Dee Forbes banging the RTE TV licence drum again 60m uncollected fee *poll not working - pl ignore*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

Yes, the salary is enormous, I understand that, but that doesn't affect my soul.

Oh look who it is, returning as just another poster returned from a short break - what an amazing coincidence! Intriguing indeed.

Unfortunately for your two main idols The Toyman and Mr. Kelly (sounds like an indie band name) they’re inextricably linked to The Ryan Tubridy Pay Scandal and central to it, as well as being the faces of wider governance issues in the state broadcaster, Indeed Mr. Kelly was a central participant to it with his provision of invoices to RTÉ for services rendered or not rendered as it proved to be.

And as long and The Toyman and Mr. Kelly continue to drag it out continuously and remind us all that it hasn’t gone away every time they make the headlines for continuing to seek access to emails and other documents in RTÉ they amplify it and give further life to it.

Yes, the salary is enormous, I understand that, but that doesn't affect my soul.

Whether starter or dessert, it’s always delicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭rightmove

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭PeadarCo

Welcome to modern media.Tubridy posts on Instagram because this is one of ways he makes money. People with a tiny fraction of Tubridy's profile can make a living out of just posting on Instagram. I imagine he is on a whole heap of other new media, Spotify, YouTube etc etc etc as well. This is like everyone else in the media space. It says something about the demographic of this website that for some people this will come as a surprise.

This is what RTE is competing with for both presenters and more importantly audience. I keep going back to the recent champions league final because the numbers watching it on dodgey boxes give some indication of the amount of people who don't have RTE TV stations. This is a huge problem long term for the organization and anyone who values public broadcasting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,633 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I would like to see more details on the numbers for the Champions League viewership because on the face of it they are highly dubious on multiple levels.

What is the typical % share for the Champions League final?

RTE actually had FTA coverage of the game. How many watched on RTE?

What channel was alleged to be getting this dodgy box audience?

How many watched through Premier Sports?

In pubs?

The numbers dont add up.

It would imply pretty much every household in the country was watching the game. And that would be nonsense.

Sounds like bots or VPNs are involved somewhere.

I would well believe there was a large audience in UK as there was no FTA broadcaster. But that wasnt the case here.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

A lot of people don't have RTE these days. No need a smart TV, Firestick or similar device gives a person far more options via Netflix, Prime, Disney, Now TV etc etc. Far far more options. The real question is how many people have access to terrestrial TV and the demographic.

We know dodgey boxes are an issue for Sky due to them sending out solicitors letters. If you have a dodgey box, why bother with RTE, BBC etc. Streaming services raise the same question except done in a more legal manner. Look at the GAA Kerry Donegal on their own streaming service, RTE was not required, unthinkable even a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,145 ✭✭✭RoTelly

All of the terrestrial players are available on Smart TVs (RTÉ, TG4, VMTV), along with Channel 4. Most smart manufactors then have their own "TV platform" (LG Channels). This is on top of all of the preimum services NOW, Paramount +, Netflix, Disney +, in many cases these double up.

Not sure about GAA +, but many cricket fans in England will tell you the demise of cricket is large due to the paywall.

Remember RTÉ, TG4 and VMTV are based in a country that had 70% pay TV (cable and satellite) penetration along with spillover TV signals giving people access to welsh and NI signals.

It was thinkable a few years ago GAA GO was part owned by RTÉ. But the GAA need to be careful and no allow themselves as a stand alone service or a Pay only service.

I think much of that dodgey box news reporting is lead by Sky.

______

In the end they were just greedy, they all knew one another and knew what to expect more money for no return, it was a secure cash flow, but in fairness they looked for what they wanted and fair dues to them for that, and wouldn't you be doing the same!

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

lol this is absolutely hilarious.

No-one is “surprised” at anyone being on Instagram.

But back to your point about people making a living on it. Tell me how much money a person would make doing an “insta live” about books for an hour then with a grand total of 13 viewers, boosted by a whopping additional 4 viewers on YouTube?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Not sure of the relevancy of this to the topic being discussed, if I’m being honest. As we can see, there’s a small, but extremely passionate, group of contributors on this thread who want to discuss RTÉ governance in more detail.

I really don’t know what Tubs and the wider NKM stable of talent has to do with that.

The Hurst is really showing he is not afraid to make difficult decisions. From outsourcing the Lotto to shutting down Long Wave (despite the screaming of about 5 nerds).

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,303 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Don't think you fully appreciate the RTOD factor at play.

Indeed I think any views on Goverance of RTÉ currently or from the past, or in the last 3 years might be useful.

Do you think KB4 has being doing a good job, particularly in relation to content.

As you know it is hard to get a view on RTÉ, are you well enough for that exam now!

______

In the end they were just greedy, they all knew one another and knew what to expect more money for no return, it was a secure cash flow, but in fairness they looked for what they wanted and fair dues to them for that, and wouldn't you be doing the same!

Yesterday

I’m sorry that you the other number of small but extremely passionate Toyman Super Fans (TSFs) and indeed Noel Kelly Super Fans (NKSFs) can’t see that as the face of The Ryan Tubridy Pay Scandal his name and that of his agent will always be inextricably linked to RTÉ governance, waste, overpayment, junkets, jollies. Freebies and excess.

I appreciate this is completely anecdotal but it's years since I watched RTE or terrestrial TV full stop. Getting Saorview is a bit of hassle and no big push with options like Netflix. I know I'm not the only person in this situation. You can dismiss the stories re dodgey boxes but it is indicative of how things are going. I watch the odd report from Primetime on YouTube if it interests me or check the RTE website the odd time for news. But that's it.

