M6 - Galway City Ring Road [planning approved]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Consonata

Politicians job isn't just to represent the views of the public. One would hope that they will actually read reports and analysis and act in the publics best interest/make positive arguments for alternatives.

Given this road has such poor value for money, it would make sense to build the GLUAS and build out busconnects first and then buiod a distributor afterwards if its still needed.

We're building a multi billion euro road who's function is primarily to deliver people from Connemara to East Galway and beyond and does nothing for people who live or work in Galway City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭hans aus dtschl

It's not a bypass though. It's a ring road.

Also, weird post in general tbh. I don't think it's accurate to say that "people decided" what you're describing. And I'm not sure "People" in general prefer anything like what you're inferring. I hate driving in cities with good mass transport, it's a nightmare. I hate even being a taxi passenger in those cities. Your idea of a future transport system is very much in keeping with North American urban planning, where it's reasonably accurate, but not so much in other parts of the world. And I don't think your vision of a private vehicle coming from a more efficient storage space (this used to be my vision around a decade ago also!) survives peak time in dense urban areas.

I would have thought - I'm open to correction - that sprawl of urban areas is generally considered to be a busted flush nowadays, because the costs of servicing the larger area overwhelms the funding available.

Not sure any of this belongs on this thread though, other than to say once again, this isn't a bypass. They'd likely have called it a bypass if it was a bypass. Those added junctions were sprinkled in to raise the AADT and help the business justification thus making it a ring road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭crusd

Yor entire argument is viewed from the llens of 1990 not 2050.

Its a total paradigm shift and people cannot get thier heads around it. There opportunity given by technology is massive. One of the reasons traffic is so inefficiet is people, doing stupid sh!t, not making use of road space, etc. and parking. . You will not be driving in the city in the future. Vehicles will be connected and making the best use of street space avaialbe indepent of the occupant. Vehicles will drop tyou to you location or central hub and toddle off out of the way. The change to travel in our cities in the next 25 years will be more dramatic than the change from horse to cars.

And ye all said leap in too footed everytime someone mentions the work "bypass", when you will notice the sentence said "bypass and orbital routes", and in a general sense.

I don't think that works though, are you suggesting that kids and elderly and infirm people will use these vehicles? I'm not sure that will be possible? Maybe you're just more optimistic than me here.

I'm in favour of a bypass and a distributor btw. I wish Galway was getting those. That's why I "jumped in" as you describe it. It's irritating to me that another "ring road" thing is planned.

Just a question on the paridigm shift you're describing, do you have any links to any kind of scholarly articles or urban planning or road design discussions about this? I don't mean to be all "show me evidence", rather I am unfortunately that nerd that enjoys reading/watching transport infrastructure and planning blogs.

In general I had been of the understanding that what you were describing would explicitly NOT happen because of the fact that the edge cases will consistently overwhelm the efficiency of the fully autonomous transport system. That is to say, stupid stuff like a dog on the road or a blocked drain will still regularly stop a car from getting to you, or clog the entire city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭432Hz

There are men and women around the country doing their leaving cert this week who weren't born before this thread was started….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭crusd

annurev22

the-future-of-mobility.pdf

Should Competition Between Regulated Public Transport and Autonomous Ride-sharing Providers be Allowed? on JSTOR

No one knows for sure what it will look like but it wont like lke anything we see today.

As I said, in 1890, optimising your city for horse and cart seemed like a good idea. Only hobbyists would have those noisy inventions of the german lad Benz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,517 ✭✭✭KrisW1001

Please apply a little thought of your own to this scenario rather than parroting what you’ve read on some idiotic tech-bro’s Twitter feed..

Your opening statement is not true. Every survey ever done on the subject shows that mass transport is preferred for regular journeys where it is available. Only for out-of-the-ordinary trips do people prefer to use a private car. A large portion of regular public transport users also own, or have use of, a car, yet they choose to take the bus/train. If someone commutes by car, it’s normally because there is no alternative available to them.

With that out of the way, let’s get to the first flaw. Your argument ignores the fact that road capacity is a finite resource, and that demand for certain stretches of road will exceed that limit at peak times. We already have a great example of car passengers being dropped off to the door of their destination by vehicles - it’s called a “school run” (ironically, the only thing the US has got right about road transport is to insist that schools are served by school buses). I just know you’re going to blame those horrible tailbacks and jams on human drivers, but the simple fact is that you’ve got over a hundred vehicles trying to drop off on a stretch of road that can accommodate five at a time. Using “AI” won’t create the extra lane space, or make people get out of the vehicle more quickly.

