Republic of Ireland General Discussion Thread 2026

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

You don't generate squad depth by playing guys who likely won't ever be real options though

I've no problems giving the likes of Travers and Phillips a run and taking Parrott and Coleman off way earlier than they were.

But kowloonkev is spot on for ne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,828 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

We might all have a cap by the end of the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭JorgeL

Jesús Christ. It’s an end of season friendly where we haven’t qualified for the World Cup, half the squad have pulled out or were never going to be involved so they could rest/go on holiday. Who else should have been called in?

Canada are miles better than us. Ranked 30th and probably justifiably so. What do you expect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,027 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Least keeps unbeaten run going.

Melia looked lively for his short stint

EVENFLOW

Canada are woeful (if that's their best team). Don't see them winning a game at the World Cup

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

I was thinking that, yeah. Really wasteful up front, and didn't react well to giving up the lead. Davies was injured and he'll improve things if he's back in time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,362 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

What about the standard of team Canada traditionally faces though in CONCACAF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,290 ✭✭✭kksaints

It's generally the Central American countries like Honduras, Panama and Costa Rica that they'd end up playing. They usually don't play the tiny Caribbean minnows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,290 ✭✭✭kksaints

3 former St Pats players and one current player on the pitch at the end. Excellent work done by our academy and club.

I'd be a little concerned for the likes of Umeh in this squad for the next window. He needs the type of service that our style of play tonight couldn't give him. Yeah we'll have better players back in the Autumn but still our tactics tonight wouldn't suit him. Didn't help we had no midfield in the first half to provide that service.

Disappointed Melia couldn't take his chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,745 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

The games in this window were utterly unimportant… what mattered far more is the training time on the pitch, and what HH saw from the lads on a day to day basis. Plenty of these players won't be in further squads for a while (if ever), but if one or two lads break into the regular squad then it's well worth it. Moylan looked like he did enough to become a Nations League squad member anyway, Umeh probably not with a lot of competition in that area - but good to have him introduced nice and young. Same for Melia.

All in all, really no point whinging about an end of season holiday tour. Canada are also a lot better than some are giving them credit for (a few comments treating them like some minnow or something were particularly nuts). This was a friendly for them too, like.

Post edited by ~Rebel~ on

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,381 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

At least Heimir didn't find a modern day Joe Lapira.

Have to say I couldn't tell what our style of play was, or who it benefitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭robwen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,027 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I agree with most of what you said, apart maybe the lads hoping to get into the squad. For them they have to take it unless they dont care.

I agree totally on the Canada team. We kinda look down on them at times. Wont win world cup but none of their players was really going bust a gut either.

I was looking forward to seeing what few players could bring. Sadly it was nothing based on last night.

Roll on the nations league.......

EVENFLOW

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Is the u21 game being shown on any channel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Anois_

We could have won that match. Just the keeper to beat. I know it's easier said than done and that's the difference of a world class player and someone else. Parrott also should never have stopped for that split second while taking the penalty. Luckily there was someone there to finish it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,705 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Not true, it may have been overhanging the edge of the line, which would be in the quadrant. In any case, it was close, so pretty irrelevant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Scrabbel

I thought the keeper had stepped just off the line when Parrott struck the penalty. Could have been brought back for a re-take if the follow-up wasn't scored. Having said that I prefer not to see any hesitation in a run-up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,256 ✭✭✭eire4

Just 2 summers ago Canada were reaching the semi-finals of the Copa America. Not bad for such a "woeful" team when playing games that actually matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,224 ✭✭✭✭TheCitizen

I think it’s a hard call. Ideally the event goes ahead in Dublin. The preliminaries start as usual, the players shake hands with the Israeli players as individuals but then walk off the pitch in protest at what the current Israeli government are doing.

That’s what I think should happen but that would need to be meticulously organised and planned and the last thing we would want is any bad behaviour from supporters or hangers on that turn up on the day to just vent spleen and anger. It would need to be organised clandestinely as well because the Israeli players won’t turn up if they got any information that it could happen that way. A proper dignified protest could be arranged but would be difficult to organise and implement. Some people not in the know could make a mess of it.

In the absence of that the match played behind closed doors in a neutral venue would be the least worst option.

Looks like a decision today on this. Most likely they'll move the game abroad which is the only option.

Cancelling the fixture would reward Israel and punish Irish football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,815 ✭✭✭tigger123

I think it's going to be cancelled tbh. I read somewhere over the wkd that the Govt are getting spooked by the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Iwastimthe

It will be played in a neutral venue, most likely Hungary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Players should refuse to play the match abroad. Either have the balls to play the game in Dublin or not play it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

The only country to refuse to play Israel, aren’t we great. That’ll teach Israel. It’ll cost us a lot of money for our national and club football but the main thing is apparently doing something that does nothing for Gaza but hurts us

Not playing the game explicitly rewards Israel so it's hard to understand that mentality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,298 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Confirmed now the FAI are seeking approval to move the game to a neutral venue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Mr.CoolGuy

Fair play to the FAI on this one. I had my doubts, but they managed to pull it out of the bag and decide on the absolute worst course of action for everyone here that makes nobody happy.

Well, the "Israel are actually great actually" contrarians will be happy I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭MacDanger

100% agree.

Either refuse to play it or play it at home, a neutral venue is a shite choice