Labour Saving and General Guntering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

As some above said lift the arms over the pin. Usually a 2 min job max and use pick up hitch hook. I have one older tractor that doesn’t lift up enough so I drop the lift arms down as far as they will go and it goes under the draw bar of tanker safety. However when I use this method I’m sure to tie the lift arms lever down with twine so as it won’t accidentally lift up and cause damage.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 5,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Thanks for all the replies lads.

This is the other end of the hitch - the proper pick-up end doesn’t have holes to hold it in place when it’s extended. I only used this end to take the pic so I could show ye on here.

I’ll try lifting up the arms again and taking the pins out to lift them higher. To be honest, I haven’t spent too much time trying to figure it out. Time is a scarce commodity (same as everyone else) but I’m slowing down and trying to do things right now rather than figuring out just enough to todays job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Or let the lift arms down to the last and then screw out the drop arms a bit and they will pass under the drawbar if turning sharp. I agree with others who say pick up hitch is a safer option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,300 ✭✭✭White Clover

Have seen lots do that and end up damaging the catches for the quick release on the arms when they get caught in the drawbar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,300 ✭✭✭White Clover

The pick up hook should never be extended out. It should be in to the last where there is a stopper above it to prevent the tank or trailer or whatever from hopping off the hook.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 5,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

That makes sense. And I’m guessing that’s why there isn’t holes in the hitch shaft to allow you extend the pick-up hook end.

Spot on. It needs to be in where there is a stopper above the hook to prevent trailers etc hopping off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,945 ✭✭✭emaherx

Not useful for this case but some MF hitches can be extended, as there is an attachment to cover the hook.

I think that is on the deluxe hitch (300 & 600 series). Is it they can be extended in order to clip on the clevis attachment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,945 ✭✭✭emaherx

Yes, I had it on both 300 and 600 series tractors, I've only ever used it with the clevis attachment but the operators manual showed there was another attachment for using with the hook while extended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭divillybit

I'd be wary of liff arms catching the pto so Id be inclined to cut off that stand bit on the underside of the tanker drawbar that catches the lift arms and get it rewelded on a few inches further back the drawbar out of the radius of the lift arms. You'd wanna keep the tanker on the hook to keep as much weight on the back wheels for traction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭minerleague

Been a while since been in class but wouldn't there be more downward force using longer drawbar over hook in close?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Sergeant Bilco

The longer the drawbar on the tanker the lighter the load on the tractor, the longer the drawbar on the tractor causes an imbalance of weight on tractor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭divillybit

We'd only use that long open tractor drawbar hitch for something like the round baler where there wouldn't be much weight on the baler drawbar as the weight of the round bale is mainly on the baler wheels the longer brawbar is better for tight turns with the baler. For anything like the slurry tanker, the long drawbar isint suitable as it would be putting upward force on the front of the tractor. You want the eye of the tanker drawbar as close to the back axel of the tractor. The tanker in question looks like an 1100 gallon tanker so the longer tractor drawbar hitch would be OK but not ideal. Anything over 1100 gallons the tanker drawbar eye would need to be on the short hook hitch.

I think I’m sorted with the new PTO (cut to fit) and dropping the arms when using the slurry tank. I reckon it’s safer than trying to lift them and potentially get too close to the PTO.

The vacuum pipe was damaged when I flicked the pump off the drawbar last week but I thought I could cut off the damaged end and slid it back in place. No such luck. I need to get one on Monday.

I got a new PTO for the topper as that’s the one I was using for the slurry tank before I busted it. I’m behind on a few jobs so went to do a bit of topping this evening and realised there’s something not catching on the topper drive with the pin of the new PTO. Abandon ship on that til Monday too.

I slipped lifting a bucket of meal earlier and bit my tongue so it hurts to eat, drink, and talk.

I threw my hat at the whole lot then. Put Fatboy Slim on my little bluetooth speaker, poured a can, and picked up my book. Herself is gone to her friends for the night so I’ve no one to tell me to turn down the music!

Happy Saturday lads 😂

IMG_1865.jpeg

10 mins this morning and I’d the topper/PTO sorted. The cover is tight and leaves little or no room to get in at the PTO pin and jockey it. The PTO is a big heavy yoke too and I’m not exactly a weightlifter.

I took the cover off for a closer look and there was dirt and grit on the topper shaft. Cleaned that, greased it up, and the PTO pin pops out perfectly now when on the shaft.

I think it was a combination of the dirt/grit, no room to get at it, and a tired part-time farmer working on a Saturday evening.

IMG_1866.jpeg

You hit the nail on the head, no grease on pto or pto shafted because it sets like concrete with fine dust. Just oil it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,067 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

It’s hard when you’re part time. You set aside X time for a job and when it goes slow or wrong the whole thing goes to shiit.

That's the big imponderable for me at the moment - how to manage when there's little to do some weeks and then next week you could do with spending 3 x 12 hours/day in a row around the yard getting weather-sensitive jobs done.

It's not the end of the world and I'll catch up, but just frustrating when jobs like slurry, fertiliser, and topping start to slide. At least the topper and PTO are working now and I've a start made topping the first few paddocks before there's too much regrowth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,232 ✭✭✭✭The Continental Op

My solution for gaining an extra 3ft of reach to apply a very small amount of crack sealer to the seams on a caravan roof.

OK not farming but this seemed a good place to post it.

IMG_20260616_123222[1].jpg

No chance of standing on the roof and after the longer blunt needle from Temu increased my reach a bit I looked for a solution for reaching all the way to the middle - short by over 2 ft. I even toyed with the idea of paying fifty quid for a long arm syringe.

This is my Mark 2 syringe extender. Mark 1 used two broom handles and was much heavier than necessary.

Two three ft bamboo sticks, 5 plastic ties, and offcut of pipe and a syringe and needle I had in stock from Temu.

Edit> Might as well mention the product I was using as it seems unique and has a great name ;-) Captain Tolley's Creeping Crack Cure, I use it on a lot of things but its only any good on hairline cracks. Might be handy for Tractor Cab leaks, I've used it to fix the boot leak on several cars?

Post edited by The Continental Op on

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,165 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Just picked this up in Lidl. You know when all you want to do is wash your hands and there's a short length of hose on the tap and it's end is lying on the ground. Brass 2-way hose splitter. Just €7.

image.png

PARKSIDE Brass Irrigation Accessories | Lidl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,424 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Very handy, I replaced one of those this year (seals worn) with the spare, I bought two of them in Lidl a few years ago. Have it outdoors, literature said suitable for indoor usage only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,043 ✭✭✭JJayoo

1000120362.png

Has anyone come across any online retailer that supplies these and posts to ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭minerleague

A dozen UK sites have them but none deliver to Ireland, I will eventually get them, just a handy item

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭50HX

Contact a Gallagher rep, they should source them for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,232 ✭✭✭✭The Continental Op

Why would you want to drill holes in the posts for them? Not a criticism just something I'd never think of doing?

Wake me up when it's all over.

Just want to try them out using the gripple strainer tool for straining sheep fencing, use on top and bottom strands to tension it and then tie the other strands, a lot of my fencing is up on high ditches up the mountain, straining can be a pain in the hole