Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭thegame983

I think it would help the left wing position if they didn't all come across as utterly deranged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,891 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

Tommy Robinson is a fuckin grifter and I know precisely what side his bread is buttered.

Musk is a lunatic, an actual lunatic.

Farage is dubious at best.

However none of them have any bearing on my feelings about the unchecked immigration issue.

It wasn't tommy Robinson stabbing up kids in a creche.

It wasn't Musk decapitating gay men in sligo.

It's not farage camped out in a shanty town in Herbert park.

All you are doing is trying to demean people's opinions by tieing them to shady characters in other places. It's pathetic tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,232 ✭✭✭Nigzcurran

Time is contagious, everybody's getting old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,957 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Return them to wherever they've arrived from.

It can and has been done in limited numbers, such as with the lads that stowed away in a container the other day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,006 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Is immigration 'unchecked' though? The government seems to have toughened up its stance on asylum seekers considerably in the last year or two under O'Callaghan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭batman_oh

30 odd year old Somalian pretending to be a child stabs a Ukranian 17 year old over 100 times in Tusla care. That's one example more than we should have of letting random violent animals in without verifying who they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭strathspey

Why can't we do like the Swiss, the passenger list is filed before take-off. If any passengers are flagged, border police/immigration control enter the plane and demand to see passports. Those without passports are immediately returned to the planes, place of origin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭Resplendent Moose

random violent animals

Top tip: if trying to make a point while pretending to not be racist, quoting Stephen Miller is not the way to go about it.

A personal invitation to dance, as Nero plays for the last time
    Tonight you will mix with the prophets without honour...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,891 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

If i referred to the scum that butchered Keane Mulready Woods as random violent animals, would that be racist?

Or is it only racist to call random violent animals of colour, random violent animals?

Yes.

"Animals" is a loaded term used by racists to depict people of colour as subhuman. Stephen Miller is a well-known user of it.

By all means call these killers "random violent" or "scum", but I have difficulty believing - given your posting history and affiliations - that you're unaware of the implications of using "animals". If I'm wrong then I'll gladly accept your apology and correction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,146 ✭✭✭dabbler2004

Makes perfect sense to me. There's so much that could be done for us to have functioning border control but where is the political will to back it up. It can't be a cost reason, after all aren't we such a rich country..

If I call somebody who butchers a child for fun and stabs him in both eyes a random violent animal, then I'm a racist nazi?

Good to see that this is the level of indoctrination we are now dealing with. And I guess this is attacking the poster but it's in response to being directly called a racist and linked to Stephen Miller

Post edited by batman_oh on

Animals shouldn't be used because the fact of the matter is, the animal kingdom does not conduct itself in the way the human race does so they shouldn't be tarnished with the same brush as our species. Also, i dont know who stephen miller is so i couldn't give two shites what he says.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

When the appalling Sinead Gibney was the head in there, she "deemed it essential" that AS could sue the hole of us if we couldn't give them nice accommodation on arrival - These people are ******* mental!

What about people who riot in the streets and burn out homes and businesses?

What has that got to do with you saying I'm racist for calling a psycho pretending to be a child and then butchering an actual child an animal? He should get special protected status because you say so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭thegame983

The guy who stabbed that Ukrainian kid in both eyes is an animal.

The guy who tried to decapitate that Northern Irish guy is an animal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,672 ✭✭✭✭listermint

You don't have any animals so, because animals are vast and I'm pretty confident most of them wouldnt pick up a knife and stab someone to death. They'd have some difficulty doing that.

🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Juran

Animals dont kill for fun or out of hatered, or cause they have mental health issues. Only animals who are predators kill for food, or to defend when attacked. And they only kill for food what they need for themselves and their off spring. Majority of animals on earth are herbivors and eat plants. I think the majority of people on this earth have respect for animals, so I would never call these murderpus evil people animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭plodder

If this all weren't so horrendous and tragic, it would actually be funny to think that calling someone an animal is equated with "quoting Stephen Miller". Did you know you were quoting him, I wonder? Post #16151 is a perfect example of the ludicrous policing of language going on here.

Regarding the post below:

Is anyone here not condemning that? I heard Emma Little whatsherface from the DUP this morning on Radio 1. Even she condemned it, but I doubt would get much credit for that.

