This week's EV bargain that I'm not buying V2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭cunnifferous

I've a 2015 L24 that's just dropped to 9 bars. It's got 212k on the clock, so yep seems like the L40 battery holds up better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭turbodiesel

1000129883.jpg

Apologies, I thought "bars" were the circles on top when referring to the EV battery in a leaf, just catches my eyeline, never even thought to look to the right edge.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,579 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

They are the power bars. Floor it and fill the circles!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭evftw

I'm not convinced. I think the 24 kWh batteries report the actual SOH more truthfully than the 30/40 kWh packs. There was even that famous BMS update for the L30 that got our 7 bar car back to 11 bars. And that 131-7-bar 24 kWh car has the older pre-lizard battery that was also fitted on the very first Sunderland builds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

No problem. I thought you were looking at the longer bars and mis-counted.

The circles represent real time energy consumption, almost like a rev counter. The 4 circles on the left represent regen in real time when the foot is taken off the juice pedal. The large bars on the right are the state of charge. 12 bars showing 45 miles gives an indicated 70km or so. 60 more realistic. Grand shopping trolley.

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,076 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Leaf has 24kWh gross and 22kWh available when new. 7 bars means 12.8kWh available. If you take it handy (Leaf is not very efficient) and don't go over 80km/h (Leaf is not very aerodynamic), you should be able to do 18kWh / 100km driving normally in winter

That means a 70km range (full to empty)

In practice I wouldn't buy it for a 50km commute. And yes it will continue to degrade further, but usually quite slowly

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

My previous Leaf is for sale. The in-laws picked up an ID.4 as they needed the range for long journeys (Dublin to Sligo).

Cheapest by a long shot. 7 bars remaining. No cabin heat…just heated seats, hence price.

NCT til May 2027. They have no space to keep it (as you can see, its parked on their path), so they are looking to move on fast. Few marks, but a genuine "this weeks bargain im not buying" because Im putting money aside for a larger solar inverter.

Boardsie discount available of course.

https://www.adverts.ie/car/nissan/leaf/2012-nissan-leaf/40354794

image.png

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,660 ✭✭✭zg3409

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭user060916

I'm guessing folding mirrors mentioned twice and NCT 2017

Stay Free

PS - The Boardsie discount lets it go for €1000.

It won't sit around, but jaysus adverts.ie invites some amount of idiots who don't read the ad. No wonder I posted folding mirrors twice! 😂

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,269 ✭✭✭✭User1998

Would you not state in the add that the heating doesn't work? If I enquired about a car that is described as "very reliable" only to find out that the heater doesn't work I would be very pissed off

Already there. First interested person sent a message to ask if the cabin heat issue had a code.

image.png

Stay Free

There must be some sort of glitch because your add description seems to keep changing for me. Maybe its an issue on my end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,771 ✭✭✭sk8board

jeez that’s a reach in fairness - I’d be interested to hear if the person who buys the car spots that and checks it.

In my experience of selling cars, absolutely no one reads the ad, not a word of it.

Why would someone buy a car with no option to heat or cool it (I’m assuming there’s no cold A/C either).

😂. I only edited it once to fix the NCT date and delete the folding mirror repeat. The inlaws wanted the cabin heater mentioned, but i didn't want to write a paragraph. Anyone interested will know their Leafs anyway, but will also be explicitly told.

Stay Free

AC works. Common issue with the pre 2013 Leaf. Heater pops. Fuse needs replacing and kettle replaced. Pain in the hole to sort. I had it for 5 years. The in-laws for 4 years. Most people driving these Leafs never turn on the heating anyway 🤣

If someone doesn't read the ad and the info is there, then that's on them. In any case, any cars I'm involved in selling, I make sure people know what they're buying and the car is sold from the owners home.

And for a grand….what more do you want. You'd sell the wheels for half that.

