GENERAL World Cup Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,835 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

The only thing more boring than the constant politics talk is the repetitive moaning about TV coverage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

shakira is a ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭adaminho

In fairness to Richman he's a big football fan, has shares in Grimsby and supports Tottenham. Actually reading that, he knows nothing about football😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Has she been on? The little one will be devastated....yes, that will do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭hawkwing

Wonder will Tubridy appear out of the trophy with some billie barry kids, wouldn't be much worse, all the "music" sounds the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,551 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

the guy next to Shakira missed his mime…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,180 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

LEEETTTTSSSSSSSSS GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Can't believe it's finally WC time. Can't beat an opening ceremony in Mexico with a few beers to get into the mood.

Great shout opening it there, beats the Superbowl ceremony type vibes all day.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

Yeah hopefully the RTE panel have gotten their rants out of the way and let us enjoy the biggest celebration in sport.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

Very self deprecating nick name for your genitals.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 37,287 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Mod Note

2 Threads for The World Cup

1 for During matches 'Live World Cup Thread'

1 for General chat between games - 'General World Cup Thread'

We fully expect both will be busy and trying to wade through just 1 thread would be impossible. There will be a bit of overlap of course but it should help in catching up on news once the games come thick and fast.

If we could keep Politics out of both that would be great - there are Forums for that and Soccer isn't one of them.

Both threads will be Stickied.

This panel is an embarrassment, sweet j3sus :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,070 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

If you're referring to RTE, they just stole 60secs of my life I'm never getting back 😅

Was hoping Doyle and Didi would be on, Cunningham is bad enough and Sadlier worse but the 2 should never be on together, fksake

I actually like Kenny's suggestion of 64 teams. There's 260+ teams in the world so it's not over the top and I'd much rather groups where 2 of 4 qualify Vs 3 of 4.

Although if Ireland were to qualify I'd prefer the 3/4 for selfish reasons!!!

the ITV studio is amazing…

What a backdrop!!

Would you listen to this lot

Rabble. And not in a funny way. The oul lads could get away with it back in the day. Not these three

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 37,287 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Saw it last night, doesn't get any better than that, windy as hell but unreal backdrop.

Kenny on fire here 😂

Might have to get the popcorn out too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,731 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Mad as it is, I don't actually disagree with Kenny there, on the thing of increasing numbers again so that you go back to only the top 2 going through. The final group stage games at the last world cup were absolutely brilliant because of all the changing permutations - but when the 3rd team gets in, it's just a whole dead process with damp squibs all round.

It could actually be better with more teams (depending on where those teams come from - get 10 more from Europe in there), bringing it back to top-2 only qualifying, and making the group stage mean something. I feel the same for the Euros - make it 32, with the majority of Europeans (in terms of population) involved, and group stages that matter.

On the Neymar thing - he's super devisive in Brazil. It basically follows political lines - the Bolsonaro supporters love him, the Lula supporters aren't fond.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Could you imagine having to listen to Kenny Cunningham & Katie Taylor narrate some audiobooks about physics…?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,096 ✭✭✭✭johnnyryan89

He's an absolute dose, and ITV isn't working for me unfortunately.

If they are going to have Sadlier and Cunningham on together, at least sit them beside each other. Might at least get some pushing and shoving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,390 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I just read the BBC are in Salford for all the opening games until the knockout rounds….

That's fairly embarrassing for them, fair play to ITV.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Keep the license payers happy perhaps. I'm sure their actual commentary teams are in place anyway, but maybe they got told they've to pay for their own accomodation 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,908 ✭✭✭JanuarySnowstor

Rte is embarrassing this evening. Cunningham is such an argumentative character!! He's the same on other channels, has form.

Bill O Herlihy, you must be watching from the stars shaking you head on how the panel has collapsed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,361 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Kenny Cunningham is the best analyst on television in my considered opinion.

Got sent the below by a friend;

Since the FIFA World Cup began in 1930, no country has ever won the tournament with a foreign head coach. Every winning team has been coached by someone from the same country.

1930 - 🇺🇾 Uruguay / 🇺🇾 Alberto Suppici
    1934 - 🇮🇹 Italy / 🇮🇹 Vittorio Pozzo
    1938 - 🇮🇹 Italy / 🇮🇹 Vittorio Pozzo
    1950 - 🇺🇾 Uruguay / 🇺🇾 Juan López Fontana
    1954 - 🇩🇪 West Germany / 🇩🇪 Sepp Herberger
    1958 - 🇧🇷 Brazil / 🇧🇷 Vicente Feola
    1962 - 🇧🇷 Brazil / 🇧🇷 Aymoré Moreira
    1966 - 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 England / 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿 Alf Ramsey
    1970 - 🇧🇷 Brazil / 🇧🇷 Mário Zagallo
    1974 - 🇩🇪 West Germany / 🇩🇪 Helmut Schön
    1978 - 🇦🇷 Argentina / 🇦🇷 César Luis Menotti
    1982 - 🇮🇹 Italy / 🇮🇹 Enzo Bearzot
    1986 - 🇦🇷 Argentina / 🇦🇷 Carlos Bilardo
    1990 - 🇩🇪 West Germany / 🇩🇪 Franz Beckenbauer
    1994 - 🇧🇷 Brazil / 🇧🇷 Carlos Alberto Parreira
    1998 - 🇫🇷 France / 🇫🇷 Aimé Jacquet
    2002 - 🇧🇷 Brazil / 🇧🇷 Luiz Felipe Scolari
    2006 - 🇮🇹 Italy / 🇮🇹 Marcello Lippi
    2010 - 🇪🇸 Spain / 🇪🇸 Vicente del Bosque
    2014 - 🇩🇪 Germany / 🇩🇪 Joachim Löw
    2018 - 🇫🇷 France / 🇫🇷 Didier Deschamps
    2022 - 🇦🇷 Argentina / 🇦🇷 Lionel Scaloni

Homegrown history.

Geoff Hurst still looking with it assuming that piece on ITV is recent. Fair play.

Must be 84-85 at this stage. 'Last man standing' as he just said himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,318 ✭✭✭wazzzledazzle

give me strength, Kenny would you ever shut the fcuk up.