The second flaw, and the worse problem, however, is one that I can guarantee you’ve never even thought about. Right now a private car occupies about five to ten lane metres of road at all times while travelling. While it uses that public resource, it is carrying, on average, 1.1 people. This number is very important, because it is the basis on which we spend public money on roads. Ideally, it would be higher, then we’d get better utility from the roads we have, but 1.1 is where it is. As long as each car is carrying a person, we can justify the expense of the public road network - it exists, at great expense, because it can move people and goods.

So what happens once the cars on the road become your magical self-driving AI personal taxis? While driving you to your destination, occupancy is 1.0; but once you’ve been dropped off, and the vehicle is returning to its base, occupancy is… zero. You now have a public resource, the road, that is paid for by people like you, being used to transport nobody; or to put it in a different form, you are asking the public to give you twice the amount of finite road resources. Why would we do that?

Mobility-on-Demand is a fancy word for taxis. These are part of a transport system, but will always be more expensive option than jumping on a trunk route (mass transit) and walking at either end. One of the studies you linked considers MoD only as part of a mass transportation system.

(And the idea that people would share their private cars with random strangers to make a paltry couple of quid? Yeah, right… go ask your neighbour if you can borrow their car: see the look you get. Cars are among the most personal of personal property)

So, at this point, someone will say, “But Magic AI will allow more cars per hour on any stretch of road”. Yes, that is true… in theory. But it does this by increasing the average speed of traffic, and by running cars closer together, and by assuming that all delays due to waiting at traffic controls will be removed. So, how does one cross the road in this world given that there’s a wall of metal passing at 60-80 km/h at all times. Pedestrian crossings? Ah, but once you stop the traffic to allow humans to cross, you’ve lost the benefit of the high-speed platooning - also, for as long as there is one human-operated vehicle on the road segment, you cannot operate in this high-speed platooning mode at all.

And what happens to this high-speed flow when someone needs to get out: oops. Everyone behind has to stop. Ultimately, traffic speeds will regress to the typical 15 km/h in urban areas, because that speed is caused by humans beginning and ending journeys: calling people “congestion” when they join or leave a traffic flow kind of misses the point of why we would tolerate traffic in the first place.

Basically, the utopia you’re describing requires everyone to own an AI-powered self-driving car, which would then need to drive on roads segregated from people in order to reach their theoretical throughput, but they’d also need frontage lanes, because otherwise stopping at some dude’s office will back up every single car for about a kilometre (because they’re running so closely together, there’s no slack in the traffic flow anymore); oh, and we’d also need more lanes anyway because now we still have the same demand for people to move, but half the cars on the road at any one time are empty, just taking up space.

So yeah, let’s just bulldoze Galway and run eight-lane roads through the space we’ve created. Sure, there’s the disadvantage of leaving nothing worth visiting, but at least the cars can go fast…

It’s a Silicon Valley solution to a problem that’s actually been solved for over a century by mass transportation in other parts of the world. And that AI? You can use the same techniques to reduce headway and merging conflicts on rail networks… actually, it exists already on automated mass transport systems in service today.

Cars and cites are not compatible because cars, no matter how you control them, are the most space-inefficient form of human transportation, and there’s no amount of techno-w_nk that can change this fact.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,435 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

There's so much wrong with this, it's like a tech fever dream.

People haven't decided on any of this. Sure, there's been progress made on Automonous Vehicles, but that's a very far cry from any government deciding to mandate that solely AV cars can drive on our roads, and if you think that people are suddenly going to swarm towards using AV vehicles, then take a look at the average Top Gear or Grand Tour viewer.

The fact is that progress on AVs has come to a virtual halt. They are struggling to deal with real world scenarios, requiring constant human intervention. AI isn't going to solve the issues either, as AI has a load of it's own issues, including straight up hallucinations on a regular basis, something that they're not sure they can solve for.

