Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,355 ✭✭✭HBC08

Personally i was shouting for roscommon in the CF,great scenes.

Why youd come on to the Mayo forum gloating about that literally seconds after the final whistle says more about you than anything else youll type here.

Id be keeping my head down after a pathetic performance from ye yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,248 ✭✭✭PressRun

Not sure what is to be done about Coyne ar this stage too. Andy, in his infinite wisdom, decided to make him captain and he is know having an absolute nightmare season. Made McCurry look like Clifford today. Not sure how a lad like that is meant to be motivating a dressing room when he should, by rights, be sitting on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,284 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Highlighting that there's nothing to be celebrating here either but thought better of it in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

it’s clear that Moran is out of his depth. He is making lots of fundamental mistakes. He has to see some of this stuff in training or else he is throwing a blind eye to it. We are also soft under him as well. A slightly harder outfit would have nailed this game as Tyrone are no great shakes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Vish81

Whenever you hear Andy say "we're on a journey" you just know he covering up his shambolic decision making on the side-line.

Why he brought on O Shea is beyond me.

He did nothing but slow the game down, carrying the ball into tackles against a team that's renowned for swarming opposition players & blocking central channels.

He also panicked in the final moments when cool heads were needed.

Post edited by Vish81 on

The Coyne situation could not be anymore glaring at this stage. He hasn't had a good game all year and yet starts every single time. McCurry the latest to make a show of him. It's obviously just awkwardness that is preventing him from being benched. Andy doesn't know how to do it now because he made the decision to give him the captaincy. It's a bit of a pattern. Things have to be absolutely irrefutably awful before he'll act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭Westernview

Yeah he is clearly out of his depth. He is supposed to know Mayo football inside out but wasted the league playing players well past their best.

There has been an improvement the last 2 games but this has been mainly due to a belated realisation that he has to move on and build a new team.

Even so he couldn't help but put OShea on in the second half and it ended up with him making a net negative contribution. Surely it's the end of that situation now? He has also failed to bite the bullet and put Jack Coyne on the bench until his form returns.

There is the makings of a new team there but its going to take time. Andy wilk get at least another year but the scorecard is low after season 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Pat734

Some food in Canavan's pub/bistro after the game, amazing how something like time, food and a chat will cool the emotions. Not a bad place to go to, food I felt was dear for what it was, very busy but the customers and staff were good craic Nice drive home afterwards and am thinking now that things could be a lot worse. It's going to be Kerry, Meath or the Dubs. Doubt we'll beat a Kerry team but every chance we could get a result v the other 2. I'm taking it we can't play Monahan? I'm not sure on that, can people confirm? All in all the game was enjoyable, it was there to win and in fairness both sides missed chances. I mentioned Callinan and might have sort of blamed him, sorry if I did, he had a good game. People giving O Shea some stick isn't very nice. He's been some player over the years and carried us many is the time. Mayo at the moment aren't perfect but there's very few who will relish playing them, we'll hopefully get there eventually. Time and patience and maybe no harm to remember we make plenty of mistakes ourselves in our lives and our comments, including myself. Crazy results and might well be more to come. Keep the faith, even if you don't go to mass. 😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 howdo1992

Moran has made mistakes no doubt but at least he seems willing to learn and make changes also. Hession is way better out the field hopefully stays there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭spakman

Very disappointing not to see that game out, in a great position, thought Aidan tried to buy a free but ended up giving away the two pointer for Morgan, then he should never have taken on that shot, he is not a good point taker, there was time to get a reliable kicker on the ball.

That's before mentioning Callinan's goal chance. A lot of regrets but I think we're improving and if we can avoid Kerry, we still have a decent chance of making a q-final.

Thought Tommy C looked sharp, which hasn't been the case in a long time. Unfortunately ROD had a poor game by his standards and Kobe didn't really get on much ball.

They'll be sickened but no time to dwell on it which might not be a bad thing .

it was the wrong appointment but this is happening acoss all grades. We really need to get a lot more strategic on appointments and clearly look for some experience of success in either club or county for all grades. We are burning through good underage talent imo. I don’t blame AOS today as he wants to come on and in his head he probably thinks he can do it. The blame lies with Moran.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,022 ✭✭✭✭irishgeo

Tyrone got a point that was clearly wide. it was really obvious from opposite the stand side where I was.

The amount of turnovers we gave away with silly passes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

I'm going to try put a positive spin on this after a few hours to get over the initial annoyance of the loss.

Back in the day when Mayo were real contenders, especially 12, 13 , 14 and 15, getting to a quarter final without any fuss was important, winning the provincial, having a few weeks off to recover and plan were important steps.

