Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭nippy corner foward

Id like to think kk usually dont go down trying to get lads sent of. Cian kenny and david blanchfield were very guity of tryng to buy frees but they have copped onto cian but Rolling around trying to get lads sent off is different We have plenty of counties that stay down for nothing trying to get players sent off. Ballygunner s7⁶uccessfully done it afew years ago. Adam hogan made himself look like a fool against dessie a few years ago.Shane o donnell puts his hands up every time and buys every Even galway tried to get the dublin man sent off but peter Casey takes the biscuitthe trademark grabs the boss of sean donahoe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Village87

Dicksboro losing a few hurlers to America i believe for club champo and Cillian Buckley is refusing to hurl ? Not ideal to hear of Harry Shine going who has hurled very little in the last 18 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭JohnCougar

I went out to Dicksboro last week to see what their fundraiser was like and see if my own club could do it. I was very jealous leaving it as the whole set up was very well put together and very well run. Some there were saying that they could raise around €80,000 or more after paying expenses. Davy Fitz and his team of around 10/12 people were very professional.

It was said out there that the players will be back in time for the club championship and are hoping that Buckley might hurl this year. He is not refusing to hurl as you have said. They said he is concentrating on Hyrox at the moment this year and is fully focused on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Marrooned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

How in the name of God did the Galway player try to get Dublin lad sent off?

It was a total clothesline tackle, very dangerous. Should have been a straight red. Every player goes down there. You're talking Nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭JohnCougar

There was plenty of other clubs out there having a look 😉

I actually think the Boro will win the senior if they get there act together, Tom Kenny a massive loss, Buckley not hurling due to a fall out or trying to oust the manager and a few lads heading off will not help the situation. I thought Harry Shine would try get himself fit and try get himself into some form but going to America for 8 weeks will set him back.

As a post highlighted here before, it should be a blank canvass with Kilkenny starting out for all players next year, nobody guaranteed there place. I heard of players not happy with some players never training but always guaranteed a starting place.

Post edited by Village87 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭lob it in

Last year Thomas Walsh reffed the Munster final and let everything go and he got slated after it,this year Owens goes out and blows everything and gets slated after it,its an impossible job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,584 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Not sure what people's perception of going to America is, but the idea that it's a setback is just incorrect. I can't speak for new York, but if they're going to Boston or San Francisco the standard is absolutely stellar, both in the local championship and in the North American senior tournament. Last year in Chicago they would have been playing against the likes of Adam English, Shane Walsh, cathal o'neill, darragh Corcoran (I believe? Could be wrong on him), and a host of other inter county players, along with a very strong supporting cast of senior club players. The intensity is, comfortably, as high as a club game at home. And with the way the US senior competition is run nowadays the players don't lose their eligibility to play at home for the club championship. It's not a setback at all.

Thanks for the update. When does the competition over on the west coast end ?

Not sure what the story is with the senior challenge this year, it was in mid July last year though. Also not sure about the West Coast (I'm in Chicago), but most local championships need to be over by the end of July so they know who is going to the North American finals (but in the last year or two there was no senior grade at this anyway, basically all the senior clubs like it a lot better to have the senior tournament separate so they can ignore usgaa eligibility rules for fielding a team and also make sure their players don't lose eligibility at home, which makes it easier to recruit big names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭kentu

Hard to Begrudge young lads heading off for a few months, a lot of these lads dedicate their life's to hurling, Some of these lads involved in intercounty especially won't always get the chance so very hard to blame them.

just to correct you Village, Tom Kenny turned out a few times this year for the Boro playing in the O’Byrne cup. Although I shouldn’t be giving away any secrets.

Great to hear, fantastic hurler. Good to hear him back playing

so far so good on that he would be a huge asset

By the way Village did you see that piece from the county board meeting last Thursday night?

Is that the cry for help and we are all in this together when selecting management going forward ? Being honest i am concentrating on club now as that is the only place we will find what we are looking for.

