-meath-game/#comment-542196

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,557 ✭✭✭naughto

Jack Livingstone (Breaffy); Jack Coyne (Ballyhaunis, captain), Donnacha
    McHugh (Castlebar Mitchels), Eoin McGreal (Garrymore); Sam Callinan

(Ballina Stephenites), David McBrien (Ballaghaderreen), Enda Hession
    (Garrymore); Jordan Flynn (Crossmolina Deel Rovers), Jack Carney
    (Kilmeena); Paddy Durcan (Castlebar

Mitchels), Conor Loftus (Crossmolina
    Deel Rovers), Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore); Darragh Beirne