Here's What I Had For Dinner - Part III - Don't quote pics!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 13,938 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Soup, soup, soup, soup, soup, soup, soup. Miso laden soup.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 63,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Black pudding sausages, load of caramelised onion, baby spuds and carrots. Lads in work may shortly need gas masks but worth it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,697 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

God bless the Greeks

1000141375.jpg 1000141376.jpg 1000141378.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Snowcast

Chicken fillet coated in fajita mix, airfried. In a roll with cucumber, avocado, tomato, red onion and a sprinkling of cheese.

image.png

Wanted something quick, easy and comforting, and this was the jackpot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭nachouser

1000014488.jpg

Roast chicken leftovers and leftovers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭sporina

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,905 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

21752.jpg

Freezer steak, fennel/caraway slaw, mostly yoghurt rather than mayo based. Actually turned out rather nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,310 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

No idea what I wanted tonight so decided on random Indian(ish) stuff.

1000004729.jpg

I've stopped buying mayo and use greek yogurt with some miso or tahini.

+1 for the fennel/caraway

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

‘mon the Mexico!!

IMG_2235.jpeg

20260611_184105.jpg

Carbonara, as I will evidently be supporting Italy at this world cup…

… wait, sh*t.

I will have to look for some veggie Haggis. I got some about thirty years ago but can't remember where from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,583 ✭✭✭SineadSpears

Is that papperdelle pasta?

I don't like tagliatelle pasta because it's too think but I love the look of it when served.

So I wondered was there a pasta that was wide but thinner than tagliatelle.

Then, noticed a pack of papperdelle in Aldi the other day & picked it up.

Hoping it stays thin & doesn't plump up when cooked & be like tagliatelle

....…

2026: 'This is where something better begins' (←well that plan ain't working out too well)

Here we go again - FAIL

I cooked a cup of rice (which was cooked perfectly😭) and added one plump garlic clove, then felt sorry for the little scrawny clove bedside it. I usually throw those away but I thought I'd "show some garlic a good time" (as yer man says in the video) and added that in aswel.

It was faaaar too garlicy. Couldn't taste anything else.

On to the sauce. Mine looks dreadful. I added extra Cajun to try get that deep colour and it still didn't look like his. All it done was made the sauce salty. & It never reduced anywhere as thick as what he's shown. So I'm convinced he switched it out for visual purposes, grrr.

Can't believe I fecked up such a simple recipe.

Cookbook of 'How NOT To Cook' coming soon..

1000011642.jpg

https://www.instagram.com/reel/DWtIeucClME/?igsh=bTZkaDV2ZXI0c3Fn

....…

2026: 'This is where something better begins' (←well that plan ain't working out too well)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭mrm

Hey shuuuussssh! Say nathin'. That dish looks beautiful. Just say MPW rang you after posting asking you to work for him! No…to work for you.

☺️ Thanks MRM. If I took this many punches in any other areas of my life I'd 100% give up!

But the inner piglet in me keeps me motivated 🤣. God loves a trier😅

....…

Yes indeed. I don't mind linguine/spaghetti, but I just find it a bit dull when it comes to sauce adherence. Much prefer this stuff, plus it cooks in no time at all. For the record:

image.png

Side note, I'd usually throw in a clove or two of garlic to my rice while it's cooking (along with some ginger, depending, and butter). Can't say I've ever had an issue with a few cloves - and I'd devour your chicken and rice dish if it was served up to me.

Thanks @Dave_The_Sheep . I'm not really sure why it tasted so strong. I wouldn't have thought it was too much garlic either for the amount of rice.

I'm just guessing - but maybe somehow the salt enhanced the garlic in a way🤔

I love Cajun seasoning but maybe seasoning on the chicken, seasoning in the rice, and seasoning in the sauce was all too much and that's were the overall saltiness came from. Not just a salty sauce that I initially thought..

....…

I can't get my act together this week at all for some reason. I've even stuck fancy cheese in my sandwich even though I've more suitable fancy biscuits in the press.

I'll recharge myself on Sunday hopefully 🤞.

1000004744.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Addmagnet

I don't understand - what is this "too much" garlic of which you speak?

😉

😆 Garlic rice wasn't the flavour was going for!

(& I've got leftovers, whaaaaa😫)

....…

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,320 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

@SineadSpears I find a lot of recipes on Instagram can be hit or miss, some of them really shorten the cooking times to make everything look easy but in reality it takes a lot longer. That recipe does look like a lot of Cajun as you mentioned! Not a huge fan of it so I did notice that. I'm always a bit wary of the Insta recipes depending on the creator, I still save and try loads of them though!

Definitely. I love looking at food videos on Instagram, and I'm usually good at tweaking recipes to suit my own taste , or if I feel something won't work.

Also, I love Cajun, so when this one popped up, it didn't even occur to me that it might be a bit much. My only thought was, "Yep, I'm making that."

The video and the ingredients made it look completely foolproof, but what really sold it to me was that I already had everything lying around. What would have eventually been a forgotten half red pepper in the fridge and a soon to be neglected half tub of cream cheese, I was super confident that I could make those ingredients shine in one supposedly "simple" dish. 🙊

Bless my cotton socks

....…

Make some Chinese fried rice from the leftovers? A bit of ham, soy sauce, peas, egg etc. the garlic might be put to good work there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,780 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

I am pairing tonight's football game with appropriate food which is why for dinner I am having Vindaloo.

20260612_192653.jpg 20260612_193227.jpg

Very much a "use up what I've got in the house". Beets, an aubergine, quarter of a cabbage, carrots and cucumber, single wrap left and two pittas, and half a pack of coriander were on the way out. Had some chickpeas (buy a 5KG bag every so often from one of the Asian stores), so decided to make classic hummus\ganoush, one portion of beetroot hummus, one portion of pea and coriander. Toasted up the wrap and pittas in the oven to dip along with the other veggies.

+100

Still can't get my mojo working. Pizza and chips.

1000004748.jpg

20260613_184317.jpg

Bolognese simmering all day. Oddly enough, my partner prefers it like this (presentation and eating wise - this is her bowl), but I'll mix my pasta and sauce together in the pot. One of those neurological preferences, I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Snowcast

Lamb chops, mash and pan gravy.

20260613_211149.jpg

First time in absolutely ages that I've had lamb chops, and they were divine.

Gazpacho, Patatas Bravas and accompaniments.

Shadow version and flash version but neither look exactly like the real thing.

1000004767.jpg 1000004760.jpg