Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭tbiggertycome

I know for a fact from one of Henrys interviewing panel that not much was expected during his tenure. The same guy was involved in multiple Galway underage teams and he said Henry probably doesn't realise the lack of talent at the time in Galway and that the talent would likely only start coming in his final year but would be very young. Galway had won 5 minors but very little came off any of those teams and a few other Galway men I knew expected very little from Henrys time not because Henry wasn't good but the talent wasn't there.

As I have criticised our own management for not improving the players they have, the same criticism could probably be levelled at Henry but I wasn't following Galway enough to know if guys were getting better or not. From memory he tried to blood newer players his last year much like Lyng and it didn't go great. I'm not advocating for him but sometimes a bit of context beyond the results can make for a more even judgement.

I think the CB should be looking for the best coach in the whole country and break the bank to get him in with whoever is manager. If Kinnerk was available at the end of this year go get him even though it's unlikely. If it's Herity great but as Dempsey showed he doesn't have to be a Kilkenny man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Good points again Ned… in fact I think someone should propose you for our next Chairman, you sound like just the kind of man we need at the helm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Willie Power

These long distance managerial jobs are at a disadvantage from the start.

As posters are saying it's difficult to see many club games. Also I can't imagine living in South Kilkenny and travelling a few times a week to Galway with (5 is it?) a young family. You couldn't give as much as you would to a more local job.

You'd be relying a fair bit on the opinions of people you don't know that well re. panel selection etc. I will say this though, Henry will have to show more than he has in his inter county managerial career so far to get Kilkenny moving on an upward curve.

"He might be an eejit, but he's our eejit"
    Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,471 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

That's a very fair point wrt not knowing the local club scene as easily as, say Waterford or Wexford (obviously far closer to him geographically). It often involved him having to stay over in Galway when going to certain club matches, as opposed to the convenience if he was over Wexford or Waterford (for example).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭thesultan

his interview (delayed post cork Clare) was very honest and raw and showed the character of the man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭FazyLucker

Yes he managed that MLR team that shocked Oulart that day. Not sure what year.

I was talking about Wexford, Kilkenny are still in a better place than us although there is a bit of a rebuild post-TJ needed there too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭davidx40

Is Tom Mullally currently with any team club or county

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Nedflanders02

Was talking to a friend who is on the Kilkenny management committee, they had a meeting yesterday in the wake of Derek's deprture, a few interesting items that were discussed that might interest a few here:

• Clubs are being requested to send in suggestions for for the senior management team for 2027, deadline 21st of June.
    • Clubs are also invited to submit observations on current hurling structures in the county and improvement potentials that could be implemented. Looking into the posibility of special fourums on the nights of the championship launches.
    • A selection committee to be set up of 3 management committee members and 2 others with 'relevant expertise'.
    • Recomendation for Gordon Byrne to be re-ratified as minor manager for 2027.
    • Potential for a North KK v South KK fund raiser to happen either in the summer or later in the year (potentially a trail game for new manager).

So now is the time to contact your clubs and get your suggestions, ideas and gripes!

Great to see that they’re open to suggestions and ideas on how to improve things. They must be reading these threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭jonniegoogle

That's a pleasant surprise to be fair. A few interesting weeks/months ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭jonniegoogle

I did hear before that he was with MLR for something like 7 or 8 years which is a fair stint in one spot. Does anyone know anyone there for some insider knowledge?

I might look it up later to compare how successful Dowling and Mullaly have been in their managerial careers.

If anyone can update please add…….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,584 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

I'd be happy with either of them. I wouldn't be devastated about Henry either, think he would definitely bring something very positive to the setup. Don't know that I would want anyone from the current setup stepping in, continuity just isn't what's called for right now, team needs a fresh start. There's a lot of players both inside and outside the panel right now who could benefit from a blank slate and the feeling that they can make a new impression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 TryMyBest

I’m guessing he’s still with Naas

Had read somewhere else that he was Lyng’s telephone consultant

Think he left Carlow because of something they found in their financial audits (Or at least that was my understanding)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,584 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 TryMyBest

Mullally was a coach with the Wexford Seniors around 2008, I think

Would’ve managed the Wexford U21s in 2017 and 2018

Managed Fethard, Shelmaliers, and Rathnure in Wexford, got Rathnure to a County Final in 2011

Has won county titles with Clara, MLR, and Naas as well

Might’ve been in with Wicklow in some capacity before he took on the Carlow job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Marrooned

that certainly would show that they might be prepared to make changes CB under pressure or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Sir Chaz

I'd agree with the point that the panel needs a completely fresh start, and a continuation of much of the previous management might mean we don't achieve that. We know that many of the players we have just didn't perform at a high level consistently enough this year, for whatever reason, and everyone might benefit from a complete re-set, be it with Henry, Dowling, or Mullally.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭njcat

I hope Henry focuses on his brand new business and returns to managing Kilkenny teams when that is established. Too much to take on. Starting a business demands 110% plus family support. Give the u20 reins to Brian Hogan assuming he is in a secure situation. Henry can be an observer with input at all levels but only when he has availability. He needs to be ruthless with his time. His onfield decision making was the best ever and helped up enormously. We want that but he needs to show young lads that you can have both thst hurling success plus a successful business and sbove sll a happy wife and family. We all wish him well.

That seems a decent proactive response from the CB. Hopefully it's followed through.

I'm sure the CB are aware of all the issues from their work, clubs and meeting the public.

Willie Power

Your last sentence is absolutely spot on… and a very important point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭jamesbond2022

Id hope the players have the opportunity to participate in some sort of review of this season and give there opinion on what went wrong and what went right also

These days there needs to be some sort of player input into any managerial change aswell

When you think of Offaly and Bab's 'sheep in a heap'.

Hard to imagine any manager leaving on that note nowadays 😅 In many cases the player power pendulum has swung too far the other way.

Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 longcovid

no mention of the commercial side from the CB. The KIlkenny Cats brand could be huge and in the right hands generate a lot of money for facilities, coaches etc. Get the right commercial manager and the money will follow. How it’s used is another matter but if you don’t have the money in today’s game it’s very difficult to succeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

they never want to upset Tirlan.
    Do ye all know about the electronic scoreboard story . The electronic scoreboard in Thurles was destined for Nowlan park as a GIFT from UPMC and our CB turned it down because they didn’t want to upset the scoreboard sponsors FACT € 250,000 worth , now that doesn’t make good business sense in fact it doesn’t make any sense. This is is the reality of the CB we need to go into debt to have something to strive for and the the county behind some worthwhile projects. I agree entirely with your recommendations Longcovid.

I wonder will the CB be approaching 'Red Curly'. He's… old style and a good disciplinarian😅

Willie Power

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Best of luck to the Celtic Challenge lads today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭tbiggertycome

It's a good start and if followed through on properly could be the start of some meaningful changes but like many things the county board do I'd worry about long term delivery. Lots of good starts with poor end product.

It’s like the fall of every dictatorship, when the pressure comes on fundamental changes can be made. When was the last time the CB gave out any information? Don’t get me wrong this is all welcome openness and honesty is vital and we can all work together now. I am surprised that they have thrown it over to the clubs, this smacks of sharing the blame which they ignore the clubs usually. Ned Quinn sent his apologies for not being able to attend. So he is still heavily involved which a lot of people don’t know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,007 ✭✭✭kk.man

Its a clever idea, if the next appointment goes south the CB will say we farmed it out to the clubs. Very good self preservation.