Milk Price III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

price will rise later in the year and this time next year it could be 60c/l… follow a page on facebook called US Farm Report.. there are savage issues in the great plains of the US with drought… august 25-april 26 longest drought in 130yrs.. the crops there look sad… and there is a massive shortage of replacement dairy stock…. and then the costs of keeping cows is prob 45c/l or thereabouts… only a matter of time before we see things going in the right direction…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,123 ✭✭✭pureza

I’m hearing varying reports that those Glanbia shares could further double in value in the next few years now that the perceived farmer ownership millstone is further removed from their neck if it’s even only half decently managed

But don’t take investment advice from me

Is the father the sole owner of them or are ye all joint holders ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,675 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Wishful thinking re america reducing supply, we are in the ha'penny place re cost of production, a side effect of the drought will be a further shrinking of their beef herd and dairy calf prices will probably hit 2k..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭older by the day

If its pretty stressful now.

Wait till you have a cow down, scc fecked, heifers kicking the shiit out of you and that's before breakfast. Not to mind if you have to pay back loans for the pleasure of doing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭yewdairy

Drive on, under no circumstances take a bit of heed of the lads trying to second guess you. They have absolutely no idea what's right for you or your family.

We did a big development in the yard 10 years ago, a lad who was Friendly with the old fella came in looking at it. Told me it was too much money and I was wasting my time milking cows there was nothing at it. He was probably 40 years milking cows at that stage and yet hadn't one useful bit of advice for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,361 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Sump fecked up in parlour this morning, cows took their sweet time coming in. If you had an idea things were going to go wrong it'd take the sting out of it, maybe I like the misery. That said, there's loads of positives and as long as all the shite stays outside everything is grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭greenfield21

The amount of moaning about milk price would make you think we were back in the 1980s. A lot of lads have forgotten what a real downturn looks like. We’ve had four of the last five years at exceptionally strong prices, land values at record levels, yards full of new machinery, and farmers bidding €20k+ an acre without blinking.

Now milk comes back a few cent and suddenly it’s the end of the world. If your system only works at peak milk prices, then maybe the problem isn’t the milk price, its you. Lads seemed to have convinced themselves that the prices of the last few years were normal, building a business on that was not a good idea. Head down, arse up, family farm, keep the system efficient and be ready to take opportunities when others are panicking. That's how the money is made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,881 ✭✭✭straight

I'd say you could educate yourself a bit about milk price in 1980s Ireland. And I have no idea how lads like you think that high land prices suit a farmer trying to grow.

Family farm bit is gas aka "free/slave labour", how do you combat runaway inflation of almost every service and commodity thats coming inside the gate?

35 cent base price present day probably translates to a 23-25 cent base price in 2016, farm insurance here is a great example was circa 3k a year up to 2019, now its 9k a year, and thats just a tiny snap-shot of runaway input inflation, machinery since you brought it up, i bought a 2015 case puma 160 2300 hours, a 2.5 ton bogballe spreader, new 2500 gallon hi-spec tank, and a new 10ft front mower for a combined total of 110k early 2020, to do the above today, your talking 190k plus, so nearly a doubling in machinery prices in 5 years

small problems in the grand grand scheme of things… he'll be fine…

things are gone wreckless since Covid but shure if lads are forking out for the machinery at present prices why would manufacturers drop the prices… Supply and demand..

i do think the milk price will rise but it will be next year before we see it…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,361 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

At least calf prices were good

Post edited by whelan2 on

A pallet of can was 100 pounds in the early 80s.

Our family when I was growing up would run an 50 pounds a week. We were all in the back of a golf VAN, 5 of us. I remember my father saying, 3 pig checks and the milk from June and july bought it. And he had about 20 cows and 6 sows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭green daries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,195 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

There's a story book in everyone.

A relation wrote a short article for a newspaper in which they gave their childhood in the 80's on a dairy farm in Wexford. She was telling it nearly like they were paupers. And how she the parents brought her to a bone setter with a joint out. She compared herself to a farm animal like what was also brought to the bone setter. She went on with more then. Some relations thought it funny. Others thought it letting her parents down. And she writing far away in Belfast like she was mocking her childhood and a separate country.

Mothers were able to stay at home and be there for the children. One income was enough. It was lovely coming home to a warm house and a dinner from school.

People weren't rich, but most houses around here were the same.

No comparison to the 80s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,968 ✭✭✭stanflt

we were all set to invest heavily in the future but the reality of roi was too small for working 7 days a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,928 ✭✭✭dmakc

non farming related

if there was one share I would buy in the next few weeks when a pdo is happening it would be starlink

didn’t know that- very hard to get the shares tbh - currently worth 150 dollars each

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭ginger22

Anyone expecting a milk price increase will be waiting a long time. With cheap grain and fertilizer prices dropping. Wholesale urea down 30% in the last week and expected to come down more. Large stocks in the middle East waiting for the straight to open. China have started exporting again and demand dropped due to high price. Chasing high yields is a mugs game. Low cost is the only hope of survival.

I can live away with this milk price. Fertiliser isn't that expensive compared to last year. Ration is expensive but I wouldnt be a massive user.

I got nice cheques for my calves and culls. No fella got rode with my calf prices, but I got a fair price I think. Giving away fine calves over the years really broke my heart. Getting 2 or 3 hundred euro is only fair.

If The weather plays ball for the rest of the year it'll be grand. Last year I had every prick of a salesman and "advisor" telling me how it was the best year ever. This year I can play the poor mouth and get away with it.

Couldn't get my builder to finish a shed for me last winter. He's ringing me now trying to get the next one started. Suits me way better too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

what’s low cost now. We can’t produce milk as cheap as we did 10 years ago or even 5 years ago

Hiding the check book and jumping over the ditch when you see a car coming in to the yard, is the only way you could be low cost this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭green daries

We Can't produce it cheaper than last year never mind 5 years ago

@older by the day 💯 dead right there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

but the machinery you bought hasn’t depreciated at the same rate. It’s still worth a lot of that 110k you paid for it. It’s costing no more to change up than what it would have if prices stayed the same and your trade in value was the same.
    we bought a tractor last January 12 months for 26k, local mf dealer which I didn’t buy it off valued it at 30k back in April when we picked up the mowers if I was to trade it in with him. I’m keeping it on till I have the newer tractor paid for but if I can get what I paid for it in another year I would be very happy