The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Naughty_Skelator

Any of the board members play midfield in their day? Might get a call up….. Lost James Smith/Killian Clarke, and Luke Molloy from last year, No Gearoid there,now the two lads, Casey whom was outstanding bar and error or two against Westmeath and Evan Crowe whom done a great job on Ray Connellan… both gone.. We only have probably two options left, Peter Corrigan and Ryan Donohoe…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,000 ✭✭✭celt262

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Bduff1

Lost to Kildare by a few points at the weekend, Paddy lynch did not feature. Cian Madden did. The game was behind closed doors somewhere in Cavan

Hes being sarcastic, he is referring to the unnecessary expansion of Breffni park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 shanemcgerts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭diesel druggie

Casey injured against Westmeath either a punch into the back or a knee in the back. He went off temporarily and then came back on. Had a stay in the hospital I heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,444 ✭✭✭baconsarnie

Heard the same, and out for a good stretch sadly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Blue47

image.png

Team out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

I don’t believe that team will start. Fionntain O’Reilly wasn’t good enough the last day and, unless they feel that Lovett has more of an impact off the bench, he has to start.

It’s a real pity about Niall Carolan. He should have just been left during the League to get himself right.

We’ve lasted longer in the championship than both Derry & Roscommon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭mylestheslasher

Fair play to the GAA for putting the game on Sunday so we can say that, which was nothing to do with Ger Brennans suspension and appeasing the Dubs as some cynical people are saying.

You don't think having your manager on sidelines makes any difference to a team? Why bother have a manager so.

If that's is what you are hoping for to win a game it'd time to give up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Cavanlad23

That's a tough one lads.. Definitely created enough to win that game. Silly wides, terrible kickouts and poor fitness levels cost us that game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Naughty_Skelator

The Worst Dublin team by far , I’ve seen in person since I first saw Dublin in person around 1994, just came down and buried us by 11 points.

That 2nd half performance is right up there at the top with our ever growing list of sheer brutal displays.

It’s a real shame because the first half performance was good, we played some very good stuff at times and we should have went in 12-9 up only we handed Dublin ,4 gifts directly from 4 terrible kickouts.

Not sure where we go from here, We aren’t Sam Maguire level, I don’t think we’d win the Tailteann Cup with this team and definitely not with this management team. 2 wins and 8 losses out of 10 games this year..and multiple embarrassing performances. What will the excuses be I wonder?

You have serious reading and comprehension issues, suggest you go back to school as i never said any such thing

Just watched ‘s post match interview. He starts by saying the wides and drop shorts when it was close in the second half deflated the team.

Then, as expected, he rolls out the rebuilding line saying they’ve had ten debutants before closing out that he wasn’t happy with fitness levels from lads in November coming back and they’ll do work now.

At least the likes of Ciaran Brady, Gerry Smith and Dara Mc had a crowd for what may have been their last game in a Cavan jersey that they owe nothing to.

And Tiernan Madden rolled out to tell the media how he owes everything to Dermot and how we only had a few fans down in Cork for a game at start of year, lost key players etc. The county squad resembles a cult at this stage. A Cult that won 2 games in an entire season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Thunderbirds

That's the thing. Two wins all year. McCabe gave some dig to previous management too.

It is rebuilding though and things are going to get a lot worse before they get better. They were back training long before November so if they were not in shape by November or for the start of the league he needs to look at his coaches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 edel_C

Tiernan Madden asking people to support Mc Cabe “he made him the footballer he is today”, there a very few county teams in the country that Tiernan Madden would get his place on so he may not ask the public to support a management and team who have won two games all year, give the supporters something to shout about in and I’m sure they will support, seems to be plenty of support from Gowna, I’m sure he will have more Gowna names on the panel next year, perhaps that’s another reason why it’s all going wrong.

Going to even worse next year if the household names retire or step away,

Mc Cabe clearly has no faith or belief in his panel when he turns to Cian Madden who hasn’t kicked a ball all year or O. Brady and Mac Veety two lads recovering from injury, playing Niall Carolan all year who is hampered with injuries where is player welfare? glad for these lads Cavan are out at least they might be able to recover now.