The same would be true if they were real contenders now, win your two games, get to the quarter final with a week and a game to spare, no drama.

But Mayo are not a real contender and getting the extra game for this team is not a bad thing, as long as they learn something from it.

Sure it would be great to get a quarter final but at this stage it performances we need, especially against the likes of Kerry.

A moral victory may be the best we can hope for.

On the Aiden O' Shea thing, I was wondering what was the reasoning for him coming on when he did.

This may sound bad but I'd hope that is the last we see of him in a Mayo jersey when a game is on the line, bring him on in a cameo for a minute when a game is won or lost, but he just doesn't bring enough any more to change a game and as we saw today he can be a liability.

He's been a great servant in the Mayo shirt and we have been lucky to enjoy watching him for the last 18 odd years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

I don't think Callinan had a good game at all.. got blocked down 30 seconds before half time and Tyrone went up the field and equalised. A bit more patience from him there and we could well have went in 2 up. After an excellent league campaign his form has nosedived the last 3 games.

For all his quality, Ryan OD turns over some amount of ball. Has proved very costly.

Livingstone, Hession, Carney, Paddy and Beirne did very well for us.

Shame we didn't get that bit of luck to see us over the line. On the way home I was thinking of when we played Tyrone in the 2016 quarter final. We were second best for the most part but Tyrone (Morgan and McCurry in particular) butchered so many chances and we scraped over the line by a point. The complete opposite of the second half today.

I think if this team could claim a big championship win we could go from strength to strength but it's not happening the last few years.

The character just isn't really there to take a scalp and push on. Game management is really poor, can't seem to keep the heads when needed, a pattern of poor decision making at crucial moments, don't seem to be able to see out close games when it really matters. They were very lucky to hold on v Monaghan, truth be told, another minute and they would have snatched it, and I had a feeling they wouldn't see it out when push came to shove in a similar contest. Callinan's decision to point instead of goal or even just looking up for one moment and seeing that Conroy was wide open just summed up the whole project. No vision and no killer instinct. A goal then would have finished it. But no smarts at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

In 2012 we beat Leitrim sligo and down to reach an All Ireland semi final.. can't compare it to the current format where every team has lost at least once.

Just looking back on the Sunday game now and the last two point free Morgan got was incredibly harsh.. the Tyrone player just charged into O'Shea. Dunno what he was supposed to do exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭eastie17

yeah ref fairly rode us. Any sort of contact and ref was giving a free to them

Not really the winning and losing of the game as we had other chances but it’s annoying all the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,022 ✭✭✭✭irishgeo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭eastie17

draw on now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

Home to Meath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭Westernview

Not a bad draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,640 ✭✭✭✭km79

Thank god it’s at home. Maybe we might get a free in for charging to win the game . Even up yesterday’s decision which happened straight in front of me. But it was AOS so the knives were out from our own supporters straight away.
    In a game that we lost by a point ROD gave the ball to Tyrone for 4 scores , kicking the ball 30 yards backwards for one as he is want to do instead of passing to the two scoring forwards either side of him………..but that’s fine . He is not Aidan O Shea.

We need both to perform better in their two very different roles next weekend. We will be in bonus territory if we win and I’ve a feeling our well rested neighbors will be waiting for us. Licking their lips !
    it’s opening up for Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,164 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

am I right in thinking we can’t get Tyrone if we make the qf? So that’s two-thirds possibility it’s cork or Louth? Could the gods be smiling on us for once?

Best draw we could have got. If he makes a few changes with coyne out and let Mcgreal have the number and after yesterday I think he should start Tommy and drop Hugh McLoughlin, maybe move Kobe to the half fowards. Its funny how you give a few young lads the nod and they repay you in spades KMD, Beirne, McGreal, Livingstone - its brilliant to see but as someone else said this should have been done over the league and not in the depths of championship football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,694 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Time for revenge for 1996 😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,186 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

Meath is a decent draw but with our poor record at home, it's difficult to be very confident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭pipelaser

Watch the hop lads :-)

Post edited by pipelaser on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭pipelaser

Revenge? A 20 year old Darren Fay was lucky to come away from those challenges with his head still intact. Trevor Giles knocked off his feet with a blow to the head from your captain. A certain basketball gent ran 40 yards(That’s 36.58m for you youngsters) to windmill his way through a few lads trying to restore some order. It’s forgiveness you should be looking for! ;-).
    Kidding aside, always a good contest with Mayo. Looking forward to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,164 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Bookies have game on Sunday at 1. Is this just a placeholder or…?