Ireland vs Israel - To play or not to play, that is the question Read OP for Mod Warning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭Miniegg

I don't know do you? Why aren't you defending them the way you are defending Israel?

It is hypocritical to the extreme.

And like Afghanistan and Qatar, they are scum regimes, but even they are not reaching the depravity of what Israel is doing in Gaza. Both are accused of crimes against humanity (like Israel)- so yes - scum.

But the current genocide accusation against Israel has a far broader legal footprint.

Icj found genocide allegations plausible, and issued emergency orders which Israel not only ignored, but doubled down on.

Amnesty and Oxfam concluded Israel is committing genocide.

HRW said Israel is responsible for extermination and acts of genocide.

MSF says it is witnessing genocide

B’Tselem and Physicians for Human Rights-(both Israeli) issued reports saying Israel is committing genocide

The UN Independent Commission of Inquiry say Israel has committed genocide

The ICW voted that Israel is committing genocide

The ICP declared famine in Gaza caused by the intentional blockading of aid and food...

This is the tip of the iceberg. I can go on.

The above should be stickied on this thread so everyone knows the context of peoples opposition to it, and we don't have to read over and over again the reams of nonsense where people pretend this isn't going on, or what is happening in Gaza is somehow normal because Afghanistan/Qatar/Iran/ DPRK.

This isn't left Vs right btw, it's truth Vs lies. The experts are telling you and all of us what is happening, and you defend it. Why?

And let me tell you something, if you actually cared about the warcrimes of DPRK and Iran and wanted to see them banned, id be the last person the question your motives for it or call you a virtue signaller, id agree with you (if that answers your question).

But you don't give a ****, you just want to use whataboutery to deflect while ignoring the elephant in the room. You ask others to condemn crimes when you ignore far more grave ones, and you have the gaul to call us hypocrites?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,474 ✭✭✭dmcdona

You backtracking now using semantics as a defence? LOL

Per your other question, according to you, anyone with a phone, laptop, tech is supporting Genocide.

However, there are very few people "complicit" in Genocide. Those who are have ICC warrants out for their arrest, possibly more will follow. The state of Israel will be judged by the ICJ in the matter of committing Genocide.

See - that's the difference between "complicit" and "support". It's not semantics at all.

Currently, the Irish public, the Govt., politicians, footballers, managers, pundits and the press are against Ireland playing Israel, a state found to have committed Genocide by the UN commission, genocide historians and scholars and even Jews and Israelis.

All that remains is for FIFA to read the room and ban Israel, like they did Russia.

Until then, the game goes ahead in a neutral venue, if UEFA agrees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

Are thousands of dead Indians, pakistanis, Sri Lankan, Nepalese and Bangladeshi worth less then dead Palestinians? The world turned a blind eye for over a decade and descended en masse to a country with an appaling human rights record for a football jamboree.

No boycotts, no protests. The world watched and forgot about what went before. Nobody in the FAI called a motion for Qatar to be banned and then the FAI even went and played the Qataris only 11 days ago.

1000011620.jpg

Like i said, Semantics.

And yes, if your buying Israeli goods or services you are " supporting genocide". That's what pro Palestinians supporters keep saying, the ones you backed on the other thread from Zara Belfast.

The government are not against the game going ahead. They actually supported the FAI decison. And publicly backed it. Even today. Unless you have anything to back up the government changing tack?

The general public are very divided. The public are not against the game going ahead by any stretch.

1000011556.jpg

You don't give a sh*t about them anymore than you give a **** about Gazans, you are using them to deflect what's going on because you support it, why else are you wasting your time on multiple threads?

But if you genuinely want to protest the poor people above on their own merits and not just cynically using them to deflect from an unfolding genocide, go for it. I won't accuse you of "virtue signalling in ivory towers" because you put petrol in your car or use gas for your heating. I'll even have your back Paddy.

But nah, their lives of just fodder to you to distract from tens of thousands of other people being butchered.

So you deflect by not answering?

Are they worth less and is that why the Qatar game was not protested because we, because we are Irish, are supposed to have some sort of obligation to support Palestine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,729 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Question has been answered repeatedly.

You're able to take time to go other threads looking for posts by people that you can misrepresent in an effort to justify God only knows what point you're making.

Maybe go and read the posts that answer this question and stop freaking out because common decency looks like it may be the preferred option right now.

The other poster is right by the way, you don't give a **** about any of these people so cop on and stop acting like a cut price version of Ben Shapiro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Lawlesz

Qatar isn’t the topic here Paddy. It’s funny that you have no problem straying off topic to make some straw man argument. But jump through various hoops elsewhere labelling anything that shows your blatant hypocrisy as off topic and afraid of your s*ite to answer it.

but of course you don’t care one way or another, as we are continuously told.

We absolutely ALL have an obligation to oppose genocide. Israel should not be playing sport like a normal country because of this.

To answer your question (again, I don't dodge unlike you)- all lives are worth the same.

Be they Israeli, sri lankan, Gazan, or Irish.

We live on an imperfect world. Qatar, Afghanistan, all those countries you mention, bad as the are, are not doing what Israel is. I gave you the list. There is your answer why it is different. Did you read it? Also, I am not defending any of those regimes for their crimes like you are Israel.

Israel's brutality against civilians is a genocide, which you clearly support for some f*cked up reason.

