All brake discs warped

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,277 ✭✭✭✭User1998

Ah at least you got these ones for free. So you should get another year out of them before needing to replace. In future find a new mechanic and try buy the parts yourself so you know your not getting cheap crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭lucalux

Ended up paying him €50 for his trouble 😑

Yeah I know what you mean. It's a f*cking nightmare trying to do this **** when you're not mechanically minded enough to catch bullshit like this, but I could not have been clearer about not wanting cheap shite on the car

Add to that he repeatedly got angry at me for asking questions.

I don't often feel like getting into a fight with a 6 foot 6" Latvian lad when I'm on my own (or ever ha)

Cúnty shite. Anyway. Here's hoping they hold for a while. At least I know I need to replace them and can budget for that now

thanks for your help lads. I'll ask ye for some recs for parts before replacing next time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭9935452

Comline are what one of my local motor factors stock on the shelf.

I asked one day were they any good , i was getting brake caliorrs

I was told at least the parts are new, not reworked ..

Everything before that was reworked shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭9935452

Find a different mechanic.

Ask old mechanic for recommendations if needed.

When your mechanic supplies parts , if there is a warranty issue , he should be standing over the parts, ie not charging labour to change them again..

They charge a premium on the parts so mske a profit on them.

When you supply parts , if there is an issue , they have no real responsibility warranty wise..

I will admit that it is getting harder and harder to find good reliable mechanics.

A share have closed or retired near me recently.

Whats left doesnt want the work, arent taking on anymore work ,arent reliable.

A friend supplies his own parts but says he has to check whether those parts get swapped out for cheaper parts. But still goes to that mechanic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭mk7r

I wouldn't fit comline to a lawnmower, the quality is absolutely shocking stiff. We also don't deal with anyone who stocks them as a brand anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭murph226

I try and fit ATE brand brakes whenever possible, they can be expensive but they are good quality and last a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭almostover

Brembo brake components is what I've been using on both my and my wife's car and they have given great service and performance.

Fitted a set of Apec pads and discs to a Passat I had years ago and had the same experiences as the OP. Warped after about 12 months. Learned my lesson back then that you pay for what you get i.e. buy cheap buy twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭murph226

Apec are absolute muck, I refuse to fit them.

Yeah Brembo stuff is good.

I often use Ferodo pads with various other brands of discs when people are trying to save a few quid.

I fit a lot of the ATE stuff and have never had an issue, try them out, you won't be disappointed, better value again from Autodoc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭lucalux

Thanks lads I think I'll go with Brembo parts next time as I'm hoping the car will do me a few years.

Wasn't all that confident about my favourite mechanic's work so

...I impulse booked an NCT for this evening

Fail on a coil spring broken 😕

Had felt a knocking sensation through the accelerator on a roundabout earlier, and it got me worrying about that plus the generally floaty-feeling suspension and what seems like less responsive steering lately

Ringing my old mechanic in the morning and not driving till I can book it in with him or whoever I can get

sigh 😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Fancy_ward

It’s unlikely all four discs are truly warped; more often it’s surface rust, pad deposits, or the car sitting for a long time causing poor contact. Real heat warping on all corners is rare. Budget parts can be sourced from Autodoc if you’re keeping costs down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,277 ✭✭✭✭User1998

The problem was caused by using cheap parts, and your suggestion is to use cheap parts😂