All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2026 (Munster & Leinster Championships, Liam McCarthy Cup)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Galway young lads have revitalised them. Everyone talks about niland and rabbitte but darragh neary has been a massive find. Ronan glennon brilliant as an attacking corner back. Whelan looks to have a new lease of life

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 37,285 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Galway looked like world beaters at times today, but Dublin were truly awful.

When you add in a few injuries, their squad is fairly poor. Clare will most certainly beat them and I think they will beat them well.

As others have mentioned and most will agree, it is very hard not to see a Cork v Limerick final.

Could Clare catch the Munster winners in the semi - they will give them a game but probably fall short, but I think they have a big game in them this year, it could well be the in the semi.

Could Galway beat the Munster losers? This should be a close game but hard not to see the winner being the Munster team.

Nothing set in stone yet but I fully expect tomorrows game to be of a higher standard than todays, even in the rain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,831 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

I believe but could be wrong that the rule just says goal scoring opportunity and that was one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭dmc17

Exactly, and that's the very reason he pulled him down

I filled out that survey they were talking about and one of my main points was hurling needs a bigger penalty box than football..

I also said Clare should be disbanded 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,025 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Any man on a run from midfield is on a goal scoring opportunity so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭donnem33

That is the tactic which beat Galway in Salthill. Galway were the much better team in that game but threw it away with awful shooting, and even then it was lost just in injury time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,389 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Galway showed more fight than they normally show, physical aggressive. Dublin weren’t great though.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Willie Power

Thought ye had a great chance at 6pts down, man up, 10min to go. Maybe the injuries etc but got well beaten then.

"He might be an eejit, but he's our eejit"
    Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,389 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Yeah so did I, what I noticed was Donal Burke wasn’t getting to take many frees. Which meant Galway weren’t fouling as much.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,177 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Dublin saved the Leinster hurling championship by guaranteeing we'd have a final with a new winner for the first time in a while.

So considerations to them but they didn't perform at all. So they'll play Clare in a quarter final? That should be a tasty affair.

Am I right in saying if Offaly had of held on and beaten KK it would have been an Offaly Dublin final?

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,112 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

No Offaly still would have finish behind Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,177 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Sorry I mixed things up. Wexford would have had to beat Galway aswell.

I'm on the verge of a site ban. Please don't rage bait me, I'm easily triggered especially late at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭thamus doku

well done Galway, they played some great stuff.
    Dublin will have better days. They will learn from this and come back better.
    I enjoyed that game today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,595 ✭✭✭giveitholly

They did play some great stuff but at times had nearly 14 men in their own half,hurling as a spectacle now is a hard watch. Dublin scored 4-15,yet were still hammered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,112 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Maybe learn from there football counterparts and get out of Parnell Park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Fine win for Galway but Leinster was even more poor than usual this year. They'll most likely be playing the losers between ourselves and Limerick later on in the semi final, so it will be interesting to see how they go there.

People were blowing and hyping that Dublin team up but i always felt they'd flatter to deceive. Dublin hurling has never really built on the relative success of the Anthony Daly era.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,077 ✭✭✭✭threeball

I think the atmosphere was very funny in there today or so it appeared on TV. 45k people but it seemed like they were all chatting. There was a constant murmur, not the usual rise and fall of cheering you normally hear.

Often the atmosphere feeds onto the pitch and players either rise to meet it or it pulls the occasion down. It appeared to do that to Dublin. Big support but it was like they were unsure or not invested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Coolcormack1979

that match last nite was truly awful.hurling is in big trouble as it’s now what football was before the frc got involved and changed rules.

The great game of even 15 yrs ago when tipp and kk went at it is now rugby with sticks.watching Galway’s tactics of a packed defence and 2 up front with acres of space and a clueless dubs just with one tactic of lumping it up to hedgo and if that failed just rinse and repeat.

Balls thrown the whole time and the spare arm tackle are a blight on the great game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

I just decided to have a look back at Galway team who started last year's leinster final. Only 5 of the same players started yesterday, mannions ×2, Daithi Burke monaghan and whelan. That's a huge turnover of players and shows the level of change michael o donoghue has overseen in the last 6 months .

Also means they have real depth in their squad. Likes of Evan niland and tj brennan didn't even make the first 26 yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭914

Well we can all have our day on the future of hurling, bottom of this article you can state what you feel is wrong with the game and how it can be improved.

It also has a few interesting questions around playing through sliotar back to the keeping, pick out distance etc

https://www.gaa.ie/article/hurling-review-public-survey

Can't remember the exact number but Canning mentioned a healthy amount of u20s and very recent graduates from u20 starting yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,471 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Niland, Rabbitte from this year's u20, plus Neary, Joshua Ryan, Rory Burke, Killeen. Cian Daniels would be a new player, but never played under age for Galway.

There's 2 other lads from the 20s in the senior panel, but they wont play this year imo (Culleen Killeen - best midfield prospect Galway have had in a few years, and Sean Murphy).

Tbf to Donoghue, a fair change in the panel in the space of 12 months. Already, atm, this year has been a big improvement for Galway on the last few years. Staying up in the league, when they'd have been one of the favourites for relegation, and winning Leinster. Hopefully, they give a good account of themselves in the semi final. They'll be underdogs in that match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭einn32

I keep reading that this is the first Munster final in the new PUC but Limerick played Tipp there in 2021 in a Munster final??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,021 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Going be tough for Cork today. Great record though in Munster finals been in 85 and won 55 of them. Limerick been in 53 and won 25.

Think today might be limericks day but we will see. Going be close you will feel

EVENFLOW

Obviously must be talking about it being the first time fans will experience the stadium for a Munster final.

Those Covid matches it's hard to remember where they were played because the venue was inconsequential. So also might just be people forgetting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭einn32

The latest article i read it was on RTE. The same article said Cork and Limerick never contested an AI final....

The one on RTE I'm reading from Conor Neville mentioned the 2021 All Ireland but he is definitely isn't the first person to talk about how Cork vs Limerick was the first and last at the old venue and new one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,595 ✭✭✭giveitholly

There was supporters at the 2021 Munster final