This week's EV bargain that I'm not buying V2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Bawnmore

I was originally thinking "jaysus I wouldn't buy one without the heater working" and laughed to myself after reading that - we've a 2011 with a working heater as a runaround and I could probably count on one hand the amount of times we've used the heat 😅

Another sub 10k MG ZS with high mileage here

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

I always used the heated seats instead of the cabin heating unless it was particularly cold. The only thing I didn’t like was the few weeks in the year that the windscreen needed demisting or defrosting. I just put on the AC and cracked the window open a bit, or poured warm water over the glass if there was ice on it. My FiL used a 12V heater instead.

Even in my 1 year old model Y, it’s the heated seats I used and the cabin is ambient.

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Bawnmore

Ya we'd use the heating to clear the windscreen sometimes alright. I've water ingress somewhere I've yet to check out and the passenger side floor in the back gets wet after heavy rain and fogs up the windows. My brother had to move it for me recently a distance not far off off the limit of the battery and he was laughing at all the do's (wear a jacket, crack the window, shite beforehand) and don't (heat, speed, accelerate hard etc) I was giving him to prepare for the journey 😅

This MG5 with mad mileage is gone down again I think to 8.5k - not sure what price would make sense on something like that to make it a bargain. Shows the potential for them in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,673 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I'd say it's an ok deal. 6500 would probably be bargain. Very honest add all the same. Quite a practical car. What's it up against really the ioniq . Would the ioniq have similar mileage relative to age ? although early ones still holding higher prices that this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,112 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

Best of luck selling the cheap leaf someone will get a good deal if they know what they are looking for @Ghost.

I always had the opinion EVs had a floor price above this just for the battery pack alone, would that not be the case here?

If my in-laws were willing to wait, yeah it would fetch a better price alright. Fact is they haven’t the space and my FiL would start using it to store tools, so MiL says it’s gotta go 🤣

I’m hoping it goes to someone we know, or a boardsie, or both 😁. It’s seen better days for sure, but it’s a fine yoke and has more poke than the Sunderland models.

I recently swapped out the window regulator and got everything greased up. Replaced the door mirror motors last year, so the usual suspects are sorted. Yes, not my car, but I’m still left maintaining it 🥱

Stay Free

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,580 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Buy this for a grand and go straight to any garage doing a trade in bonus. VW, Tesla, Hyundai etc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭Buffman

19 Kona with 197k km on it asking €10.8K.

Slightly interesting as apart from currently being the cheapest Kona EV, apparently it's had new motor and gear reduction unit, probably suffered from 'wheel of mis/fortune', but if it has also had a replacement battery (he doesn't say), then actually mileage on the drive components could be a good bit less.

(Anyone interested should factor in doing an oil change on the new gear reduction unit and putting in a magnetic sump plug if not already done to prevent the same thing happening to it.)

The below is a general 'signature' and not part of any post:

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

Public transport user? If you're sick of phantom ghost services on the 'official' RTI sources, check bustimes.org for actual 'real' RTI, if it's on their map it actually exists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,079 ✭✭✭✭unkel

It's a lot of car for the money, and arguably the cheapest total cost of ownership car in the country. Cheaper than a petrol or diesel banger even if you got that for free. Possibly the most reliable car ever made too. Apart from that heater and a wee bit of degradation of course 😂

I'll ask around a few people I know

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

When I bought it, back in 2017, it was the cheapest EV in the country at €5k. We dived on it. That value is just being passed on. €4k depreciation for 9 years family ownership is stellar. It literally has no more depreciation left at this price. I am shocked it didn't sell within the first couple of hours, but it looks like a few people are lining up their ducks now.

Stay Free

I remember you buying it, was an utter bargain at the time

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭mr chips

I'd have it myself only I've been spending all my spare dough on building materials and solar add-ons. Would be a very handy second car for trips to the local towns in my neck of the woods, which are all variously within 12-30km.

If somehow you could drive it on the "other cars" extension of your insurance, then it will basically cost you not much more than €250 per year to own: €120 tax, €60 NCT and €70 fuel

I was just cropping a photo of the interior to show the number of remaining bars and spotted that the seats are not heated. My bad on that false memory. Dress warm on cold days and light a camp fire in the boot 😅

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,069 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Is that even possible these days without straying across the fraud line?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭mr chips

Hadn't thought of that insurance option, but I'd be insuring it anyway. 😇 I'm in NI, so it'd probably a little bit more tax (£200pa even for this car now?), but otherwise I agree it's buttons - it's just that all my spare cash is accounted for right now, with a new garage under construction and additional solar due to go on its roof - plan is to go from about 4kW existing to at least 8, but possibly 10kW. So sadly no extra little runaround for me at the moment, but if it were to come up next year I'd be jumping on it. It really is a no-brainer to keep as a local runabout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,076 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

I found this today independently of this thread when my mother in law was looking up 2015 Suzukis and nissan Qashqais for 8 or 9 thousand euros
    She lives 2 kilometers from where she works, rarely leaves her home town and has a household with 3 other ICE cars that she could borrow if she needed to go on a long trip

I showed her this ad and she was shocked by how much car she would get for that money

Is this gonna get snapped up or can she take her time (she's a hummer and a hawwer)

Ban billionaires

Humming and hawwing means you generally miss out on good deals while the early bird gets the worm. Sometimes bargains hang for a while but usually they are gone before you even see them. That MG can be got for a grand less easily if viewed and negotiated.

Stay Free

The Leaf is sold. A bunch of interest flooded in the last few hours. Someone dropped a €500 deposit on it without even viewing. It’s for a kid that just passed the test and needs a learner and local runabout.

Unfortunately it didn’t go to a boardsie. One made an offer but needed delivery. It sold while the in-laws pondered on that.

Stay Free

Depends on the insurer. Some insist the car must already have its own insurance too. And on who owns the car. It can not belong to you or your partner, but could be owned by one of your children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,560 ✭✭✭joe1303l

Back to the bargains;

Audi Q4 e-Tron €17250. Note this is the small battery variant (52kWh) despite the ad stating 71kWh. High enough mileage too so very little HV battery warranty left. https://www.donedeal.ie/view/42337397

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,274 ✭✭✭✭User1998

Is the battery warranty not 160k km? So already expired?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,560 ✭✭✭joe1303l

Yes, good spot. I had 180K Km’s in my head for some reason but it’s definitely 8 years or 160K Km’s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭brophs

Don’t know if this is a bargain but it’s a couple of thousand cheaper than the others

https://usedcarsni.com/398054482

Nice example with the upgraded wheels but I'd be more inclined to go with the facelifted version with LFP battery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭djan

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,580 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

It should be as it was first registered in NI.
    About €31,100 landed assuming you get it for £26,500.

It would kill me to buy one without the heated steering wheel and sunroof personally though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭blackwrx

Very rough early Model S in Merlin tomorrow. Should be cheap

https://www.merlin.ie/vehicle/grdqlm7r7xaqtf3uqc2swvcok

Not to be negative but it looks like the entire front end has been repainted before and is turning yellow. Between that and the visible body damage it needs about 8 or 9 panels painted to make it right. I would budget over €3,000 for that and then you're still left with a car with no NCT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭Redfox25

That car has been through the wars, for what it is, it would need to be very cheap, not saying that it wont go for small money given the milage and rough appearance, one to watch if someone wants a cheap S.