Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Arseboxing

You do realise this whole cesspit of a thread is designed to "play the race card"?

ie. To lie and frame people other than non-white Irish as a problem?

A thread to which you have consistently contributed enthusiastically.

There are few more enthusiastic "players of the race card" on here than you.

Views like yours are the real danger in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,957 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Indeed - the best thing to do is just add to ignore and don't engage. My list has grown significantly over the last few years.

It's hard to deflect if no-one is taking the bait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Arseboxing

Apparently Belfast isn't safe any more, like it was in the 60s and 70s and 80s and 90s and 00s and 10s when this stuff never happened.

Screenshot (1685).png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭newhouse87

Stop replying to that troll, just ignore if it quotes you, Trying to get thread locked.

MOD NOTE: @Arseboxing don't post in this thread again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭sekiro

Still, we don't see any argument or points being made as to why its a good idea for the Irish government to allow men from Somalia and Sudan, among others, to come and live here as guests at the taxpayers expense.

If nobody is willing to argue that certain incidents are just the unfortunate cost of the amazing benefits that we get then what actually is the argument?

I honestly don't think anyone would go to Sudan or Somalia and leave thinking to themselves "you know I think Ireland needs a few thousand of these lads,chosen at random and given full state benefits for the rest of their lives".

Responding to accusations of "abuse" or "racism" or whatever else at this point is just a waste of time.

What are the actual benefits of having these guys here?

What are the costs?

Can you explain how the benefits outweigh the costs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,156 ✭✭✭morphy87

I never knew talking sense made someone a racist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭Thorny Queen

I meant to say too...That Somalian man who bottle attacked the 18 year old twins on a night out in Dublin and also attacked the guy who came to their aid...Blatantly looked like he had severe mental health issues from his photographs alone.

But sure look, let him free rein walk the streets and attack innocent people.

Who the fook is accountable here.

Post edited by Thorny Queen on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,792 ✭✭✭creedp

Curious that the ‘far right’, ‘racist’, even the odd ‘xenophobe’ references are identical but the username is different….shift work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,037 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Absolute nailed what the actual issue is with immigration…..a cohort of virtue-signalling do-gooders, who, mind you have no issue with anyone entering, just as long as "they're not near me!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

Press conference now with PSNI. It appears that the Sudanese attacker came to Northern Ireland via Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,851 ✭✭✭AllForIt

The police conference not adding much new details but said the Sudanese man entered NI from Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭batman_oh

But we don't have open borders - everybody is throughly vetted and is in no way dangerous (like the 35 year old/17 year old Somalian that massacred the Ukranian boy in Tusla care).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Lofidelity

PSNI at a press conference have said the attacker had come to Belfast via Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Willie Power

Great post. The idea that everyone can be rehabilitated is central to their thinking too.

No there are evil people who can't. We have plenty of our own to deal with, no need to bring in countless more.

"He might be an eejit, but he's our eejit"
    Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,928 ✭✭✭archfi

The "progressives" have the laws wrapped up and that's not just down to infiltrating every one of our institutions and across Europe, it's also down to the majority of the public who think "being progressive" is actually a benign thing and who have hand-waved the visible parts through.

But it isn't - any progress always requires conservatism in thinking through the second and third order affects and consequences of any progression. To think this hasn't happened is truly a crime especially for Ireland as we have had the whole of Western Europe as a giant example of what-not-to-do decades before our lot began the journey no-one asked for.

The laws have been made, some purposely made virtually impossible to untangle, that allow "asylum seekers" from day one to walk amongst the population with zero regulation or oversight.

Whatever happened to detaining (which doesn't/wouldn't impinge on human rights as known before "progressives" got a hold on definitions) them until they have proven their stories and been thoroughly vetted? most of these are coming from the most dysfunctional places on earth, yet there they are - on every street corner, bus and train like that's normal and "progress".

Couple that with the most stupid granting of not just an Irish or Swedish or Belgian passport but an EU passport and carte blanche "family reuniting" plus EU-India and EU-North African one-way opendoor agreements and greedy businesses of all kinds being granted the mechanism to bring in tens of thousands a year and you have so-called progress which will fck this continent up for the foreseeable.

"What does that even mean, vetting?"

-Michael Martin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

1000009759.png

There was no reason in the Republic of Ireland to lock comments on that Belfast attempted beheading. Anything posted here in the ROI is unlikely to be taken as prejudicial. Channel 4, BBC etc leave comments open if it's a ROI story they are reporting on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

I was taking piss, I should of put #sarcasm under my post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,177 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Details on this will be interesting because I was under the assumption most movement was the other direction. I wonder how he got to Dublin and why he left for Belfast.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,928 ✭✭✭archfi

That's progress!…

We need to have the conversation and counter action about the stitch up of all of our laws (national and EU) due to "progressives"

"What does that even mean, vetting?"

-Michael Martin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Perfidious Cretin

With regards to that crash actually, didn't RTE report that the person killed in that crash was from outside Ireland and a handgun along with ammunition was found in the car...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,270 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

There are no benefits at all to Somalian immigration into Ireland. Only massive costs.

The cost to process each asylum claim is €122,000.

Although most asylum claims correctly fail, we allow them appeal, and we eventually give failed AS "leave-to-remain".

That opens up social housing and welfare, and a lifetime of massive costs on taxpayers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,270 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

And yet, again and again, on these forums, I am told that we don't have open borders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭hamburgham

I think this is how they manifest their superior complex now. They can't openly pull rank now, but it's acceptable to demonstrate it though the above. I would love to see a huge IPAS centre in Ranelagh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,302 ✭✭✭✭zell12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

The timing of this horrific attack is likely to place the pending EU Migration and Asylum Pact under even greater scrutiny.

Ireland is not required to participate in the pact, as we are not part of the Schengen Area. However, the government has chosen to opt in. Under the agreement, member states must either accept a designated number of asylum seekers or make a financial contribution instead. For example, Jim O'Callaghan has confirmed that Ireland will make a financial contribution of €9.26 million in 2027.

It's an absolutely shambles and national disgrace that some faceless bureaucrats in Brussels or Strasbourg can dictate how we control our own boarders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭SpoonyMcSpoon

Clearly people have been jumping to conclusions without reading the full facts of the Belfast incident. This was clearly a doctor performing emergency surgery on another man. Let’s not jump to racist conclusions to the contrary you far right Nazi/Zionist sympathisers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭satguy

If the state seems to Not To Be protecting us, or our borders, or our children coming and going to their schools.

If the police are handcuffing innocent lads and watching them bleed out on the ground.

And if we see this everyday in our news feeds, and see the half truths our leaders try to feed us. Then surely we are within our rights to get annoyed, and angry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,957 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I'd rather see "hard" borders as they were referred to during Brexit than this open-door-free-for-all where who knows what from wheverever can arrive here and cause mayhem on both sides of the island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭ipitydafool

Honestly think this is correlated with the proliferation of the NGO and wider sector that is estimated to now account for approximately 1 in 8 workers nationally and generates a combined annual turnover exceeding €14.5 billion. That is alot of cushy well paying jobs that seems in their interest to take this moral high ground view. Unfortunately as shown from France, Belgium to Sweden, history will not serve us well on this.