Economical 4x4

• 29-04-2026 03:50PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭

Looking for suggestions for an economical 4x4 if there's such a thing. Have a caddy van which I couldn't fault to be fair, but I need something with 4x4 and good ground clearance for going off road, preferably commercial but not the end of the world if it isn't. Won't be pulling any heavy loads so don't really want to be get a pajero or land cruiser type jeep if I can avoid it with the cost of them. Anyone on here tried a dacia duster 4x4 or mitsubishi outlander? Or any other recommendations for an economical 4x4? (if such a jeep even exists) Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,064 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Certainly from videos online the Duster 4x4 is capable.
    it seems to run on the older Nissan system which I used in an XTrail for years without problem, not true 4wd but very capable for the average Joe. I’ve a Partner can myself and would consider a Duster 4x4 after this

Post edited by _Brian on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭White Clover

Toyota Rav4 2012-2014 4*4 @Bass Reeves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,615 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Ya they are the busisness at present a 2.2D with an AWD button. Hardvto come accross and especially hard to get a high spec one

My own 2010 is on its last legs. Bought it for 7k in 2019 put 110k miles on it. It needs to retire to on farm duties in the next 6 months. Mine was an English Invincible model,

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Barnsley

Don't think the rav4 can be got in a 2 seater version, but what size boot have they or can the seats be folded down or taken out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,615 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Seats can be folded down. Usually just put a small 2 wheel trailer behind it use it fencing feeding ration moving troughs etc.

Mine was 400 car tax late 2012 to 14 was 270 euro.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,357 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Why have you two threads running on this?

Other one says looking for Hunting vehicle????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭older by the day

I have a hilux, but had a suzuki grand vitara as a farm vehicle a few years ago. She had 4 wd, and was a pure tractor on land, never got stuck.

I would be watching DD for those types of cross overs, a lot less money than a landcruiser.

Will be using the vehicle for shooting aswell as farming. Wanted to get opinions from as many people as possible

What year was the vitara? Im hoping to get something from 2014/15 and up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭almostover

Hard to go wrong with a Duster, the Renault 1.5dci is a well proven and reliable engine. Probably the best of the small capacity diesel engines. You'll get a 2017 / 2018 model for €10k ish like this one. The newer the better with these, the rust proofing was improved considerably in later years.

The Vitara of a similar era is a grand car too. The engine is a Fiat lump thats been around for ages too and is generally well regarded. The 4WD is a selectable Snow or Mud mode. Maybe not as capable as the Duster? You'll pay more for a Vitara and it will feel more premium. But parts will be more expensive and harder to come by. The Duster will be cheaper to maintain.

If you are going off road a good bit then tyres will be the key consideration. Get proper off road tyres or you'll have flip all traction. However, they will be very noisy on the road.

The Towing Capacity of the dister is 1.5T the vitara no better I imagine. As well the duster for an off roader is a bit lower thn other crossovers I think. Neither are really build for serious towing.

With what you are looking for forget about what year it is. You want a clean example give a good check on the chassis. Tht is where it will fail longterm. The bext of them are the 2.2D Toyota RAV with the 4wd button up to 2014. There was face lift towards the end of 2012, that midel.8s probably not as strong as the earlier version but its is still decent.

There is a Mitibishi Outlander with AWD that hs 2000kg TC as well up until 2017/18 anyway. Not sure when they started

Hyundi Santa Fe but they guzzle a bit of diesel. Its very hard to get van type crossover, they are nearly all seated. Tax is usually cheaper or much the sme as commercial tax and NCT is cheaper and easier to pass than CVRT

Slava Ukrainii

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 5,108 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I’ve a 2015 Dacia Duster 1.5d since 2020 and it’s a decent machine. Low maintenance and fuel costs but as pointed out above it’s only rated to pull 1,500kg.

I’ve been looking around for something that’d pull 2,000kg but it’s proving impossible to get anything below €15k from a garage that isn’t older than the Dacia or a compromise in some other way.

I’m probably going to stick with the Dacia, buy a 10x5 trailer, and just transport calves. I was aiming to buy something that’d draw 3-4 finished cattle too but I think I’ll have to keep using the local haulier for that end of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭almostover

OP stated that they wouldn't be using the vehicle for any heavy towing. Also, the ground clearance of the Duster is 210mm, which is slightly more than the Rav 4 (180mm), Outlander (190mm), and the Santa Fe (185mm).

The choice should be based on the OPs usage, I was just suggesting options given that they wanted something economical and weren't concerned about towing capacity. Depends on the OPs requirements, the Rav 4, Outlander and Santa Fe will carry more cargo and tow maybe 500kg more but that will come at a penalty of higher fuel consumption. It's a trade off for the OP to consider.

Wont be towing with it so the Dacia could be the right pick for me. Is your one 4x4 and if so how do you find it?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 5,108 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

No mine isn’t 4x4.

Since I got caught by a Guard going to the mart with a neighbour’s cattle trailer years ago, I’ve never pulled anything with it apart from a small car trailer.

The oder RAV'S were 200mm I just taught looking at the Duster it looked lower.

Its not the engine I gennerally worry a out when towing, its the strenght of the rear end.