Dismiss the move to digital all you want but I'd argue it's one of the reasons RTE is in its current mess. Very hard to persuade politicians to increase the license fee or give more money when large sections of the population don't watch TV or listen to radio at least on a regular basis. The change in media habits isn't as high profile as presenters pay but long term I'd argue it's far far more corrosive for RTE.

Equally, I don’t think you appreciate your and your number of small but extremely passionate TSF and NKSF factors at play.

No idea you'd need to ask Tubridy or the thousands of people who make a living off Instagram. Like yourself I'd have no interest in following Tubridy but it's undeniable Instagram provides a living for a lot of people. The vast majority of whom anyone posting on this thread has never heard of.

nice deflection, let me ask it another way - do you think you can survive off subj a paltry audience?

if only they’d invested in digital over the years and not overpaid the superstar talent. 🤷‍♂️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭csirl

On the outsourcing issue, is tbere a danger that RTE's permanent staff, who are already underworked, will have even less work to do because tasks are being outsourced. Surely you dont outsource until such time as all your own staff are fully occupied and productive?

Also means the taxpayer is paying on the double - paying the salaries of RTE staff to do less - and paying to purchase the outsourced work.

hmmmm…

IMG_6913.jpeg

And

IMG_6912.jpeg

And

IMG_6911.jpeg

And

IMG_6910.jpeg

And

IMG_6909.jpeg

And

IMG_6908.jpeg

And there’s more….

Perhaps time is to you what numbers are to The Toyman?

Or maybe your account was hacked?

Don't care. But people do. Remember Instagram is nearly as big as Facebook and is very highly monetized. It's no different to YouTube. All major social media platforms pay creators via ad Revenue.

I don't care if Tubridy is making money or not. But the guy is money savy and he's not posting on Instagram for the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,303 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

It's all RTOD with how much or how little someone who hasn't worked in RTE for three years might be making.

RTE has problems but none relate to former presenters.

I understand the hassle of getting saorview, as I do not have it, for the same reason you do not. There was a time you just had to put up rabbit ears for terrestrial TV, but as you need a good signal for DTT you have either put up a loft or an outdoor aerial. I could do this but I am not all that bother, I have other things to do in the house. Most likely SAORVIEW will hopefully start an online service but sadly as Virgin Media own the main commercial TV broadcaster it is unlikely.

I am dismissive of the dodgy box stories as they are coming from one area, I don't really understand why you would pay a monthly fee for a dodgy box TBH, a one off I could understand but getting to the point of paying someone for content, why not just pay for it! Or with the Champions League Final watch it for free.

And I am the same in relation to RTÉ in terms of NEWS and CA, indeed they should use Youtube more, no idea why RTÉ NEWS NOW is not on youtube as a LIVE channel.

As I say RTÉ, TV3 and TG4 have always had to battle foreign broadcasters. 50% of the TV audience itself is with non-Irish broadcasters (April share for All Irish channels was 48.5%), and that has been the case for the last 25 years, as I see it RTÉ since the 80s have had this problem, consider they once part owned the cable network on which Virgin Media sits.

The main problem for RTÉ has they have never look at all of this, so now that they find themselves under pressure they continue to try to attract audience with big names which overvalue.

Media habits have change at this point.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

We get it, mate. You’ve a bit of an obsession with all things Ryan Arthur Tubridy, and Irish celebrities in general. 

Can we, again, please just get back to discussing the topic of RTE governance and funding? This is the current affairs forum, after all, not showbiz and celebrities.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,633 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Nothing to stop you doing so. No reason at all why you can't start a discussion on a particular point.
    It's not out fault Tubridy screwed up and keeps popping up in the media mentioning RTE.

So the fact that instead of actually discussing these points you claim to care about with RTE, instead the focus on your posts is whenever Tubridy is criticised - that proves this is just a disingenuous attempt to shut down criticism of someone whose shoddy conduct brought to many of the issues in RTE to light.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Back to your usual and overworn tactic of trying to shut down any commentary of Tubs and the NKM machine I see?

Truly bizarre how obsessed you are with them.

I'd disagree to suggest that RTÉ problems aren't related to former presenters. While, you might argue, as The Village once did, that the overvaluing of RTÉ "talent" was due to the management, you also have to understand that RTÉ "talent" knew the position of RTÉ financially over the last 2 decades and they where party to overvalued contracts.

Yes, you can again argue, wouldn't you take if you were overvalued? but in the end that's just you admitting both the talent and RTÉ are overvaluing their price.

The idea that presenters didn't know what their contracts involved is (IMO) completely far fetched, of course they knew. Indeed at one point one refused outright to take a pay cut, another suggested he made money for RTÉ, while for some unknown legal reasons another would be unable to take a cut at this time. If they can make such excuses confidently I don't see how we could believe they where unaware.

______

Yesterday

Again, the two will always be intertwined, firstly because The Toyman is the face of The Ryan Tubridy Pay Scandal which subsequently exposed lots of other flaws within the organisation, and secondly because he never stops talking about RTÉ himself, about a possible return, offering his opinion on Patrick Kielty, offering his opinion on TLLS, and telling us all about how things were in his time there.

Streisand Effect and all that. Something the TSFs and the NKSFs don’t seem to understand. 🤷‍♂️

To be fair, that’s the funniest thing I’ve read in years, esp. the “money savvy” bit. He’s so money savvy he didn’t realise he overpaid at all and that his earnings were “mis-stated” by €345,000.

🤣

Post edited by Peter Dragon on

People need to move on from the RTE secret payments scandal. Maybe a full reading of this Wiki article will help.

RTÉ secret payment scandal - Wikipedia