How often do you go to the pub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,513 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Do I need to repeat myself for a 4th time?

It's really not that difficult to understand. Not everyone is the same and society changes over time. As I had to inform another poster, majority meet online these days.

Nothing at all to be insecure about, I couldn't care if my partner chatted with people in a pub.

I've been out with them many times and have seen them giving the cold shoulder to lads trying to talk to them, even the single ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭XopherIE

How has this discussion gone from how often you visit the pub to people calling others insecure about their partners.

Anyway, back on topic, I'd go to the pub probably a couple of times a month.

Over the last few years, probably since COVID, we drink at home at the weekends with people over instead of heading to the pub as much. It's not really to do with the expense, more just the convenience of it.

In saying that I do love a good pub session with some live music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭techman1

That seems a bit far fetched, are they unusually attractive or something? it takes alot for a guy to go and chat up a girl and is actually happening much less now in any case because people are losing the social skills they used to have. You actually hear women complaining that they don't get chatted up anymore and irish guys are too shy compared to europeans or americans.

Can I ask roughly what age you are? Similarly to the other poster it seems you're from a different generation and aren't too familiar with the social norms of my generation.

There's nothing unusual about it at all, they're just not interested in chatting to random lads when they're in the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭Butson

Exactly, there'll be no stories in a few years about the day you went to the gym.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

This thread was good while it lasted 😅

Exactly, like looking back even 10 years ago now I had some wild stories compared to what people are probably talking about now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,396 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

I wonder is that actually down to a lack of confidence/social skills or is just that people are generally meeting online or through hobbies etc nowadays.

I was talking to a couple of girls in work recently, both early 20's and they were saying it would be a bit weird if guys approached them on a night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭TheBlock

I'm from a different generation to most answering here. Mid 50's 3 oldish Kids although all still at home. I go to the local maybe 4-5 times a week. Sometimes for 1 sometimes for 4-5 depending on whats on. I'm happy sitting on my own reading a book or you could find me playing pool with the regulars. I'd can also be found sitting with the aullads (I know I'm one but the real old lads in their lates 70's) having a laugh about any random shite. I don't drink at home, maybe a bottle of beer on Christmas day but that would be it. I'm what i would call a social drinker, (although 4-5 times a week maybe some of you would call that a problem drinker, not me though) I go for the craic. I think pub going is very good for the Mental Health, keeps me in touch with others who have similar intersts, or completely different interests. I like striking up conversations with new people.

The Kids all play sport and i'm on the sidelines for every one of there games but the chat with their teamates parents isn't the same as at the local.

When we first got married and where looking for a home, there where a couple of must have from my side. Walking distance to a shop, a Pub and Primary Schools.

I felt like being in the local got you known in the area, somehere you could find out whats going on, who was who what different folks where up to so to say.

Long live the Local!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭TheBlock

If this was in the Local you could just walk away…. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

It's fine to say young people are missing out, but there's more to it than that.

The pubs where they would meet other young people are in the city centre. They're not the local where you can sit on your own and read the paper, chat to the old boys. So young people need the time and money for a big night out.

Young people get sh1t for spending €12 on avocado toast. Now they're missing out for not spending €100 on a night out.

Young people don't have money for nights out like people in your generation did. They might be missing out, but unless you suggest they borrow money for nights out, I don't think it's their fault.

I dunno, this mantra that "young people don't have money for nights out" is something I don't subscribe to - based on my own experiences. Maybe it's for a separate discussion, but they seem to have plenty disposable cash from what I see, both locally at home, and in the university I work. Maybe it's the bank of mom & dad, or part-time work, but I think we need to dispel this myth that "they don't go out". Cause they do. Plus they travel, a lot. So definitely have money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,728 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

thankfully gave up drinking years ago, so its a very rare day now that i set foot in one, just no interest, or money at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,396 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Actually that's a good point about travelling. They are doing it more now and when they do go on nights out there seems to be more of an emphasis on the venue and entertainment, rather than just going out to get sh1tfaced. So I don't think they're really missing out on that much.

Not being biased either, but from what I can see most young lads have a decent car now too such as an Audi or BMW which is probably financed through the roof. Whilst they are probably on decent enough money the majority of it is probably going against their loans.

theyve moved their consumption towards class a's such as cocaine and ketamine etc, not all of course, but many

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Some do have money, of course. But it's not as widespread as previous generations so the culture shifts away from big nights out.

If you think they're having big nights out like previous generations, then your disagreement is with the poster who said they're missing out by not going to pubs.

Yes I agree there's much more of a demand on entertainment rather than just downing pints in an "old man pub".

You can see that with the success of the likes of Flight Club and Pitched on Dawson St, Lane 7 (bowling) in town, these are always packed at the weekends. Many are looking for either an experience to go along with drinking or venues that look good for Instagram.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭antimatterx

As someone who's young (30), I don't get to the pub enough. I was born in the wrong era.

I do think alot of my generation and the one behind are missing out. Sure alcohol is poison but is lack of a social life better than not going to the pub. I don't think so.

i do think some of your generations are finding far better, healthier ways to socialise, without any alcohol or drugs, which is great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭FazyLucker

Yep, this for me too.

Some young people are still to be found in Camden Street on a Thursday night. And good for them, I mis-spent my youth there too.

But go to the Phoenix Park on a Saturday morning and hundreds of young people are in various running groups, go for a coffee and cake after that to socialise. I know this because I know somebody who is part of it. And guess what - sometimes they meet in the pub that evening. This is absolutely brilliant.

Some others keep a low profile socially and save for the cheap Ryanair flight and weekend in a European City or a J1 with their friends. Also fine.

Just because they aren't falling into Coppers at 1am, doesn't mean they are away snorting coke off a toilet seat.

Would I swap dropping €100 a night in my 20's for any of the above? Maybe and maybe not, but I'd like to have had the option. I did it because it was what everybody else was doing. Do I regret it - no! Do I miss it - no!

yea its great to see, but unfortunately some are falling the other way, into serious addictions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭oceanman

I usually go to the pub about once a month for a few pints, i used to go every weekend but its got too expensive so i do a lot of my drinking at home now.

Such as? Running groups, cycling groups, etc. are fine but, similar to the gym, I just don't see the same kind of interactions - and more importantly fun - in these scenarios. FWIW, I'm a runner and cyclist, train the odd times in groups, but find it all a bit self-serving and often prefer to go it alone.

Pubs, on the other hand, are where the craic is had! Just my view of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭FazyLucker

I guess it depends on your time of life. When I was in my 20's the only real way to meet people was the pub. Played GAA back then and enjoyed it but it was all a bit meh and repetitive thinking back on it - training hard, match, pub.

I'd personally love to have had a Saturday morning running club and meeting a wider group of people than my local posse. Getting out of the comfort zone so to speak.

I go to the gym a couple of times a week and see nobody making friends there. Without going all Chris Waddle on it "they're all headphones".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭antimatterx

I wouldn't swap my early 20s alcoholism for anything. It was great. Covid cost me two years but I resumed it for a few years. It's only settling down the last 2 years or so.

id be the complete opposite to you, i spent a large proportion of my 20's dealing with significant mental health issues, partly due to, or supported by excessive alcohol use, so, fcuk that