So don't try tell me the worth of human lives when you engage in this, and use other dead people to deflect from genocide.

Well I've just been warned for going off topic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭wildgreen

I am not sure Uefa will approve the match being moved outside of Ireland? It could open Pandora's Box where groups, opposing the genocide and ethnic cleansing in other countries, might see cancelling home matches as an opportune way to highlight the need for justice in Palestine. Austria and Kosovo may not be overly interested but people in other countries in other sports will take notice if Uefa agree to the match being moved to another country especially if it is played with no spectators.

If the match is moved then the World media may give the decision a lot of coverage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Lawlesz

You know you’re scraping the barrel when the response to criticism of Israel is “why aren’t you talking about Afghanistan or North Korea?” If your defence is to compare yourself to some of the most oppressive regimes on earth, that doesn’t exactly strengthen your argument. 

We absolutely have an obligation to oppose genocide.

No i dont. That is your own personal choice.

Israel's brutality against civilians is a genocide, which you support for some f*clear up reason.

No i dont.

Just because I support Irish football and the FAI decision does not equate to supporting Israel. I dont support Palestine either.

And if I go to one, or maybe both games in autumn its to support the ireland team. I won't be wearing a half and half scarf (any one over 15 who does is thick IMO) or an israel scarf/flag or a Palestine scarf or flag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭csirl

Im not defending anyone nor do I support violence of any kind. Im one of the few on this thread advocating for peace. Unlike some on this thread I'm Irish and support Ireland.

Couldn't care less what scarf you wear Paddy.

And oh I know you don't support Palestinians, it's obvious why, after all you called them rapists, bad to gay people, don't like dogs etc. just like all the others who "don't support Israel" paint the worst of them as the norm to try to make out they are almost deserving what's happening to them.

Never heard you say a single bad word about what Israel is doing, which is far more brutal, again I urge you the reason the list I went through.

In fact you sneer anyone who does, or who wants to see the game boycotted

. So your non support for Palestinians isn't the same as your "non support" for Israel, is it?

So we know why you don't support Gazans, that's clear.

What exactly is Israel doing that you don't support?

Post edited by Miniegg on

I doubt it. If it was to happen on a massive scale I think its likely to have happened before. At the end of the day plenty of others have played them in the last 32 months largely without incident.

There was trouble in Amsterdam but Ajax fans aren't exactly choir boys. there was jail sentences handed out to Dutch fans in aftermath.

UEFA will approve this IMO. Besiktas played Maccabi in Hungary after the Turkish government intervened ln November 2024. Games have been moved before and will in future. But Ireland/FAI is an outlier in Europe currently.

I was warned 20 minutes ago for going off topic so I wont be answering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭csirl

Im.not sure that's correct. We're seeing thousands bei g killed in South Sudan. DPRK has wiped out millions of its own people over the years. The Taliban in Afghanistan ARE xommitting genocide i.e killing anyone who does adhere to their extreme religion.

Every person in this world is just as important as everyone else.

It's clearly on topic, imo it points to your motives for sneering anyone who brings up Israeli crimes as a reason for boycotting the game, which is the whole reason for the thread. Mods - can ye reassure Paddy he can answer ( if he chooses to that is)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Disgusting decision.

The happy clappers here are a disgrace and probably not Irish.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

Ive Been told not to go off topic or i will be thread banned. So I wont be answering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,474 ✭✭✭dmcdona

The game is being moved for security reasons - so the security advice from the Gardai and/or FIFA's security dept re: palestinian protesters, must be that there is a credible threat which poses a risk of death or injury.

Normally security advice such as this isnt published, so the specifics of the threat are not in the public domain.

Are you suggesting, tacitly, that the "Stop the Game" campaign is a "credible threat which poses a risk of death or injury."?

All I've seen on their website is a strongly worded template letter they are asking people to send to the FAI.

They're hardly the Chelsea Headhunters or Beiter Jerusalem - La Familia.

And if they did turn turn up to the game with their Palestinian flags and tennis balls, I really can't see them being a risk of "death or injury". Unless someone trips over a flag or tennis ball of course and lands very awkwardly. They're hardly offensive weapons though are they?

The aforementioned La Familia is however a different story. Along with Maccabi Tel Aviv supporters, I'd say it's a fair bet that's where the discomfort is coming from. Again, ask the Dutch and Aston Villa. The Dutch saw at first hand what Israeli fans are like. That informed Villa's decision to exclude away fans.

Those details are firmly in the public domain.

Im.not sure that's correct

What's not correct? I've laid out some of the very real declarations of genocide. Do you not accept what I said is true, that these declarations have been made?

Every person in this world is just as important as everyone else.

How can you say that and defend what Israel is doing, whilst using other victims purely as whataboutery?

As I said, any country accused of genocide so robustly should be playing no sport against anyone. Set up threads condemning the other countries, educate us.

A mod told me not to stray off topic or i will be thread banned

Who was the mod?

My v simple Q is clearly related, I've pointed out why.

If a mod comes calling and doesn't agree it's me who's taken it "off topic". Why are you unwilling to answer a simple question?

I have been told not to stray off topic. Related does not equate to on topic. Ive been told I will be thread banned.

This is the fourth time I've had to explain this. Is there something you dont understand in this