Dublin GAA Discussion Thread: Mod Note - No 'Dublin Dominance' chat allowed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Am glad I don't have the long drive up to Donegal and then after proberly getting beaten the trek back .I don't think PP is suitable ,its not great for children when its full and a lot of fans that went yesterday won't get a ticket .Donegal favs on form but lets see how it plays out .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,126 ✭✭✭Trampas

He and murch were on ball retrieval duties yesterday behind the goal. He was even wearing a body warmer. Not like you needed one yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,433 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I was thinking what annoys me with this side?

1. Compete lack of movement - players very static they are reactive rather than proactive
    2. Lack of fight determination - any bit of proper pressure a side puts on them the team invariably fold (Poor O'Sullivan was the worst of it v Louth in CP - that type of thing scars a fella for life)
    3. The slow style of play - every other fecking side in the country has embraced the new rules, high energy, or going for two pointers from distance. What do Dublin do ?Slow it right down! To the extent in Cavan they were so afraid of missing scores worked it right into the opposition goal. I think it was five fisted points Dublin scored, five! That's not something to crow about, it is something to be worried about. For better sides that is very easy to play against.
    4. The goalkeeper issue / kickouts - has been a complete disaster probably the worst team in the country at it
    5. Lack of two point shooters - again probably the lowest attempts in the country nevermind actual 2 pt scores

So not only do we have to put up with watching a limited side, it is not even entertaining. It is the worst of both worlds. I would prefer to see lads play in a style with a bit of energy and "go" in them. The fact Dublin have resorted to this "safety first style" simply means the management do not trust the players at all. Basically the side is designed to try and avoid getting a hiding. I have got more and more annoyed after each match this year, that is not a good sign.

You would think there would be some positives? No not really maybe the POCB has stepped up, Kennedy has looked decent. McGinnis had done OK. Costello always looks a goal threat. Bugler /Scully inconsistent. Howard can go missing entirely in matches. Dublin very Con dependent, when he gets on the ball you can immediately see the difference in awareness to the rest of his team mates, two .three steps ahead when he gets the ball.

Most of the auld guard need to be got rid of, big clear out needed. Need to pick players with energy and a fearless mentality nevermind the skill levels. Those fancy players are just no there at the moment to play the slow methodical stuff.

I asked an auld Vinnies fella up in Cavan was this Dublin panel worst than between 63-74? Without hesitation he said this is the worst he has seen. He would have been of the era of Brian Mullins etc.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭Gael85

Bugler was injured. Looked to be carrying injury in Louth game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭VONSHIRACH

We were sitting near the dugout. Bugler has an injury. He wasn’t togged out and was helping out etc. He was chatting to one of the backroom team on the sideline before the game and took off sandal/sock and showed her his foot, looked like his instep maybe. Forget whether it was his left or right one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭diceyreilly

confirmed by Tommy Rooney its croker. Serious let down. Would love to know who’s decision it was.

Literally would rather travel to ballybofey.

Not going. Stupid time too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

I’m gonna be away, glad cause think that’s a kick in the face decision.

• Subscribers Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

1.15 on a Sunday is a bit of a kick in the teeth alright, crazy having the 4 games , the semi finals of the ‘big second comp’ and the hurling 1/4s on same bloody weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭mobby

Crazy time how did anyone agree on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭Gael85

Madness considering there is a round of junior and minor games fixed for 11am Sunday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,450 ✭✭✭Jizique

nobody from Donegal did anyway, five hour drive for most of their fans so spare me the complaints from all the Dubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

Spare me your complaints.How about we play Donegal away for one match and McGuinness misses the next 12 weeks for the same thing our manager got hung out for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,761 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

The players just aren't coming through at underage level. GAA is competing with Rugby and soccer and the prospect of playing in a professional sport outweighs GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,771 ✭✭✭dobman88

It was never realistically going to be in PP. It's a nice sound piece by Ger to get the back up a bit and try to create a siege mentality but PP would hardly cater for Dublins own season ticket holders and parnell pass holders let alone any other supporters who want to go. And there's away support to consider too.

I heard there’s under 6000 tickets and you can only miss one game in champo to be guaranteed a ticket , it’s not in Croke park to cater for season ticket holders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,450 ✭✭✭Jizique

If it was played in Donegal there would be around 500 Dubs there, massive advantage to be playing at home in Croker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,771 ✭✭✭dobman88

Not feasible to have it in PP with just a 7300 capacity? There will easily be double that at the match at least.

Ill be using my opt out for this weekend I think. I had to buy a ticket for our game in Newbridge on Saturday despite not being able to make it and I've been thwarted again by a Saturday throw in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭MFPM

Croke Park will suit Donegal but Dublin haven't played in Parnell Park in years so not exactly overly familiar with it anyway, not sure how much of a benefit it would have been. Dublin couldn't do a Newbridge or no where because CP has been their effective home for a decade and a half.

Hopefully Dublin can muster a performance and pull off a victory but I'm not optimistic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Donegal crowd will likely be down ,very early start and will be expecting to play a week later which is likely .Reckon most of the Donegal crowd will be living around Dublin so not too bad .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭mobby

Pull in the horns there lad. Somebody from both Donegal and Dublin would have to agree on that time otherwise we would have heard. Jez ye Donegal lot are something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭diceyreilly

Thats not Dublins concern.

We had Newbridge or nowhere.

Antrim dragged Armagh to Corrigan Park a couple of years ago.

Louth yesterday when Armagh have a serious support.

The Dublin county board are absolute cowards.
    Every other county board would have had it in PP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,643 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

PP is not Dublin footballers home venue. I think they may have played a few matches when in D2 a few years ago there and during COVID but it was 2010 before that. GB was flying a kite. I doubt if its even nominated as a venue for there footballers.

Kerry ay league games in Austin Stacks but never championship, Tyrone carried Kerry ( not that it did them.any good) out to the Pomery mountains in the league in 2025 but I doubt if they would be allowed to do that for championship.

PP will not be hosting Dublin Football matches unless the league crowds fall below 5k

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,586 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Maybe instead of complaining about the venue, Dublin fans could actually turn up to it. The irony of complaining that there won't be enough fans there while also declaring you're not going to go and support your team because of it seems to be lost on some lads. Either you're a fan or you aren't, but you can't complain about fair weather support if you're doing the exact thing fair weather fans do.

I hate Croke Park with 20,000, 30,000 supporters. Just lacks atmosphere due to the crowd layout. Really comes back to not building a 25-30k stadium in the spawell.

Our own hardcore fans would prefer it and our team gets to play regularly in games with a good atmosphere.

And sure wouldn’t the “Dublin have advantage at croker” objective fans be happy so everybody wins.

Anyone with a season ticket able to pick their seat or just got random seat selection?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭frankled

Random seat selection. I feel like that for every game buying a ticket is a new experience with at least one thing having changed!

Maybe the automatic seat allocation is indicative of a higher attendance expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭VONSHIRACH

The tickets I have for Sunday are the worst ones for 2026 I’ve got. Annoying.

I just checked the spread with the bookies to see what the masses think, apparently Donegal are -3 on the handicap.

My first reaction was is that all.

I have been at all league and Championship football games this year that the Dublin footballer’s played in home/away. But Parnell park is still my favourite venue. However, ironically I couldn’t get a ticket for the Dublin v Kilkenny hurling match in Parnell Park.

If the football was moved there for championship it is likely, I would struggle to get tickets for the matches as I don’t have a season ticket/Parnell Pass.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on