For us to move forward we need the greatest of all time to retire. As i spoke about before teams are picking up possession from our long balls into TJ and running at us from deep, we just need legs now and new leaders to emerge,Kilkenny hurling is not a personal commercial crusade. We need a team we can get behind with no ego, that have a hunger, 4/5 of the 26 should be dropped or retire imo. We start from scratch and might have something in 3/4 years.

In fairness to Cody he dropped some of the great players, Richie Power went(but worked his way back in) , Jackie Tyrell, Michael Rice and many others were told to announce there retirement. We need a fresh start of some sort

Post edited by Village87 on

Well Village if you didn’t get that you can message me, and I’ll give it to you there is a few other things I’d want to run by you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Firstsub

There are 2 sides to it. Lads are fully entitled to go travelling, take a few months or a year out, the same as all their friends are doing. However, it is tough on the lads who have stayed in Ireland, played in the senior/intermediate league and then get dropped as soon as the championship starts

well village that’s good enough. Your opinions on that statement were spot on.

It is tough on them but it's senior hurling, the objective is winning matches not making lads happy. Same thing happens when they arrive here, I was standing on a sideline bringing on water to lads just off a plane myself yesterday afternoon after training the last few months. But in terms of coming home, they are taking a good time here but these guys are also training very hard, the training matches even in our club are very high intensity and we're only allowed intermediate players, so they're coming home with a lot of training under their belt, not like they're just twiddling their thumbs or anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭hogans heroes

Would never retire any player just on age.19 or 39 only criteria is are you good enough.Nicky quaid at 37 proved that yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Alonzo Moseley

https://www.gaa.ie/article/hurling-review-public-survey

Well done William Maher (and Conor O Donovan before him) for trying
    to stop hurling becoming some sort of bastardised version of Lacrosse.

Everyone who cares about hurling should contribute to this survey.

Kilkenny as a hurling force are doomed if the trajectory continues, All Irelands will be hoovered up by the big counties and ones with billionaire sugar daddys with vast budgets to spend on armies of cyncial coaches and anlaysts, devising clever, and usually illegal ways to game the rules for advantage.

I feel the GAA needs to step in and stop the financial abuse. Impose a max training cap per annum on every county and if you are caught breaching it, you get expelled from the following year.

The game is in crisis, aesthetically it looks good, but it's bullshit, a fraud. Gaming the rules, illegal hurley sizes and bas, switching sliotars, players stealing yards everwhere on puck outs and frees, short puck out back to keeper bollixology, keepers pucking the ball out to a spare man before the ball has even crossed over the bar above him, feigning injuries to stop other team momentum, simulation etc is making the game ridiculously easy to allow eejits in the commentary box to gush "oh my word, such skill have you ever seen the like"

Sorry to be gloomy but we thrived for over 100 years because
    the game was strictly amateur, a level playing field, small counties could
    compete and we were the outlier to beat all outliers (the only county outside the top 20 in population this century to win an Ai in either code). Irrespective of County Board issues, current talent pool etc, we will never go back to winning All Irelands regularly under the current environment (game being run by armies of well-paid coaches training semi-professional squads of super fit athletes (robots?) to game the system and rules while being backed by millions of dark funding that GAA and Revenue continue to turn a blind eye to.

Post edited by Alonzo Moseley on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Glenomra

Is the game in crisis because Kilkenny are no longer dominating.??? Do you actually believe that in previous decades that 'small counties' could actually compete. In Clare we didn't win a provincial title over a period of 65 f*****g years and an all Ireland in a period of 81 years! We are living in a an era of great championships imo. Offaly, Wexford and Clare started the revolution in the 90s; Limerick have brought it to a new level. There's no going back to the bad old days, when the triumvirate of Kilkenny, Tipperary and Cork ruled the roost. Counties including Kilkenny need to get their systems up to speed or they will be left behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Give it a rest will you ffs. If this was 16 year's ago when we were hoovering up all Irelands you wouldn't give a f**k about the health of the game.