Could AVs be useful in the future? Yes, undoutedly. Will it scale to solve city commuting? No. Time and time again, some technology comes along that promises to be a panacea for congestion, and once exposed to the real world, time and time again it is shown to be ineffective for the cost, or actually had negative effects. Uber when they first launched publicly said that they'd reduce the amount of cars on the road, reduce journeys and reduce journey time. After several towns and cities committed to a rapid rollout of Uber, it was shown that Uber increased cars and journeys, impacting journey time negatively.

Ultimately, the evidence on this is very clear, and it is very well established. The only way to move significant amounts of people in a city is with significant Public and Active Transport systems.

Thanks for these links. They are an interesting read and all well written.

Can you confirm that the paradigm shift you're describing is that autonomous on-demand vehicles could reduce the need to consider the congestion effects of the current private motorised vehicle fleet, and reduce the need for traditional mass transit?

I ask this because the first link you sent specifically describes the opposite: it calls out that there is a need to model the negative congestion effect of the rise of autonomous on-demand ride-sharing. It calls out only negative net effects of autonomous on-demand vehicles - problems to be overcome.

The second link you sent specifically describes the reduction of the private vehicle fleet and coincident rise of on-demand vehicle fleet but crucially also describes a predicted rise in micromobility and traditional mass transit.

And the final JSTOR link you sent specifically bounds its research as a congestion-free discussion again describing negative net effects of autonomous on-demand vehicles. Its conclusion is effectively that centralised control and management of such systems will be necessary in order to reduce net negative effects.

It seems to me as though these papers do not describe a paradigm shift in which we should need to reconsider modal shift efforts to-date, rather they all seem to reinforce the current modal shift efforts to some degree…what am I misunderstanding here, what are you inferring from these that I'm not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,399 ✭✭✭Chris_5339762

As the thread starter back in 2008, thanks for reminding me how long this has been active for 😮

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭remfan

my lady started the LC this morning and was one when the thread started….;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭GBXI

what’s sick about my youngest doing her leaving cert?

Other than the Kerin's JR have any others been lodged, I believe the final day to do so was June 2, moved from June 4 because of the bank holiday and the filing rules etc.?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 15,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

John Connolly mentioned on Galway Bay FM yesterday morning that he has written to An Taoiseach and the Minister to propose mediation with the judicial review applicants ala Metrolink.

We’ll have to wait and see if any non local JRs come about that would not be candidates for such mediation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,517 ✭✭✭KrisW1001

I would have thought that mediation was a standard part of the new process. However, all mediation is voluntary and there are parties in all kinds of legal cases who actually don’t want things settled quickly and easily.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,435 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

Final date is June 17th, confirmed by ACP. It depends on when the approval is advertised in the newspaper apparently.

https://www.connachttribune.ie/news/galway-ring-road-latest-deadline-for-judicial-review-confirmed-8664196

3 JRs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭bored65

And this why Greens got wiped out

Politicians job is precisely the representation of the population who voted them in

And not some questionable undemocratic entities who have pushed us to have crap infrastructure, gridlock, little public transport and some of the highest energy prices in world while doing nothing towards climate change

Go try to run on a platform of “hey voters vote for me but remember I won’t represent you nor carry out my parties policies” and see how far you get

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Aontachtoir

But the crap infrastructure, gridlock, and terrible public transport are the result of decades of car-dependent growth, the exact thing the Greens set about trying to fix.

Same with our energy prices, which are sky high because our electricity pricing is based on the cost of risky, unreliable, foreign fossil fuels, rather than our homegrown renewable energy (the Greens wanted to fix that, too).

That’s what they claimed but their actions when it came down to it were entirely negative, obstructionist and non constructive

And as can be seen despite the wish of voters to build this road AND have better transport they are still at it, and to add insult to injury claiming that elected politicians should not represent their electorate but listen to shady unelected NGOs like friends of Irish environment who abuse the planning system to block critical infrastructure

This all belongs in a politics thread rather than infrastructure.

The greens got wiped out for multiple reasons, and one reason is that most other parties broadly co-opted many of the same sustainable transport policies as the Greens. It would be incorrect to assess that the greens got wiped out because the general public disagreed with them on transport.

I had much more written about how central government politicians are not just local lobby groups, but it doesn't belong in this forum. In short, a politicians job IS representation of the population, but that is not the same thing as achieving all of their desired outcomes. Politicians balance rule making, rule taking and even sometimes rule breaking (burning of British embassy in Dublin for instance). The idea that they simply fight to achieve every electorate desire is incorrect.

