Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - Malahide 10th June 2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Thrashssacre

When I was at maiden it was the normal entrance and there was another checkpoint for the front standing, was fairly seemless to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

Sound lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,114 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Ffs change to the times, bus not even out of Kilcullen

'Stage times for Malahide Castle tonight

Gates: 16:30
    Show Starts: 17:15
    Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds: 20:00
    All times are subject to change'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Major Dad

Would suggest it’s highly unlikely that Nick Cave starts at 8pm.Earliest I’ve seen a headliner start in recent years has been 8.30pm and usually it’s between 8.45pm-9pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,633 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

His set could run for two and half hours, not sure what the curfew is in Malahide but an 8ish start is possible.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,403 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

agreed, entirely possible to be honest.

first gig of a new tour, he might want to allow for contingency

Definitely possible, he wasn't long under 3 hours in Dublin last time.

Not exactly manic around the village, currently in gibneys and there's seats galore, we might be getting a much more intimate gig then many of us expected 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭fourmations

Suits me, less bar queues , easier to get home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭Ken Tucky

Mulligans sweating in my layers

Just about to head onto the dart

Think I might do one more though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 573 ✭✭✭TenPicnics

Curfew is 10.30 I think, so Nick at 8-ish is very possible.

Bus pulling up now

Site looks a bit smaller

1000461319.jpg 1000461325.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭h2005

Will there be free buses running back into town after this? The bus from St Annes to Connolly was brilliant Sunday night!

Ground holding up great

Seems smaller here for some reason (not here since Blur in 2023)

1000461410.jpg 1000461447.jpg 1000461454.jpg 1000461396.jpg

Not many here at all so far I walked pretty much straight to the stage.

Place is empty

Jesus...

Hopefully fills up in the next hour

Enjoyed Bleech 9:3 for the bits i heard

Lykke Li or whatever not my cup of tea

Drinks

1000461550.jpg

Licky lee seemed disinterested.

Did she wear the wet gear as a bet?

Couldn't blame her..everyone else was disinterested.

Taught it was quite good myself

Definitely don't think the "front standing" segregation works for a gig like this. Both sections look stupidly empty

Should of asked could I get in there on the way in

Some steps gained to get the drinks between those barriers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,638 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

The back half of the field has about 9 people in it. Everyone must be at GNR?

Save boards.ie by subscribing: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,638 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

2026-06-1020.48.451760403241162620893.jpg

. .

Save boards.ie by subscribing: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Good gig, meh sound, awful turnout.

'Rainy Night in Soho' to end the night was amazing

Agreed on the sound, but they seemed to get to grips with it the further into the gig we went. When he started the vocals were way too high in the mix and the bass was too low, then they swapped.

Coming from David byrne on Sunday, where the sound was pristine, it was very noticable.

The gig itself took a while to get going, I mentioned earlier that it was completely stupid to segregate the front standing for the numbers of tickets bought. At a minimum they should have pulled the separating barriers about 30 meters closer to the stage. When Nick began there was about 25 meters of clear space between the barriers and the backs of the people in the front standing area. Ludacris really. One look at the ticket sales would have shown what to expect.

Pity, because it's a great venue. It's huge.

Yep..an it looked very spur of the moment too

But what a beautiful moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭head82

My first time seeing Nick Cave live and he didn't disappoint! His stage presence and raw energy is incredible. Yet can still reign it in when required and bring a tenderness and restraint on those tracks that demand it.. particularly on 'Into My Arms'.. a beautiful rendition.

Was also my first gig at Malahide castle. As open air venues go, it was… grand. Sound quality left something to be desired but it's always going to be hit or miss at these sort of venues. It didn't feel like there was a poor turnout as others have mentioned but I had front standing tickets and wasn't paying attention to what was going on behind me. Be interesting to find out what the ticket sales were, compared to available capacity.

The general buzz at the end of the night seemed to indicate that everyone had a great time.. including me! (and Nick seemed to have enjoyed himself as well)

Now if only he had played 'Stagger Lee'..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,196 ✭✭✭Polar101

As expected, the setlist was completely different to the Wild God tour. There were two or three songs I didn't recognise at all, maybe they were new songs or maybe they were from those albums I hadn't paid much attention to.

Not sure about the crowd, it wasn't very lively in the "front standing" section except at the very front. It was quite busy where I was, so I can't tell how many people were in the grass section.

Henry Lee and Hiding All Away were the highlights for me.

Coming back, Irish Rail did all right, Dublin bus not so much but I blame GNR for that.