All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2026 (Munster & Leinster Championships, Liam McCarthy Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭purplesnack

You had a very different experience to me then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭FantasyFool

Ya I just thought that it was weird that Kiely went straight to that possibly leaving his veil of composure slip abit. Almost a "And now, where are you, Father Eamonn Hunter? Working with some pygmies in the South Seas" moment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,833 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

That can happen I suppose depending on where you are and who's around you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭King Power Fox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,729 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

shovel.jpg

I had heard that from a Limerick man to but didn't want to repeat here 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭King Power Fox

Can you expand on veil of composure. I thought Kiely was very complimentary towards Cork, spoke about his days in UCC playing Fitzgibbon and teaching in Clonakilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭slegs

Likewise I always comment that PuC 2024 was the best match I was ever at for excitement and drama. Even though we lost was a great day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Yeah but if they were playing nowadays they'd be abused left, right and centre on twitter and Facebook!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭jommer01

Think it's very obvious the defeats to Cork in the last few years have hurt him and think he's been fairly slow to ever acknowledge Cork were the better team on any of those occasions. Just always referred to efficiency and on Sunday he even said they had to be 6 points better to win by 1.

Reminiscing about his days playing Fitzgibbon with Cork lads is something completely different and I wouldn't say he's been overly complimentary towards the Cork team of recent years.

I wouldn't expect much different from Ben O Connor and it's a good rivalry between the teams at the moment. Familiarity breeds contempt as they say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭supernova5

Offaly has surely a bigger population than 6 thousand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭jacool

I've been to away matches in everywhere, except Offaly - can't explain why, so I have no idea how many normally appear in Tullamore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,584 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Cork v Offaly should on paper be a very one sided game, but in terms of bringing a crowd, Offaly will bring it when there's a big occasion, as with the u20 final a couple of years ago where they sold out nowlan Park. Cork fans might not show in the numbers they did for the Munster matches but they'll always bring a crowd. This won't sell out but if it was a double header there would be a ton of very disappointed fans from all counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,177 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

The Ticketmaster allocation for Cork Offaly is currently sold out. Biggest match for Offaly in years and cork supporters are by far the best in Ireland the last few years including football counties.

Plenty wouldn't have gotten tickets to the Munster final and will probably attend this.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,471 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Whatever about the Cork vs Offaly match, I can't see a large crowd at the Clare vs Dublin match. Clare might bring a decent crowd, but I'd be slightly surprised if the dubs have anything near 10k supporters there. May only have half that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,177 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

They'll do well to get 15k at Clare/ Dublin, if it wasn't for Laois hosting the Feile Portlaoise was an obvious venue for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭endainoz

An all Ireland quarter final in Portlaoise? Lol are you for real?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Obviously not for the crowd at Cork/Offaly but I think it would cater Clare/Dublin, holds about 18k to the best of my knowledge.

Why not? Every match should be played somewhere that will accommodate the expected attendance while giving a bit of atmosphere. That match will be dead in thurles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭supernova5

O Moore Park capacity 22.000, so yes it would quite easily cater for the expected crowd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭PIORUN

that a was great night even as a Limerick fan stuck in the blackrock end probably best atmosphere I ever attended . Cork fans were unreal that night but when Limerick got the lead late on they turned on the Cork team big time and weren't holding back on Pat Ryan until the back card and pen….then it was all rosy in the pitch invasion :-)

Keith rossiter has stepped down as wexford manager. Kilkenny wexford and waterford all looking for new managers now.

Interesting couple of months ahead in the southeast. Someone like Brian Dowling or Tom mullaly could have a few offers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,156 ✭✭✭morphy87

Just seeing the minor results today and like the u20 the Munster teams seem to be a nice bit ahead of the Leinster teams,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

I know it's a discussion for another day but the football championship has been brilliant this weekend... in general it really is outshining the hurling...

whether we want to admit it or not some new rules will be needed to make hurling less like rugby with sticks and more of what we had at the height if the Tipp Kk rivalry 15yrs ago..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,800 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Big problem for the hurling is that once summer comes around there's only a handful of games left and hurling more than football is a summer sport.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Totally agree. So many shock results and new teams emerging. High scoring exciting game's. Football is cool at the moment.

Hurling very predictable in comparison. Same teams playing each other over and over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Willie Power

I didn't see the games live today. Just watching the SG.

30 seconds to go I can't believe that effort from AOS. He's not a renowned point scorer and there were plenty of shooters at that end.

"He might be an eejit, but he's our eejit"
    Willie Power

It's a shambles of a calendar. The provincial round robin looked like a great thing for a couple of years, in Munster at least, but it was actually killing the golden goose, the teams in it are completely over exposed to each other, playing the same fixtures over and over again. Cork v limerick should be an absolutely mouth watering fixture for a neutral, but they play each other constantly so I just didn't care about the Munster final this year and I doubt I was alone, especially since we all expect them to play yet again in a few weeks anyway.

In the meantime all those repetitive fixtures (league and championship) were all played off in shite weather. Now in the height of the summer there's a tiny handful of matches played in June, with no real club action yet either. So you'd have to wonder, even as a supporter of the split season, as I am, if maybe the current set up is anything short of a disaster. June should be absolutely full of hurling fixtures, instead they were all played in April. If we're not playing serious top level hurling in June, what are we even at?

A championship structure like the football is long overdue, if the munster championship is that sacred a competition it will still be great, as I've no doubt it will be. But we might get some more variety in the fixtures. Galway v Cork, kilkenny v Waterford, etc etc. There's few enough teams in the country already without artificially keeping them apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,077 ✭✭✭✭threeball

Exactly, better to go back to straight knockout provincial and then go to an all ireland series proper with open draw. Its getting stale and these quarter finals have been completely underwhelming in general (Dublin result aside). Definitely one of them is nearly always a wipeout.

I think we should consider allowing amalgamated teams in the all ireland proper, teams from non traditional areas so you could get a few Northern teams throwing their lot in together. Kildare, westmeath and Meath. Give people in these areas a hurling team to support in the business end of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

If we played the Munster or Leinster championships now, it would be directly up against the football. At least in April/ May, hurling gets full focus and big attendances.

The problem is simply not enough strong teams. Championship is just the division 1 teams playing each other again.

Cork footballers can go to Donegal and pull off a shock on a given day, even if they're playing outside top division. Sure look at Westmeath footballers this season.

But Donegal or Westmeath hurlers (or any lower division team) can't even compete with Cork hurlers.

We're down to just 6 teams in the hurling, and even then, Cork v Offaly could be a complete mismatch.

You can always make tweaks to the structure or calendar, but it's not the core problem.