You were speeching a few years ago about the lengths Dublin footballers were ahead of everyone else. Saying their young players physicality and athleticism were miles ahead of kerry. Now nearly every county fancies their chances against them! Division 4 wicklow nearly beat them 6 weeks ago

alonzo is dead right the breaking of the rules is the breaking of the rules cannot be tolerated it’s basically cheating, the GAA chose to ignore it because it was so hard to police. Ban handpassing for a year and see what will happen. Look at football and the difference the two pointer made. Hurling needs some sort of see change like that,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Alonzo Moseley

Anyone claiming that Limerick's success has little to do with the countless millions JP has sunk into the county is as delusional as someone claiming Chelsea's success had nothing to do with Abramovich.

As for Dublin footballers, I have no recollection of ever eulogising their superiority in their pomp and insisting other counties just had to match their levels..

Their ex players 5/6 years ago urging other counties to simply step up and "match Dublin's standards" pissed me off no end. How could smaller county rivals of Dublin come close to matching Dublin's multi million set up?

How are Loingford senior footballers going to "match Dublin's standards" ?

I knew a young lad a few years ago who played for Longford while attending DCU, he said the difference between his day to day life and the lads at DCU on the Dublin senior football squad was like comparing League of Ireland to Premiership.

Kilkenny won their All Irelands with a training budget below the average of their major rivals, but the difference wasn't a chasm. It is now!

Counties without massive training budgets now have little chance of national silverware. Even Tipp last year spent 1.3 million on their senior hurling team alone.

How can this square with a sport that claims to be amateur?

It's time for GAA to either impose caps on county training budgets or simply accept that it's a free for all professional style enviornment, but let's quit the bullshit notion that it's anything close to a level playing field.

again spot on Alonzo, our C B are back in the eighties trying to improve things piecemeal, this worked back then and we improved our lot like developing Nowlan park without going into debt, but how things have changed and the C B haven’t still the willingness to spend money nor will they chase down Money either for fear of upsetting our sponsors. This will have to change big time.

the C B invited various people to review finance and hurling development. Phil Hogan to investigate further ways of making money and Michael Dempsey to review underage development. Both reports fell on deaf ears. I think the Dunmore development committee has the people involved who could run the whole show including the CB, good smart businessmen steeped in the GAA. Matty Walsh, Johnny Holohan, David Beirne, Conor Cluain and Eddie Buckley, I hope I didn’t leave anyone out. This would certainly be my dream team to take over the running of the county board and you could include Phil Hogan in that as well all these are hugely successful in there everyday lives and would bring professionalism to our fiasco of a set up. Any thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭Glenomra

Nostalgic but mostly irrelevant to the future of Kilkenny hurling. Was it a level playing field during the decades when 2 or 3 games against reasonably competitive teams were sufficient for Kilkenny to win numerous all Irelands. Win leinster and in alternate years a game against Antrim, or in some instances London, saw Kilkenny in another all Ireland final. Whether we like it or not it's a new era. Clare are competitive. Waterford will emerge soon as a serious team. Limerick are dominating though in a gradual decline. Galway are improving rapidly. Cork will enjoy a period of dominance. They have the players, money, hunger and support to ensure it eventually arrives. Limerick county and indeed much of the city has bought into the hurling, to the detriment of rugby. 22 million euro going into an international standard training facility. Limerick as a county, the university, the city, industry etc realise what winning hurling all Ireland's do for the economy and confidence of a county!! Posters might think that I am exaggerating but that's the reality.

Clare were traditionally an after thought in hurling circles. Minnows compared to 'the elite counties'. But that has changed. Clare are putting the time into underage teams and we will be competitive at senior for the foreseeable future.

Kilkenny, or at least many of their hurling people, are in denial. Kilkenny and also wexford need to accept the new reality, deal with it, and get their acts together. The new era requires systems, money and expertise across a number of strands. Hurling benefits from having strong Kilkenny and wexford teams.