And while the DUP can never turn down an opportunity to put barriers between the North and South, which she attempted to do this morning, she defended herself much more robustly than any mainstream politician here would, from an attempt by an immigrant campaigner to basically stop talking about immigration. The silly shenanigans on social media (and sites like this) are one thing, but that was outrageous.

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

I didn't say you were a racist, I said "animals" is a term used by racists. I'd expect it's also used by zookeepers.

I'd say "nice attempt at baiting" only it wasn't, it was pathetic. Please note: I'm saying the baiting attempt was pathetic, not you. Do you see the difference? I'll accept your apology now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,957 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Willie Power

I think the position on asylum seekers and immigration should change whereby they have to prove their record as law abiding citizens who will contribute to Irish society. Rather than a haphazard system where they are allowed into our country, with virtually no proof of their character, and so many slipping through the cracks.

"He might be an eejit, but he's our eejit"
    Willie Power

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,692 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Most of the residents there are from the occupied part of Ukraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,785 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Yes and many are elderly or in Education locally. Meaning chances are they will be joining the rental market rather than going back home, should cause a nice boost to rent prices for any landlord in the area. This government does love landlords in fairness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,672 ✭✭✭✭listermint

You've little to no interest in engaging in proper discussion on this in fact other posters that share not dissimilar views as yourself have actually engaged properly with the conversation around subversion and nefarious people getting involved here to stoke tentions.

You seem incapable in understanding or actually talking to the reasons migration is occuring and who stands to benefit from it, because talking to that would mean actual solutions could be worked towards.

And that doesn't fit neatly into pages and pages out outrage and fear stoking.

We shouldn't be assisting in wars being proliferated in the middle east or north Africa.

We shouldn't be incentivising wealth funds or wealthy individuals in accommodation schemes through tax breaks.

We shouldn't be underfunding our civil sector in processing immigration applications.

We shouldn't be underfunding border controls and enforcement.

There are things that should be being done for all these, there's isn't one silver bullet. But you'd like to oversimplify the issue. And you'll ignore actual cause and effect, you ignore data and news articles.

What is it you're getting from this thread then since you're so flippant about all of this and just seeking thanks validation by throwing out one liners every few posts ?

Do you actually want to solve immigration at all? And if so how , how do you tie the above drivers to solutions because pretending the above isn't the drivers is blatantly untruthful.

Kaiser tells people not to engage in conversation of causes and solutions. Lefty lefty something something progressives.

I mentioned it before on this thread over a year ago. My husband of 25 years is from an EU country, worked in Ireland in a high salary postion since he arrived. We own our own house. He pays over €100k a year in paye taxes, no criminal record here or at home, fully compliant with car tax, tv license, property tax, etc. He now has irish citizenship, mainly as he wanted it after Brexit as he travels to the UK for work and to see my family with me. Took him almost 3 years to get (covid delayed it by a year). They made him jump through hoops. The amount of documenation he had to submit, plus offically translate all his home records. Each record had to be authenticated by a legal notary public. They kept coming back for more info over the 3 year period. And we didnt complain, it showed how diligent the process was.

I still cant comprehend how so many AS and IPA's are getting citizenship, the majority who claim to have no identification papers from home, and have no employment or tax records from Ireland, and seem to be able to produce police certifcates that they have no crminal records outside Ireland. It baffles me ? And yet, we often hear of cases where many were awarded irish citizenship but the authorities find out later, usually during a court case that the submitted documents were false. Is it a case if you claim to be from a specific list of countries eg, nigeria, pakistan, afganistan, sudan, etc you dont need any paperwork, cititzenship is just handed out like smarties ???

Interesting, do you have actually details or how many 'ipas' are getting citizenship? Or are you aware the path and timelines are exactly the same as anyone else.

Can you give details rather than 'you hear' ?

Once you are in the country for 5 years, you can apply, as an EU or non-EU citizen. Over 90% of non-EU who apply, are sucessful (dept Justice data). Non-EU included non refugees, but you only need to look at the data released annually by the state, that apart from Indians (who come here on legal work visas), the majority are from the known AS countries.

So I didnt 'hear' this information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Marcos

Now imagine how many more bizarre turns if certain parties deliberately wanted to deflect and direct this thread down any cul de sacs in order to divert from any discussion that they may feel is "problematic?" Thankfully we don't have anybody doing that here, Heaven forfend!

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.