Stay Free

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

its easy to throw in a 12v foot heater that will heat up such a small space, that's the go to solution

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,672 ✭✭✭✭listermint

That sounds absolutely awful. It's 2026 heaters plugged into the car to keep you warm.

The lived reality though isn’t. I had this car for 5 years before my in-laws took it 4 years ago. I looked into fixing the cabin heater when I got the car, but it wasn’t worth the hassle. My FiL used a 12V heater to quick demist the windscreen in the colder mornings. Other than that, the car does what it needs to.

A 2026 car isn’t what’s advertised. What is advertised is a 14 year old EV that will cost pennies to run and has been inside my family circle for nearly a decade. I’d buy it back if I had the space to keep it for my next son who will be starting his driving journey next year.

This is a local run-bout. A learner car. A shopping trolley. I think whoever owns it next will get over what it lacks for the cost of it.

Stay Free

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Not for you (or me) obviously, why such a dramatic negative post though, what are the expectations on a €1k early generation EV, it's very well priced and could be perfect for lots of folk. Reply if you want but I'm not going to be engaging with your posts,such a downer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,672 ✭✭✭✭listermint

It's amazing how negative posts above about the same ad don't attract attention. Why single mine out.

I merely said in 2026 having to plug in an electric heater into what's on paper a newer car is a ridiculous proposition.

I never said anything about the price. Yes it's bargain basement and fair play we know why and the car would be grand for someone. But the point is fairly valid about the heater. That's not an unfair commentary.

I don't appreciate I'm singled out for saying anything about the ad when other posters above who said stuff that wasn't positive didn't get quoted and replied to or called 'a downer'.

Why ?

I think the only solution here is that you buy the car 😁

Stay Free

I actually would . That's the gas part 🙏

But I'd be tearing it down to fix 😄 couldn't be plugging stuff in. I'd be afraid actually of it burning out the wiring from the 12v.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭Buffman

In my experience of selling cars, absolutely no one reads the ad, not a word of it.

I love those kinds of people, asking stuff that's plainly stated already or blatantly obvious in the photos, because it immediately tells me they're a tyre kicking time waster and I don't have to waste my own time with them.

Why would someone buy a car with no option to heat....

Because it's a €1K EV that you can drive out their driveway, if you want a 'perfect' one then you can always go and pay at least 2 or 3 times that.

The below is a general 'signature' and not part of any post:

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

Public transport user? If you're sick of phantom ghost services on the 'official' RTI sources, check bustimes.org for actual 'real' RTI, if it's on their map it actually exists.

Absolutely not dissing the seller, or the car itself, but for €1k you could just buy a fully functioning Japanese petrol car instead. That Leaf with such limited range and no heating is surely only suitable in warmer weather? My Dad had a diesel Renault with no heater and it was absolute torture to drive. He bought a heater to plug into the 12V socket but it was crap. That coupled with limited range of the Leaf?.. Wouldn't be for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,513 ✭✭✭Buffman

A lot of pints and also a lot of night rate charging.

Ye, if this was the general bangernomics thread I think everyone would agree that a cheap ICE car would be much more suitable for long distance winter driving.

But here in the EV bargain thread, as a local runaround you can hop in and drive away in for €1K, a non working heater ain't a showstopper, especially with heated seats to keep your important bits warm! It would possibly go for close enough to that in an auction once you add fees.

The below is a general 'signature' and not part of any post:

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

Public transport user? If you're sick of phantom ghost services on the 'official' RTI sources, check bustimes.org for actual 'real' RTI, if it's on their map it actually exists.

It wouldn’t be for a lot of people. It wouldn’t be for me, as I need more range than it offers. The lack of cabin heating wasn’t a big issue. Totally depends on what people need and what they can afford to run. There’s a lot more that could be wrong with a small petrol car in this price range. As long as people know what they’re buying, that’s the main thing. We have 6 Leafs in the family. I bought, or sourced them all, including one from a boardsie.

Stay Free