Ford Kuga are rated to pull 2 ton but the wheels at the back will spay out if you use it towing. You would hardly want to be taking a few bags of nuts in it.

Thete was a Rav 4 202D 2010 with 220000km went on DDvthis morning. Asking price 4500euro. Add was taken down by lunchtime

Slava Ukrainii

I was working the numbers on a KGM electric.. they cost 45k approx. 2.5ton towing capacity. Admittedly off road ability might be questionablenso maybe just go 2wd.

. https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/kgm-musso-electric-ev-pick-up-truck-double-cab-n1/41784719?utm_source=android&utm_medium=share&utm_campaign=listing_share

Because its an EV you have the option to deprecate over a single year or 8 years.. if you were trading something worth 15k you have a 30k allowance to write down. Calculating running costs about 3-5c/ KM compared to 17-23 for something similar in diesel which probably with has more power. For a part time farmer who wanted something to run to the mart and do a bit of towing the numbers really stack up.

3-4k of a difference in running costs.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

How would EVs cope with being overloaded is a question worth considering maybe. Different issues compared to diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭older by the day

Would someone test it with a few finished cows in the box, and see how much battery can pull. It would be nice to see the results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭Jim Simmental

the ad states it has 2300 kg towing capacity - probably is no use really with a 14 x 6 weighing c. 1350 kg.

Edit maybe it might suit a 10x 5 trailer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭Jim Simmental

I found this ad on DoneDeal - where you'll find more cars from trusted dealers than anywhere else.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/kgm-musso-2-2-pickup-5-seater-commercial-4wd-200-b/40937694?campaign=3

I see they also do a 2.2 diesel version as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭emaherx

Looking at one myself, I don't plan on much towing but would like the pickup as I miss the D-max for keeping the smell of feed/milk powder out of the cab. Dmax got too expensive on diesel and I upgraded tractor cattle trailer and sold the old ifor Williams.

The EV and diesel pickup are very different as the EV is based on one of the SUV's rather than a ladder frame pickup. More like a lightweight Ute than a pickup we'd be used too, but should suit my needs fine.

Sorry taught it was 2500kgs. Interestingly it can carry 690 kgs as well in the load bed. How you weight separately is not very prevalent in Ireland, you can hardly take the box with cattle off to weight..

@yosemitesam1 its stability will be no issue. Even though Irish law is 750kgs unbraked, its rated for 1500kgs unbraked. As most part time lads will not be travelling 100km in the evento collect cattle its should not be a serious issue.

@Jim Simmental the diesel is a serious animal 3500kgs braked, however its a different frame/ chassis. However in the case of a part time farmer who is doing a bit of commuting the diesel has away higher running costs and you do not have the depreciation bonus.

@older by the day its power spec is among the highest of the crewcab EV out there. My biggest issiue is its a Sang Yong, I still have nightmares of them 30+ years ago and I only drove them as a replacement for my own yoke.

@emaherx its the tax element and running costs that are attractive. Have you enquired as to the price of the AWD and towing capacity. It may be that with what I got mixed up on the TC.

In this life you can always look at the issues and problems. If you are the average parttime farmer you can probably walk away from this after 7-8 years and be 5-10k+ ahead of a similar specification diesel type vehicle 4-6 years old costing 20k, especially if you can work the one year depreciation. I am not sure if you can suspend other depreciation lime you could 15 years ago. I did it with sheds back then if you can it doable for a lot if lads with a decent income

Slava Ukrainii

@Bass Reeves I haven't looked too closely at the AWD as I don't really need it to be honest. I've seen several different advertised capacities for both, so I'd be checking what's on the plate before buying, I've seen some advertised as low as 500kg in the bed.

Seeing how much excess solar we've had since the beginning of April and the price of fuel an EV is starting to make a lot of sense. I've really low mileage these days and DPF keeps blocking up in the old diesel.

Other EV pickups are coming but well out of my price range and are much more powerful than I need. The BYD shark could be another option but it is a plugin hybrid and I don't think I want the extra complexity for my low mileage.

@Bass Reeves

According to KGM Ireland site

Payload is only 500KG and tow capacity 1.5T

(But their brochure says 1.8T)

https://kgm.ie/kgm-musso-ev/

Other markets like Australia seem to advertise higher capacities over 800kg in the bed of 2WD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Get one and let us know how it goes. An unbaked trailer of greater than 750kg isn't legal anyway. I'd imagine with 3t behind it, range would drop by at least 60-70% assuming no other factors like temperature or battery ageing.

Then if there was any potential to overload the motors, excess heat generated in the system etc, might not be as straightforward to make it pay for any significant work

1000008145.jpg

From the brochure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭dp22250

How many years will it take to off set the carbon it takes to produce one of those fisher price toys?
    Take into account esb produced by fossil fuel also.

My car is over 10 years old, I bought it new and would like to replace it. I have solar panels and produce a fair bit of surplus power, more and more of the ESB produced power is becoming low/0 carbon. I'll likely drive it for 10 years and the battery warranty is 10 years.

My new car ICE or EV will have a carbon footprint to produce and EV's have been proven to have a lower lifetime carbon footprint by a long way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,555 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

Do you think a diesel 4x4 is made from fairy dust and arrives in Ireland on a sailing ship. No one cares.