Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 12.02.26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,788 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

I'd be surprised if that info was out there and didn't leak into the pubic

City are going to operate as normal until they hear otherwise. They can't stand still while the charges are dragged out for years on end.

Even when the verdict drops, IF they are found guilty in it then their official line will be "we are shocked, disappointed and will fight this to clear our name blah blah".

From the point of view of players joining I would presume they have break clauses in their contract or agreements they can leave for X amount if City face relegation. If they don't then they have a very bad agent.

If a player is picking City this summer then let them off IMO and best of luck to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,628 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Feels like we've done what City seem to have done to us on a few occasions.

Not that I don't think we were genuinely interested in signing him, but I suspect we (like most supporters) probably knew that the price would be too high.

If we've helped out in any way by making City pay more than they might have, then I'll take that.

I would have liked to see us getting him but I do think himself and Mainoo wouldn't be the ideal pairing. I think Anderson's progress will be a bit like Bellinghams in that he'll play higher and higher up the pitch in the coming years.

Anderson is a very good player and could go to the very top of the game sure but that fee is too much for what he IS right now.

These mega money deals have a history of not working out more often than they do. Even when the player is very good.

Take a look at the top 10/20/30 transfers off all time and how many would you consider a massive success and worth the fee paid?

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/statistik/transferrekorde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,859 ✭✭✭SteM

I'm not a conspiracy theory type but I find it hard to believe City would be willing to spend £60m+ on Semenyo and £100m+ on Anderson unless they have a very good idea on how things are going to pan out. My guess is they know they'll be handed a fine, warned of future conduct and that'll be it. That's what I'm preparing myself for anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,775 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Some United related waffle for today, as usual reliability may vary.

Manchester United are continue to monitor Tyler Adams' situation at Bournemouth and view him as a strong tactical fit for their midfield.

However, no formal approach or bid has been made. For now, United's interest remains at the scouting stage, with any concrete developments expected after the 2026 FIFA World Cup. [@MailSport] #mufc—————-

“West Ham’s asking price for Mateus Fernandes was informed to clubs BEFORE they got relegated and suitors still feel that price might DROP.

“They are sticking to the price for now because the transfer window hasn't even OPENED and due to the volume of interest”. #MUFC [@JacobsBen, GMS]————1

Manchester United are preparing an offer for RC Lens’ Mamadou Sangaré. He would cost more than €40m. [@sebnonda]—————-

Manchester United are monitoring Khéphren Thuram. There's no set price for Thuram, but initial discussions could start around €45m-€50m. [@_Morik92_]——————

Carlo Ancelotti has TESTED Éderson as a right back in Brazil training today. #MUFC [globo, @BrasilEdition ]—————-

Manchester United have been intent on trying to beat their cross-town rivals to Anderson, but whether Sir Jim Ratcliffe, the club’s football chief, gives the green light to an effort to outbid City with the fee now so high remains to be seen. It is understood United may end their interest - Jamie Jackson—————

David Ornstein said the Red Devils are focusing on players who want to join them, including West Ham United's Mateus Fernandes and Alex Scott of Bournemouth.Fabrizio Romano has claimed that the Hammers value Fernandes at £85m, while Bournemouth are reported to want £80m to consider selling Scott—————

Manchester United held talks with Nathaniel Brown’s representatives in recent weeks, with the defender open to the club’s project and a potential move to the Premier League.

However, United have opted against entering a bidding war and will not match Bayern Munich’s financial offer. [@BILD]—————

Manchester United are continuing to monitor Nico Williams' situation, with the club being kept informed as the winger's representatives assess the market ahead of a decision on his future.

While United remain admirers of the Spanish international, they are unwilling to pay an excessive fee, with strengthening the midfield currently viewed as a higher priority. [@elnacionalcat]—————

Alex Scott remains on Manchester United’s shortlist, with the club believing he could be signed for around £60M.

Bournemouth are pushing to tie him down to a new deal beyond 2028, with a proposed £75M release clause likely to set their asking price. [@TheAthleticFC] #mufc——————

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,584 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Anderson, if he's as good as people think he is, would have the potential to be a Keane level signing, and possibly worth whatever silly amount Forest want. But when we signed Keane, we'd just won the title and were building on that. Now we still need a lot of work on the squad and spending that much on a single player is just not feasible.

Put your money where yer mouth is... Subscribe and Save Boards!

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

If that happens then the PL is in big trouble

But to counter your conspiracy somewhat, Pep did say that if City were found guilty he'd walk.

Does he know something is coming?

Surely he would have liked to see out his contract and maybe leave with another PL or CL?

Why now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,434 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

First paragraph is miles out in my opinion.

Decision expected this summer, I don't believe it. It's been expected by half a dozen previous estimates and all have come and gone. This could easily drag on for years more which is precisely City's aim.

And if found guilty they'll be relegated at the least? Extremely unlikely. It'll be financial punishment only I'd say.