Division 3 next year and when we play in the Tailteann we will be there for the long haul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭large_palette

Turns out McCabe was dealt a poor hand. We could have done very well yesterday but for the emaciated condition of the senior players and the childlike innocence of the players he recruited. We had it upside down. and backwards.

Absolute nonsense. Tiernan Madden has every right to voice his opinion after giving years to Cavan at such a young age. Trying to dismiss what he says by attacking his game personally instead of addressing his points says more about you than it does about him.

Blaming everything on Gowna players is lazy and divisive. Those lads have earned their places the same way every other county player has—through performances. If you think selections are wrong, criticise the decisions, but don't drag an entire club into it.

As for saying supporters should only back the team when they're winning, that's not what being a supporter is about. Everyone is frustrated with the season, but tearing into players isnt going to improve anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 edel_C

my comment wasn’t an attack on Tiernan Madden but his reason to back Mc Cabe is because he made him the player he is today, that’s not going to get people in board, not attacking his game he deserves to be on the Cavan panel but I just said he wouldn’t get on too many other county teams.

The team nor the management haven’t given supporters to much to shout about and when you look at 2 wins out of 10 is going to be part of that declining support.

It’s a Gowna heavy panel the stats are there! It might be your opinion to think that week in week out they earned their place but I would have to disagree.

I have followed Cavan since some time in the 1980s when I remember going to Croke Park in school to see us play Dublin in a league game. I have been the length and breadth of the country through good times but mostly bad. A home game for me is a 2hr 15min drive each way. But it is getting very difficult to persevere - not because players arent good enough or arent trying, it because the whole thing is clearly in an absolute heap and no one is being serious about doing anything about it. We have a manager who has overseen a catastrophic decline in underage since he went into is Games Development manager role. He relegated Westmeath last year, who under new management have shown how good they are. This year has been a disaster as senior level - we should be in Div 3 only for luck that 4 points kept us up. He wont talk to local media. He wont be held to account by his employers. He refused to even take the stats and figures from the previous management, allowed/forced a lot of decent lads to leave the panel. So when things are this shambolic, why should I a supporter put 50 quid petrol in my car and give up a whole day to follow the team. I am asking myself that question these days an awful lot. A serious review of the situation is needed by persons with a genuine interest in Cavan GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Cavanlad23

The McCabe arguements at this stage are getting boring. He has to job, will be keeping the job and it's time to get behind him and the lads tbh.

I wouldn't put yesterdays loss on him to be honest. Terrible shot selection, terrible shot accuracy and kickouts which as a Ramor man have me fairly concerned going into the club championship. 7 or 8 of the wides were handy enough scores, 6 or 7 points conceded directly from kickouts.

Tactically he got it spot on and execution let us down big time. We created enough chances to win that game, defensively solid for large parts

It is a rebuild, its going to take time but IMO theres enough greenshoots to be fairly optimistic going into next year.

That’s fair to clarify your point, but it still comes across more personal than it probably needs to be.

Saying Tiernan Madden “wouldn’t get on many county teams” or questioning his standing shifts the focus away from the actual issue, which is the team’s performances and the management decisions. Whether people agree with his view on McCabe or not, he’s entitled to back a manager based on his own experience—lots of players do that when they’ve worked under someone who they feel improved them.

On the “Gowna-heavy panel” point, you can look at any inter-county squad and find clusters from successful clubs. That doesn’t automatically mean selection bias, usually it reflects form. You can disagree with individual selections, but it’s a stretch to suggest that alone explains a season like this.

And you’re right on one thing—results matter. 2 wins from 10 will always lead to frustration. But once the conversation moves into club versus club or questioning who “deserves” to be there in a broad sense, it stops being about fixing anything and just becomes division, which doesn’t help anyone trying to improve things going forward.

Have you not heard the well placed rumour doing the rounds now that I mentioned last week? He didn’t get the coaches he wanted. The CB wouldn’t pay for Mark McHugh who he wanted to bring with him.

I actually preferred him to Galligan going in there as he had more managerial experience but his performance is what, 3 or 4 wins, out of 23 or 24 matches across two county teams in the last two seasons. That is diabolical.