Greatest League in the World 2026 [LOI Thread]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,287 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

In the end 3 current LOI players made their debut last night with Leavy and Brennan coming off the bench

12 of the squad who played last night also played in the LOI and that’s not counting Travers (underage with Rovers) and Hodge (on loan with Derry but injured in pre season)

8 of the 11 who finished (+ those two) play/played LOI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭JorgeL

Saw that Ipswich are after Alex Noonan from rovers. Be a shame to lose him but he wouldn’t get seen with McGinty around and would probably want to go himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Gareth Keenan

Galway vs Dundalk this Friday has been moved to Turner's Cross. That's simply outstanding from all concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,175 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

I'm guessing it's a punishment from the Fai for us not having our house in order regarding Pearse Stadium. How we can't play there Saturday and the footballers Sunday when Pairc ui Caoimh was used twice at the weekend I don't know. **** show all round anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭PGE1970

The decent thing to do would be to reverse the fixtures like Dundalk did at the start of the season when their pitch wasn't ready.

I'm sure Dundalk would have offered this, in the circumstances, so I am curious why a decision to move the game to Cork is made. That is just madness!

Nope, by all accounts Dundalk wouldn't swap as our game in Oriel is a major Anniversary for them and they want the home game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,846 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Everything about that is so stupid. A 3+ hour journey for both sets of fans on a Friday...why not put it on a Saturday at least?

Or play it in Sligo or Longford, or Athlone if you don't mind the crap pitch.

I'm led to believe Dundalk were given three options and turned them all down so I'm assuming the Fai then just said here ye go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,357 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Think it’s harsh for Dundalk to be getting criticism when it’s absolutely not their business to be getting it sorted, and you’d have to imagine this should have been sorted long ago with contingencies for the possibility that Galway GAA had games during Championship season

Other clubs looked after Dundalk when their pitch wasn't ready at the start of the season.

It's a small league and what goes around comes around. That's bad form from them even though you are right to say that Galway could have planned an option C.

Did Dundalk not look after their business well in advance and get the fixtures scheduled accordingly?

They did; with the agreement of the league and affected clubs.

You are right that Galway could have planned better but I expect that they relied on promises of other third parties. Sometimes, it doesn't go to plan.

Both Dundalk and Cork will now have hotel costs in Cork, at short notice, this Friday. If Dundalk, and their supporters, had already booked accomodaiton in Galway for this Friday, they may, at least, could carry this over to later in the season.

Would it have killed Dundalk that much to reverse the fixture?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭Muller1991

Apparently Galway where offered the use of Athlone but chose against it as they thought it would give Dundalk an advatage playing on a plastic pitch.

Heard that rumour too.

Look, there's loads of nonsense rumours flying around, apportioning blame. Nothing will come out as to how it was decided. We should have had alternatives in place months ago no matter what has happened today. Both the Gaa and ourselves knew there was a possibility of Gaa and our games on the same weekend. We should have had an alternative venue set up or had it agreed at the start of the season that we'd be away on the two potentially clashing weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,336 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Fo the 1st time in a very long time, I am not really too keen on going to Celtic Park to watch us v Bohs this Friday night. Sad to say.

We are so bad to watch, the football is terrible, Lynch and his band of cronies irritate me just to see them on the touchline. Plus the pitch is awful and there is next to no football played. After a long week working, the idea of heading to the game is just not talking to me.

Need this fraud out or else our 2 euro matches will be 2 bad beatings. Probably too late now, he should have been gone long time ago.

It’s apparently a Dundalk anniversary for their home game. Absolutely makes sense to switch around and accommodate other teams where it doesn’t impact you very much, but why would you do put yourself out to do the same when Galway should have planned this properly in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I feckin knew it would happen. Just when you get a good young CF and he's doing well. Three English league teams reported to be interested in Gbemi Arubi and have had their scouts watch him. Colchester favourites to sign him if rumours are correct.

He is out of contract end of season right? 4 years of development at Shels that I believe we’d see compensation for, so I’d like to see a fee there very much.

Good god I hope no LOI team draws an Israeli opponent in Europe.

Regionalised draw should make that less likely but Bohs could get one in the second qualifying round because they’ll be in the draw with a different teams seeding rather than their own (they’re the only ones who have a chance of being seeded in the 2nd qualifying round draw too which contributes since Israel will only have an unseeded team in that draw).

Rovers (or anyone else who overcomes the odds and gets that far) could absolutely get one in the playoff or league stage too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,830 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

It would be an absolute disaster. I am all for thr national team boycotting playing Israel but a LOI club drawing one becomes a lot messier. Apparently being kicked out of the competition and banned for up to 5 years is possible if a club refused to fulfill a fixture. That would potentially kill a LOI club if they have budgeted or expect to make europe most seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,526 ✭✭✭Guffy

You either have a principle or you don't. The let's boycott unless it affects me is a poor take.

I'm not suggesting any club boycott a tie, I think it would be the wrong decision. I also feel that for the national team though.

Post edited by Guffy on

Literally the only reason I’m not dead set on Ireland refusing to play Israel, is that there’s not a hope I’d be pushing for Shels to withdraw from European competitions in the same circumstances.

Really really hope nobody gets put in that position. Well…..maybe Bohs.

Ya if it was my team id not be looking for a boycott. It's Uefas decision to make, rightly or wrongly. I'm the same in regards to the National team. Other countries have moved fixtures and played Israel in a neutral venue. Didn't our u21s play them in the last year or two and one of female national teams in hockey or basketball or something else. Play them, beat them and donate all money to Palestinian causes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭budgemook

Boh's are probably the one team who would stick to their principles on this one.

If I'm wrong I'm wrong.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,672 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

If Bohs were drawn against an Israeli team it would be put to the membership wether to fulfil the fixture or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Barnaboy

We would have to. We'd be the greatest hypocrites of all time if we didn't. Fingers crossed that we are not faced with the situation.

We have survived without European money for several years. The members would support it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,672 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

It's all "what if" at the moment in any case. No point in crossing a bridge we might never encounter.