Agree on the legal challenges though, if the Burnley ruling against Everton holds up under appeal, then every single club who has ever played in the Premier League in the same season as City during their tainted era should be taking a claim because they all faced an unfair disadvantage in some way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,507 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

the price was known when they were breifing. but apparently had no intention of paying that price. thats my issue.

why brief at all?

was there a legit chance you could have married her? cos there was a legit chance of us getting anderson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭GolfPar

Mainoo will be starting ahead of Anderson later in the world cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭MercuryBoy

Like someone mentiomed above, I'd say if the verdict were known already it would have leaked, especially now that Pep doesn't work there anymore and is presumably out and about in the football world more. City are doubling down on the "too big to fail" strategy and are probably writing in clauses to players contracts where they can leave or take a massive bonus if they get relegated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,697 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

What does briefing even mean? Is there a statement from Manchester United stating that Anderson was their priority for this summer?

Or does it mean somebody said it to a journo in the hotel bar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

There has never been a case in British legal history where a decision has taken more than 18 months. I'd say we will find out this Summer.

If they're guilty of all charges then they will face massive penalties I think. It can't and won't be just a fine. It will be argued they gained a massive competitive advantage on the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,434 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

I hope you're right. I want to see them scraping around the non leagues for the foreseeable.

I just can't see it happening.

I am convinced that the result is already known to certain people, and the delay is due to them being scared shitless of the implications. Especially following that Burnley/Everton judgement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Hodors Appletart

it's neither of these things, not everything is black and white, either A or B

It's well known what club briefings are, but to explain it - it's when it becomes pretty obvious that a club rep who is trusted by a number of journalists tells those journalists something, but for various reasons it can't be an "official statement" - journalists are happy to run with stories, clubs are happy to have certain things printed, and it's all with plausible deniability.

You can construe scenarios about hotel bars if you like, and fair enough nothing is to be taken as absolute truth unless it's from an official account, but the fact remains that these things DO happen.

How much credence you personally put into it is up to you, and some journalists are to be trusted more than others - BUT, when a number of more trusted journalists all print a similarly worded story at the same, it's probably safe to assume it came from within the club. The alternative is that journalists from rival publications all got together and made something up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,094 ✭✭✭✭johnnyryan89

I doubt it. I think it will be Anderson and Rice for his midfield duo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,872 ✭✭✭caviardreams

Agree - Mainoo off the bench or maybe to start for a dead rubber game. But no shame in being a finisher rather than starter. It takes a squad and all that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭All_in_Flynn

I think the precedent has been set now. Everton are getting bent over left and right.

The issue is that if found guilty they are going to scream and shout and appeal this all the way to CAS which could possibly take years. But the other angle is that while City will defo appeal, there is a reason to believe they will also want the decision on said appeal relavtively quickly. If this drags it will be a slower bleed for them with players values plummeting as bargaining power weakens, sponsorship deals fade etc etc etc.

I just cannot envisage a scenario where if they're guilty then they are not dropped down a league at the minimum.

I thought I knew what "briefings" were, except they used to mean news and now they apparently mean rumors.

Feeding journalists information you don't want to announce officially is commonplace, but that news is usually a bit more than "We want the most sought after midfielder in England". Like, no **** sherlock.

And lets be honest, just look at all the rumors that for some reason keep getting listed out in here, the vast majority of them are made up. If you can even call it "made up" when they stretch to little more than "United are continuing to monitor but haven't actually done anything".

I have it on good authority from a trusted source that Manchester United are actively working on a striker this summer. Like and subscribe please.

I list the rumours because it's a bit of craic, it's summer there's nothing to really talk about and I do mention reliability may be shite.

Jesus they really want the full 120m in one go.

1000037689.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,813 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭ericzeking

He'd want to be some player, can't say I've seen much of him other than United games where he did look decent….

the next big English thing doesn't always work out, Grealish, Foden, Palmer all have the summer off.

I'd be hopeful this Vivell chap has something handier from the depths of the Austrian or swiss league, written in his little black book that will only cost a bag of jerseys and some cones.

They'll need to trust Vivell because if you're shopping in the premier league there's always going to be a premium and that premium is only going to get higher.

Vivell is meant to be a recruitment guru and I'm sure he's getting paid handsomely by United to keep him at the club. Put that man's knowledge to good use. Surely he can spot a player or two abroad whose got attributes which would see them adapt to English football quick enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,199 ✭✭✭Robson99

Great player but you could possibly get Fernandes & Lewis Hall for that money, certainely Fernandes and Mateta, which is what we need right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭scottser

I'd be surprised if City agree to the full 120 up front; they might well keep the offer on the table and let Anderson's camp do the pushing internally. That kind of money has to play with Anderson's head though. He'll be doing well to switch off from it during the WC.

Rejecting a £106M plus add ons must surely be the Forest owner trying to play Billy Big Bollox. Also money bags City could surely find other players to sign when they're willing to spend that much on just one player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,976 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Marinakas is a lunatic tbf. Gibbs White had a medical booked at Spurs last summer after they activated his release clause but he threatened legal action against them (seems like theres a bit of uncertainty whether they did or didnt know he had a RC) and the deal fell through. He'll make it hell for any club trying to sign any of their best players.

Vivell is best with up and comers so if he does it's going to be some 21yr old 😂 , we have some new data guy who worked in F1 previously, so I would guess he will also have a gem or 2 to be looked at.