Silage 2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,850 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Have 30 acres to do over the weekend as well. I can only see 2 good days for Sunday and Monday rain again for Tuesday. Gonna mix Saturday eve and pick Sunday morning and head to Salthill for the afternoon all going well.

Just managing to avoid it so far. I've fingers and toes crossed and herself is saying a novena.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,028 ✭✭✭Sami23

How ya faring out with the showers since ?

We had brutal rain last night here in west.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,414 ✭✭✭limo_100

same in the midlands couldn’t make it from the house to the car for 30 mins, Fri be 15 mins down the road and everything is fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,112 ✭✭✭DBK1

I can bring 16 rolls on the baler and another 8 on a frame I made up for the front linkage, that’s over 720 bales worth at 4 layers or over 500 at 6 layers. I’ve only a handful of lads that want 6.

You’re a great man for over complicating what are very simple jobs, there’s no need for having someone calling to me 3 times a day with plastic. It’s very rare you’d make 700 bales without being close to the yard at some stage to top up and even if I know I won’t be close to the yard at some stage of the day I’ll get someone to drop off an 8x4 trailer of polythene in one of the yards that I know I’ll be in during the day and I’ll top up there. That can be done at any stage during the day so if the rake man or mower man has half an hour to spare they can do that.

We never leave the packaging in the fields regardless of who supplied the rolls. We have a reputation for doing tidy work and leaving a mess behind after us is not what we do.

No need for having all the polythene 3 weeks in advance and there’s no 1% a month either and even if there was 1% is about 3 or 4 cent a bale, it won’t make or break anyone.

Whether a farmer has a big or small bill the only way to get a discount here is by paying promptly. I actually love dealing with the mean lads that want to try bargain with you 6 months or more after the work is done, they’re the lads I make the most money from because it’s added on to take away. The lads that just write the cheque or transfer to the bank account exactly what’s on the invoice get the best price without having to ask for it. I’ve no time for haggling, the price is the price and any lad not happy with that can get whoever else he likes to do the work, I’m too busy for that type of shite after you’ve a job done.

Baled up at 4 this afternoon with no shower, only by pure luck it lashed rained up to a mile away from here, we could see showers going past us at one stage. Heavy crop one paddock had 22 bales off just over 2 acres and I had thought it was light.

1000008367.jpg

Jas fair play that decision took liathroidi and as they say 'fortune favours the brave'.

Anyone make a burst yet today or will ye wait till tomorrow to let the ground dry out a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Jb1989

I'm mowing some after dinner, while no one else is. Needs to be cut regardless of weather to a certain extent at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Dozer1

contractor booked to cut a few paddocks later, was fine and damp here this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭Alibaba

Good day here today now South West. Savage drying. Thinking about knocking a few acres later. Time to bite the bullet now !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,405 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Cutting tomorrow here. Serious drying out with the bit of sun and wind. Yard here was full of muck from work the last few days but has dried great in the last few hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

Misty rain here this morning but turned into a serious day.

Contractor knocked a few acres for baling at 3pm, rake and bale Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,856 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Ccontractor just gone here now, 20 acres knocked baling Sunday aswell. Its overcast enough though wouldn't be surprised if we got a spill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Silverdream

Weather is good for silage for the next 4 days, but there's another breakdown again and back to rain by Tuesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,967 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Mowers everywhere here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,284 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Knocked our first two fields on the Roscommon/Mayo border here today. Got caught out the last fine spell not having the bag manure out long enough, thankfully they hadn't headed out.

Didn't chance a slightly wetter field as we've had some shocking rain showers the last week and felt trafficability would be dicey. Would like to chance it in hay if the weather window comes up relatively soon-ish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

mowed 17 acres of natural meadow we buy off a neighbour this afternoon . Baling it tomorrow. Needs sap in it or we get torture with the dry dung and scrapers

mowed a 6acre field today very heavy crop field is a bit tender, tedded out hopefully crop will reduce but there's probably not going to be good enough weather for that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Jb1989

What direction do you go with the tedder, same as mower or opposite way, are you leaving outside row alone or are you using headland management?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Dozer1

You'd have to admire the contractors for sticking at it, my lad, dropped about 40 acres between my neighbour and myself, left here at 10.30pm to go mow 16 more acres 5 miles away.

hopefully with all the racing around over the next 4 days everyone gets sorted safely

I don't know what way he mowed it was done with butterflies, but didn't know that was a thing. I didn't bother with the back sward just I would have used headland management if it was hay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭divillybit

We mowed about 10 acres mowed this evening with another 10 to mow in the morning. . No rain here today on the Roscommon Longford border and great drying out, so the meadows were mowed dry thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭RockOrBog

I had a few paddocks that went too strong for grazing so I gave it 2 and a half bags per acre of 18 6 12.

That was exactly 5 weeks ago, I'm wondering has enough time gone buy to cut it as its going to seed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,368 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

2.5 bags is 45 units , 2 units a day normally used so you're fine, especially with all the rain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,861 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

my usual contractor has a family wedding this weekend. Don’t begrudge him the weekend off but it’s typical that it the way it did weather wise.

Still, good news for the happy couple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭RockOrBog

That's good as I rang my guy to cut it happy days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,368 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Contractor mowed a few bits at outfarm this morning and will bale on Monday. Oh would've had everything ready as soon as it was mowed. Trailer on tractor and digger organised. We'll do it on Monday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Wife here is a now a dab hand with the kramer loader.She usually has the bales stood up on their ends in groups of 15 with the grab while im still baling.we find once they are stood on the flat the are usually crow resistant and there isn't any hassle leaving them till the next day if needs be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,405 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Mowed here today. Grass damp at the butt. No surprise. Field was tender is spots. Dried very well and ya could see the green drying out of it as the day went on. Shook it out this evening. Baling tomorrow. Looks heavy.