All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2026 (Munster & Leinster Championships, Liam McCarthy Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭almostover

Hegarty has been at the sneaky pull across like that all his career. It was correctly punished with a yellow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Clear yellow. Pulled his jersey first for good measure too before the hurley smack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭hans aus dtschl

Work rate too. You'll often see him track back and make fantastic tackles at the half way line and further back. Not his best day from open play yesterday but nailed the frees. There were a lot of Cork forwards who didn't get a lot of ball yesterday and I wouldn't blame them necessarily: the Limerick defending was good, the ball in wasn't good enough and the Limerick defending of the puck outs and frees was absolutely spot-on. Limerick maked the zones rather than the men for the incoming ball, which totally nullified Cork's long puck-outs. And then a final note on Connolly, which is when he's good he's very very good.

In saying all that….why no Alan Walsh yesterday I wonder…I trust Cork selectors know more than me though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭C4000

His arm wouldnt have broken from that if it was made of glass.

Well said. What do people want from hurling referees? To just stand there and keep the time? Not blow the whistle at all and let the players have at it? Sick of that sort of commentary in the media in particular. Either the rules are enforced or we just want a free for all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,025 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Id be an admirer of Hegartys ability while still recognising hes been one of the dirtiest players of the last decade. You have rose tinted glasses me thinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭FantasyFool

It a needlees, wreckless and stupid attempt at a challenge. Theres no excuse for it and I hope all referees note it going forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭C4000

You must have been very upset altogether when Eoin Downey broke the hurley off Cathal O Neill's arm in the league final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Willie Power

I suppose I'm getting old but a lot of games could be called Rugby Hurling. The physique of players. The amount of mauling, pardon the pun, going on. Now there's serious intensity and physicality and the finish yesterday was nail biting.

But I grew up where artistry with the stick, including in the air and on the ground, was king. Tackles involved hooking and blocking, and a good shoulder was applauded. Very little use of arms in the tackle.

The irony is all the players are brilliant hurlers, but the game has evolved this way. A very good watch, for younger posters is the Leinster Final between Wexford and Offaly in 1996, 30 years ago. Or Cork v Offaly 1999 All Ireland semi. Tipp v Cork 1987 and 1991.

It's hard to imagine Brian Whelehan, John Troy, Joe Deane, maybe even Tommy Walsh be as effective today. Brute strength and years of gym conditioning would result in opponents who could horse them out of the game.

My county won the Joe Mc over the weekend. They don't have the hurling to compete in Liam Mc tbh, and they definitely don't have the physique.

"He might be an eejit, but he's our eejit"
    Willie Power

Should have been sanctioned. Just because its your county men committing the fouls doesnt mean that you have to be blind to the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,833 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

"But I grew up where artistry with the stick, including in the air and on the ground, was king"

No you didn't. That's just a seriously rose tinted fantasy.

Players didn't bother with arm tackles because they were too busy breaking hurlers off each other or too slow to catch their man to grab him.

The ball is played a lot more through the hands now than it once was. Hence why there is more tackling and fouling. If the hand pass was refereed correctly there may be a knock on effect that there will be less pulling and dragging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,077 ✭✭✭✭threeball

Or send out a directive to all teams that they will be cracking down on it in future. Its gone too far. You literally have rugby type choke tackles happen where 3 lads surround a player, pin his arms to his side till he gets called for overcarrying. The game will flow if the players play to the rules and the ref applies them. Either that, or change the rules. We cant have rules and decide to half apply them as it leads to chaos and frustration.

You have 50% on here saying he had a good game and applied the rules and 50% saying he was shite because he applied the rules. Thats not a sustainable position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Imeall an cearnóg

Your post makes no sense, again. His general point was there wasn't much use of the arm in the tackle, which you dismiss as fantasy before going on to say players didn't arm tackle?

Remember the furore over the spare arm/hand in the 00s? That was because it was something new, people didn't just suddenly start having a problem with the use of the spare arm after a few decades of it being a feature of the game.

Also why would hurlers back then be too slow to catch their man? Again it makes no sense.

Your disdain for hurling pre 2018 always shines through. I'm sure Willie appreciates you taking the time to correct him and tell him what he actually remembers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,077 ✭✭✭✭threeball

Exactly, I've seen lads get such bad bone bruises from it they had to be withdrawn. Advantage to the fouling team.

I did grow up with that. Don't tell me arrogantly what I did or didn't experience. Ok.

You'd fight with your nails today, you just won the Munster title FFS.

Willie Power

I'd like to think when I post I'm speaking about hurling in general, or instances relating to a match without bias. I have absolutely nothing against any county.

I went on a bit about Cork's last free because I thought they messed up the communication with the ref. But I'm not anti Cork. I grew up admiring Tom Cashman, JBM, John Fenton, Seanie Leary. As regards Limerick it was Tommy Quaid, Pat Hartigan, Joe McKenna.

When I say I prefer a style of hurling I'm not thinking of a particular county. Every team that has won All Irelands has innovated to some extent. Some for good, imo, and others maybe not so.

Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭Shocs24

Reminds me of the 90s when Mike Hoola and Ollie Baker were rattling of each other. Great days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,729 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

"Mike Houlihan for Limerick. Houlihan, the cattle jobber. He had his jaw broken by a kick from a bullock two months ago. He's back now. 'Twas some bullock that broke Mike Houlihan's jaw!"

😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭jacool

All-Ireland SHC quarter-finals

Saturday 20 June Clare v Dublin, FBD Semple Stadium, 7pm

Sunday 21 June Cork v Offaly, FBD Semple Stadium, 3.30pm.

Due to the GAA expecting all of Offaly to head to their QF, they have made two days out of it. KA-ching.

Semple on different days is the right call for fans of all counties but I am surprised they gave Semple both games.

I thought they would spread it for political reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,752 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Neither fixture will sell out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭Shocs24

Back in the day when that hateful term "possessions" didn't exist 😀

It tends to be the least attended game of the season respectively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭endainoz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,199 ✭✭✭Robson99

Hegarty is alway throwing the cowardly belt. Done Joe Canning in the back in 2020 when ball was nowhere near him. Should have seen red that day as well.

Alot has been made of Ben O Connors interview Sunday (which was car crash stuff) but did anyone find John Kielys interview after the match absurd? He referenced the 2024 round robin game several times and was adamant Limerick were the better team that night and got caught (Cork were up 8 pts at HT that night and had more or less retired Limericks captain in those 35 minutes ). It would be 1 thing to reference the round robin game this year but making a (questionable) point about a game 2 years ago was very peculiar and shows the lasting mental effects of both Corks wins that year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭purplesnack

The atmosphere in Cork that evening was one of the most hostile that I've ever experienced and I know John Kiely was on the receiving end of some awful abuse from some Cork fans that evening, so I'm not surprised that it is still on his mind.

Also, a half time score does not determine the outcome of a game or who the best team are. Look no further than last year's All Ireland final.

Personally I thought 2024 was a great match to be at. Both championship games that year but especially the semi final had brilliant atmospheres from what I remember.

The Cork fans around me in PuC that day were mostly hostile to Cork players up until the final whistle.