Bord Bia Problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,404 ✭✭✭roosterman71

It's just Brazilian products being spoken about. There's more than Brazil in the Mercusor deal, plus NZ/AUS sniffing too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,007 ✭✭✭kk.man

It make sense for a processor to bring in beef probably the whole carcass cost 4.50, spend 0.50c cutting boxing and labeling. Flogg to uk supermarket for 6.50 a kg.

TThe Alternative Irish carcass has a margin of between 3 to 5.5 %.

There's only one winner there and its not the Irish farmer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,163 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,875 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

You either get one like that or one that just wants a cup of tea and a chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Tadgh is brilliant. Went to a show recently and it was brilliant craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 806 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

They're behind on inspections at the moment here. My QA is up in less than 3 weeks so rang them last Monday as I'll start moving a few in the next 3/4 weeks.

The last 2 lads I've had were more interested in talking hurling. New agent assigned this time. I hope she has an interest in hurling or camogie!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭endainoz

I think there's a bit of a grace period anyway if your licence runs out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Jb1989

There definitely would if they were the ones to fail sending their assesor out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,819 ✭✭✭✭893bet

it’s just too accurate. Fuxking had me in tears the ending where he just accepts “the findings” to be rid of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭older by the day

My lat about 5 years ago, caught me for a tiny gap between the door and the wall between the parlour and the tank house. I went berserk, and made him wait until I got the drill tecscrews and a tiny bit of a sheet which I had to cut.

It took a half an hour, but I would not let it go.

If he wants to waste my time, il waste his.

The past three inspectors were the salt of the earth. In and out in hour and a half. But that fella ain't allowed into many yards around here now.

What an absolute joke of a scheme, fat cats who can't pass on some slack to the people on the ground.

All for what, making the barons rich, this scheme must re evaluate itself. We have a qa scheme, pgi status but the whipping boys of Europe in terms of price…..

Any farmer who fails to meet the requirements of bord bia should make it known publicly and expose their arsh ticking exercises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,615 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

TBH, I have never had a serious issiue with BB, a couple years ago I had to send in a few photos, however for the last couple of turns I have seen less issues. If you keep your medicine book up to date its a pass. I never try to be perfect and yet we hit 90%+ all the time.

TBH that video is not really a genuine reflection of an inspection.

WTF why do you worry about an issue like that. Its peculiar a friend who @Dunedin might think I have disrespect for a suckler farmer and business man told me a story about his first inspection after he bought the place.

They were walking down to see the cattle and he mentioned the bull was a bit lively. The BB inspector looked Dick up and down and said,

"Do not worry I will.be out of the field faster than you ".

When the inspection was coming to an end he said

" Dick I need to find a few faults"

" Why so"

" Do you want 2-3 lads coming into the your yard trying to find issues with my report".

Everytime I have a few failures. I no longer put the signs on the gate, I might not have my plastics receipt, thr shed will definitely not be powerhosed. As another lad said a waste of a day powerhosing a shed.

No problem withe BB scheme. Its where feedlots and intensely fed cattle are allowed to be considered grass fed p!sses me off

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

Im going to say it once and never again, it's the best form of protest, withdraw from bord bia en mass and see the fuckers sell our beef into foreign markets we are getting hammered so whats to loose. They can't market irish beef so ifs that's that's the way why bother, comply, when every other market are achieving much much more in the market place than Ireland.

Like why they can't distort the French market or Italian with their excess beef. Are they they so obsessed with the British market? We are in this market since 1972 and we can't get in???

I don't think I'd ever say this but the sooner JPS buy a factory in this country and shake up the barons, the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,615 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

BB is immaterial to most markets but the UK. The problem with withdrawal is every farmer would need to send a letter in informing them he was withdrawing from the scheme. There is two hopes of that and Bob is not the answer. Along with that the feedlots will supply for a while.

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,163 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

It was the labelling of the feed bin with "Nuts" that got me. It reminded me of a place I worked in before. This old guy was mixing all these chemicals and pastes together. Inspector asked him what was in one unlabelled container. It's Isopropanol says yer man. How do you know it's Isopropanol? "Cause I put it there" says yer man.

