No quitten we're whelan onto chitchat 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,511 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

TThese Are the type that are out protesting https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/crime/almost-half-of-belfast-race-rioters-had-been-reported-for-domestic-abuse/a/132397511.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,110 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,682 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

A lot of those lads are looking for any excuse to riot , be it racism, sectarian, football or something else, as it reinforces their hard man image in the community and allows them carry on with their drug dealing, protection rackets and any other criminalty their involved in

Supporting the French farmers every way I can.

image.png

IMG_9242.jpeg

not a real BBQ of course but it’s mighty handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭older by the day

…..

First game of world cup on now. I think France will win outright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,704 ✭✭✭zetecescort

the extreme heat will hamper Englands chances anyway. think Brazil with a proper manager in Ancelotti will win it

Good goal there for Mexico. Can't see myself getting up in the middle of the night to watch games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,223 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

Aztec stadium looks great - loved all that Aztec imagery too from the opening ceremony. It was an amazing civilisation in many ways and such a massive loss to the world being one of the first victims of colonial genocide in the Americas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,704 ✭✭✭zetecescort

not the group games anyway. might be a few worth watching once it gets to the knockout rounds

2 red cards and missing for next game/s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,725 ✭✭✭Jb1989

For anyone here with no interest of soccer

Dd8d-h3UQAArjhX.jpg

Ye can watch love Island

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭lmk123

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,247 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

The Aztecs were the nazi germany of central america. They built great temples but with slave labour and human sacrifices of their opposing and neighbouring tribes. Even Aztec parents sold their own children into slavery for money and paying debts. The Aztec slave girl Malinche despised that her own parents sold her into slavery and the Aztecs as a whole society that she was helping Cortez to bring about their demise.

One group of modern day mexicans were looking to bring a lawsuit against another group in government that had aztec forebearers for their strife and anguish of their slave ancestor past. To be told You should be thankful your ancestors hadn't their beating hearts cut from their chests in the sacrifices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,867 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

It would be a grand aul game if the grown men would stop throwing themselves to the ground at the slightest bit of contact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭older by the day

It was amazing how they built city's. walls with no cement but not a mm out.

But no civilisation ever survived by being nice.

There must have been a big reversal in human progress, when we see pyramids and citys in the middle East.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,183 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Every empire dies eventually. Look at Britain. Slowly dying. Living on past Glory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭lmk123

nothing slow about it anymore, place is absolutely up s**t creek. Easy enough to see when it all started too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,223 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

Never said it was perfect - but compared to what the European powers did to native peoples across the Americas, it was small beer. Another historical footnote is that Cortez quickly betrayed all his native allies after the fall of the Aztecs. Mel Gibson's film Apocalypto covered some of these elements rather well I thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,247 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Better foŕ the world the aztec culture of that time was defeated.

Hitler was supposedly a great wildlife naturalist. Establishing parks by killing off the landowners.

We don't want modern day naturalists praising another barbaric civilisation because it was just brown on brown people and excusing the praise as they just weren't perfect.

Naturalists can be cold stone in their attitude to other humans. As long as they're on top and the one's not being killed or effected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭chooseusername

No foreign manager has ever won a world cup.

wc managers.jpg

There's a first time for everything of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭eastie17

daughter was watching it last night, I stuck the headphones on but jaysus even with the headphones on it was obvious they are all up themselves. They don’t stfu for 1 second. Not that they want 50 year old lads in there with a bit of a belly but I’d lose the plot after 5 minutes. Would ye stop **** talking would be the roar.

It would be a good twist to it, think of your crankiest neighbour and they get sent in there after about a week of it. Be some craic.

I’m fecken glad that fitzy lad isn’t from my own county

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭enricoh

Legend, I was glad when he hung up his leathers tho- I think his 9 lives were up.

FIFA may get Jim Gavin in to try fix soccer also, only interesting bit for me is penalties. I'll tune into the world cup tho after half the teams are gone -48 teams is ridiculous. Sometimes less is more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,787 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I was staying in a hostel in Australia when I was younger. It had a bit of a Love Island vibe, full of beautiful people with perfect tans. One young handsome, muscled Israeli lad had been causing trouble all week until things finally boiled over. A slightly overweight, sunburnt Paddy, who turned out to be a prison officer on a year out travelling, got fed up, slapped (didn't punch) him across the face and shouted, "WILL YE FECKIN COP ON!" I've never heard a louder slap and I've never seen a man subdued quicker. Off to bed in tears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,909 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Have you a better view of the bbq?

I made a smoker out of an oil drum and like to break it out once or twice a year. My wife got me a nice Webber for my birthday last year so the smoker might not see too much more use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,909 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Started in WW1 because it allowed the US grow into a super power. Then they sold a lot of their overseas bases to America in WW2 so that’s when they stoped being a navel superpower themselves. Suez crisis advertised to the world that they weren’t the big dogs anymore and Brexit was just they own delusion

https://www.campingaz.co.uk/stoves-lanterns/camping-stoves/1-burner-camping-stoves/party-grill-600-camping-bbq-stove/SP_2086267.html

This is it here, have it about 6 years.
    When I built the camper I added an outlet so I can hook up to it rather than carry a separate cylinder They do a smaller 400, be suitable for 2 people

It easily disassembles into a neat carry pack so it’s perfect for moving about so perfect for the camper, some sites in drier areas don’t allow charcoal BBQ, and I got lazy too. Hassle bringing round BBQ and charcoal and whatever.

Post edited by _Brian on