Cycling Ireland 2026 road racing

14567810»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,393 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Thanks to all involved for a good day racing.

Hopefully back in July all going well.

Sean Nolan Meath Grand Prix - is this a separate race for all cats or a mass start for all?

My question is more aimed at the cat 3 entrants, will there be a separate race?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭burger1979

@dahat this is a national grade race so seperate races for all categories, we are doing it the same as the seamus kennedy race that we ran in March. Entry should be open later on today.

@burger1979 thanks for that and will see ye on the day.

Cycling Ireland back to the go slow updating results on the site , last update was May 31st.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Anyone else get the survey from CI? No issues from me other than it made me think, me not racing this year is my fault but it asked an interesting question about a Leinster league. Personally I am not against it but I am not sure if it would work but it might, leagues seem to get more buy in of late eg club leagues, ICVA etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭burger1979

Folks, entries are now open for the sean nolan grand prix on the 21st june

https://eventmaster.ie/event/VqxohERTwv

See you there, burger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭wav1

I did see the survey is out to registered racing licence holders

Assuming it's asking opinions on what riders want to see happen in order to improve racing scene etc. They also need to reach out to promoters to get their opinions. CEO was on roadman podcast last week

Also on the podcast I think concensus on a need for some kind of entry level racing. Maybe not room for 4 senior categories but some kind of system. Doing away with A4 has had huge consequences numbers wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,464 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Macy0161

I'm having my own motivation issues with racing this season, but when I see the names placing in C3 races I know I'm not near that level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭EAFC_rdfl

these ring true, some type of introductory category or a way to return after a prolonged gap needed. with some bit of enforcement that there aren't what you would call established C3 racers dropping down in to massage their ego. can see that happening in local leagues too, so even they are somewhat inaccessible for someone trying to get onboard. Getting dropped is fine if there is a reasonable and achievable margin to go and improve on over a number of races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Macy0161

I’d say a few riders have likely dropped from C2 to C3 looking at the pointy ends? As I mentioned earlier, I’ve lost personal motivation this season, and I’m not putting that down to the CI structure since I mainly race vets anyway. But under the current setup, it’s hard to see myself dipping into open races next season - even if I don’t have the same season long commitment with the IVCA.

Unfortunately I can't listen to Anthony, something about him irks me no end. I realise I probably have the same effect on people as well, we are probably quite alike in our ability to talk with confidence about stuff we clearly don't know or understand.

In regards a league, make it April to September, one race a month. 6 races, top 5 for points, last weekend of the month, pick races from across the province. 100euro entry at year start, divide the money up between organisers at the year start, get Leinster to cover one ambulance per race, only requirements are separate C1/2/3/Womens races. Womens races must be handicapped to stop the alienation of new racers, all races must be minimum 80km in length except the Crit in Corkagh. Leinster cover the overall league prizes. Riders who make the grade for C2 but are not upgrading till mid season can still race but will no longer get points until they upgrade.

A quick spread, so just making this up, go for, in no particular order:

Carlow - Des Hanlon

Dublin - Mick Lawless Memorial in Corkagh Park

Meath - Brendan Campbell

Westmeath - Lakelands GP

Wexford - Eddie Tobin or the Wheelers race

Wicklow - Wicklow Classic and the September Classic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭ericzeking

When I imagined a provincial league I thought it would be something completely separate to the bigger open races

Not sure there is the capability there, the ICVA already takes a huge number of racers away from open races, another league on top of that would, in my opinion fail almost instantly, but I would love to be proved wrong.

A separate league running in parallel and in addition to existing races definitely wouldn't work..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Morris Garren

We are in the midst of massive social, economic and political change and at times like these, people I think naturally become more cautious and conservative. Volunteerism and positive social contribution is in decline, some might say crisis. I'm part of a research project investigating why this is happening and so far, there are no straightforward solutions. Add in the astronomical hike in the price of so many things, relative to people's earnings, not to mention the latent road rage and constant bickering about cyclists and you have a right maelstrom of reasons why 'traditional' road racing is not what it was a mere 6 or 7 years ago. It is futile to point fingers at CI or those volunteers, often long-time stalwarts, who are keeping things on the road. A time for consolidation, rationalisation, or simply starting over from scratch with kids and teenagers at local level might well be the only solution. That will require an entire new cohort of volunteers and club leaders and until that happens, we might continue to struggle. Myself? I'm in the IVCA and love cyclocross and will continue to help promote and stage various races when I can, but my open road race days are probably at an end. I don't think the sport at open road level should be needing me to race to stay viable, but its going that way.

When the upgrades happen from week beginning July 6th it will be interesting to see how the entries are in each category. I’d expect around 20 to be moved up in each.

Will be interesting

C2s moving up probably won't affect them too much as in essence they are going to be mostly riding in the same races anyway (combined C1C2)

C3s moving up will be a struggle for a lot of riders as again they are most likely moving into C1C2 races.

C3 racing for the remainder of the season could go either way. With the 20 odd guys moving on will it entice the lads that weren't racing much to have a go again because the strong ones are gone or are we just going to have what's left. Remains to be seen.

With the C2s both those that are there already plus the influx from C3 it's going to be tough but I think if promoters lay on a full C2 prize fund their mindset needs to be we have our own prizes and let's race for them rather than ah we're going to get hammered by the elites. There has to be a space for everyone however difficult it might seem.

A lot of the C3 will struggle and reduce race days for the remainder of this and next season I would think.The increase in race distance is something that will be a huge negative to a lot of riders. Ultimately until C1 numbers improve the C1/C2 handicapped races will keep occurring. Hopefully 2027 will see the C1 bunch size improve outside of the bigger races.

On a personal view while I’m one of the stronger C3 riders currently the upgrade to C2 will mean a reduced race season for 2027 as mass start races and handicapped ones will be ruled out. The NS races will be aimed at as I’ll be M50 so a C1 upgrade will be ruled out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭JimmiesRustled

To be fair, handicapped or mass start C1/C2 races this year have been the exception rather than the norm.

Aside from the obvious Rás I've only raced twice this year in either a handicap or mass start with C1 riders.

Would longer races not encourage more C3's? Genuine question as I wouldn't travel for anything under 70km unless it was a crit.

It could very well suit some for sure but extra distance means extra training plus increased workload on the day. That may impact race days in terms of participation .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,464 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

No disrespect but a lad finishing regularly at the point end of C3 races is well able for C2

Pointy end C3 back end of C2.

We shall see how it works out for all of us going to C2.

@wav1 - if the C1 numbers improve as a result of the upgrades then will promoters move away from combined C1/2 races?

Can only see it happening at the national series races to be honest as the natural fall off of riders happen from now on.Maybe I'm wrong but let's see.There is a slight difference this year as opposed to last year that it is within the promoters right to combine the categories even at national series races if the entry level is below a certain number (can't remember the figures).Another possibility going forward is if there are enough C1s for a stand alone race there's always the possibility of promoting a combined C2C3 race.