Missing the point again bass, 90% of the people who call to a farmers yard are respectful and understanding. But assholes don't have to be tolerated.

It's about respect. I won't go in to your yard and home, acting like the boss.

The fact that the government supports the head of board bia, and his companies import foreign beef, says enough.

And you call anyone who protests in this country thicko's, you will hardly get the grasp of my argument

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭Pie Man

Did he not put it down as an infraction away. Any simple paperwork error I do have, they record it, even if I fix it in front of them. They always have to find something wrong.

Probably would have yeah. As yo usay they always have to find something.

Bord bia memberships will probably fall fairly fast once SCEP is over anyway, but they'll probably bring in some other scheme to try to keep them. It would want to be a very attractive scheme though.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 5,108 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Bord Bia is essentially the Govt. It’s going nowhere. But say Larry was found knee deep in a Brazilian while over there and the whole thing collapsed, the beef factories and co-ops would bring in their own equivalent audits.

Hounding farmers for paperwork is a great source of work for admin types who are always trying to justify their position.

This dangling of the qa bonus is an absolute tool to control farmers. The more the factories talk about bord bia, grass fed, carbon friendly, pgi status the suspicious should rise. Are we the only country in the eu with pgi status beef? If so why the lowest price. The **** talk about markets contriving its absolute bull. They have their contracts with the British supermarkets tied up. The fact that they control the UK kill and bought up much of the UK factories means the UK supermarkets are never going ignore their sales people.

Their plan is to hit 5.50 for the autumn kill. There will be no irish beef going into the uk, no e or u grade, no aa or he costing them 6e a kg. If we sit on our hands they will achieve that. So might as well loose the qa bonus now because it disappears by drip, drip every week anyway.

There's a world shortage of beef, all markets are steady, either the factory sales people are not good at their jobs or they are making huge profits at farmers expense. Id thing it might be the latter as all their sales departments can't be collectively incompetent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Dunedin

@Bass Reeves it’s called comedy. People with a sense of humour typically enjoy it. You should try it some time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 806 ✭✭✭CHOPS01

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 5,108 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I hope ye ungrateful shower realise how lucky ye are to have Larry selling your beef: https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/revealed-bord-bia-governance-probe-endorses-chair-larry-murrin/

What now for Francie? Will he ask farmers to leave their fields and set up tents outside the Bord Bia offices again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

It's wonderful that the board is happy with its members, very reassuring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I remember @greysides posting a bit of advice many years ago - when your responding to a post that winds you up - type it out, read it, read it again and again, edit it if necessary before hitting the post comment button - don't be a dick.

I had a reply typed about Murrin, him importing Brazilian beef and the cozy cartel (I'll suck your dick and you'll suck mine) within State and Semi State bodies but I deleted it.

Jaysus, I'm fuming but not surprised at the result, I need to calm down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Coolcormack1979

quelle surprise.i wrote at the time that this report would be bs and so it proves.we’re all just utter gobshites for putting up with it but there’s no point arguing anymore.

Fg backed there man to the hilt and I see some senator from fg is blaming farmers for the poor price of beef today due to them basically attacking an innocent man.

Remember this at the next general election but there’s will still be farmers who will only vote fg.signing your own death warrant

It's simple enough.

You have IFA, ICMSA, ICSA ect. All they need do is send a letter to every member, that they should not consent to any audit until the crisis is sorted.

Easy peasy, except they are all gutless,

Not a cent i pay to unions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Thesmallfarmer

Never a truer word and on top ,how many farmers would just break ranks for 10 cent extra and laugh at the thickos protesting.

I bet also many the farmer voted Ffg strongly in the bye election in Galway .

Is beef farming a lost cause really bar a hobby

That was always going to be the case with the review.

Now here's the million dollar question, will he go back in as chair.....

If he returns as chair and the way we are being treated atm by the factories, then id say all bets are off (except violence, don't mind protests, no blockades, respect lawful authority). The manner in which UK trade was dealt with by the factories is nothing short of scandalous and the most unpatriotic move they have ever made.

Post edited by kk.man on