The onus is also on politicians to work with the electorate so that people understand why their desires can't be achieved. And it is in that space that most politicians (not just Ireland) are failing. Messaging from social media is generally "your desires should be fulfilled" and politicians struggle to explain why it's not possible. And many things are more urgent than transport infrastructure. Not enough money for disabled people, not enough childcare, not enough healthcare and so on.

Anyway, that's a long-winded way of saying I think you're insinuating that the general public are not in favour of sustainable transport, but the opposite is true. The majority of the general public are in favour of sustainable transport. The balancing act is between those who can be facilitated through active and mass transit versus those locked into car dependence.

But to repeat the top of this post: This all belongs in a politics thread rather than infrastructure.

you missed this sentence

“And as can be seen despite the wish of voters to build this road AND have better transport”

Emphasis on the AND

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Westernview

When it comes to Galway, building the road AND having better transport isn't a runner. If the road is built with the associated costs then any serious public transport measures will be decades away.

The 'build the road first and then we look at PT after' mentality is doomed to fail.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 15,097 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

The Green Party is an incredibly successful political entity. The level of influence they had in the last Government is remarkable and they managed to leave quite a mark despite their limited number of TDs.

The problem being that their core beliefs are absolutely demented and many of the votes that allowed them to get elected, outside their core vote, which would be people who gave them preferences who may be passively concerned about climate change, wouldn’t be in favour of some of the extremism of their core agenda.

However, for all the Green Party talk, the M6 Galway Ring Road is (surprisingly!) one of the schemes that wasn’t very affected by them being in power and Eamon Ryan’s influence in DoT.

The absolute clownshow that is the national emissions reductions targets that are completely unachievable and at odds with many other Government policies around development and growth, and were put in place by politicians who didn’t stick around to actually do the hard yards and deliver them. That and the associated legal quagmire could end up being a much bigger hurdle for projects like this than Eamon Ryan or any Green TD.

That’s your opinion and respectfully I disagree with it not knowing anyone in Galway who agrees with this one or the other polarisation

The zero sum one or the other is often what people on internet (not from Galway!) present to argue their side but that’s not what people of Galway want or voted repeatedly for

The will of the people is there, political support is there, funding is there (yet another bumper tax report this week) the plans are there

What we got once again are a mix of local and Green numpties who are a very small minority abusing the legal system to block, delay and deflect

I'm not sure I'm understanding exactly what you're saying here, but we have heard that the sustainable schemes can't be undertaken until after this road. Because there's not enough available road space for the sustainable schemes, was the rationale. I don't think Westernview is wrong in their interpretation of the current state of affairs, in that regard.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 46,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

As the council have repeatedly said that any new public transport and active travel plans will be looked at once the road is done, why do you dispute what they've said?

You also didn't vote for the road. The road is something put forward by the councils - there was never a public vote on it.

As for the will of the people, that's nonsense. The will of the people is to remove taxes. The will of the people is to provide free beer on Fridays.

As for the "Green numpties" (🙄) abusing the legal system - how exactly are they abusing it??
    They are pushing the council to build something that will have a definite improvement outcome for Galway's traffic issues by trying to get the councils to reconsider a plan that the councils road application documentation has confirmed will make traffic worse.

I get it - you're pissed off with Galway's traffic problems. But tell us, how exactly will making traffic worse improve things for you?

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

It's a good discussion Marno and I don't mean to backseat mod, but probably deserves its own full "Infrastructure" thread tbh. Can we meet the targets, what is actually achievable, what was achievable but missed, etc.

Like it's clear to me that the original notions on EV's were highly optimistic but even then the related subsequent government efforts to encourage EV uptake were terrible. Now we have rail projects being delayed by government and so on. There's definitely "two sides" to this one: over-optimistic original targets, and subsequent foot-dragging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Westernview

I have a vision of people like you sitting in Galway traffic in 15 years time shaking their fists in anger and blaming those bloody greens for the gridlock. Maybe another ring road will solve it at that stage.

And politicians are not elected to follow exactly what voters want. They are elected to do what's best for their constituents and the country as a whole. Populist politicians will always jump to the beat of their voters drum but If all elected representatives religiously followed voter sentiment we would probably have another outer M50 now and no Dart or Luas.

Post edited by Westernview on